Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 4 of 4 results

Don't Talk to Strangers

by Amanda Kyle Williams

"An explosive read . . . Amanda Kyle Williams sets the classic private eye novel on fire."--#1 New York Times bestselling author Lee ChildHailed by The Atlanta Journal-Constitution as "one of the most addictive new series heroines," Keye Street is the brilliant, brash heart of a sizzling thriller full of fear and temptation, judgments and secrets, infidelity and murder. He likes them smart. In the woods of Whisper, Georgia, two bodies are found: one recently dead, the other decayed from a decade of exposure to the elements. The sheriff is going to need help to track down an experienced predator--one who abducts girls and holds them for months before ending their lives. Enter ex-FBI profiler and private investigator Keye Street. He lives for the struggle. After a few weeks, Keye is finally used to sharing her downtown Atlanta loft with her boyfriend, A.P.D. Lieutenant Aaron Rauser. Along with their pets (his dog, her cat) they seem almost like a family. But when Rauser plunks a few ice cubes in a tumbler and pours a whiskey, Keye tenses. Her addiction recovery is tenuous at best. And loves the fear. Though reluctant to head out into the country, Keye agrees to assist Sheriff Ken Meltzer. Once in Whisper, where the locals have no love for outsiders, Keye starts to piece together a psychological profile: The killer is someone who stalks and plans and waits. But why does the sociopath hold the victims for so long, and what horrible things must they endure? When a third girl goes missing, Keye races against time to connect the scant bits of evidence. All the while, she cannot shake the chilling feeling: Something dark and disturbing lives in these woods--and it is watching her every move.Advance praise for Don't Talk to Strangers "If you aren't reading Amanda Kyle Williams, start--today. The Keye Street series is one of the best around. Don't Talk to Strangers is gripping and suspenseful, a trip to the deep, dark side of a small Southern town, told with wit and humanity. What are you waiting for?"--Meg Gardiner, author of Phantom Instinct Praise for Amanda Kyle Williams and her Keye Street thrillers "The best private eye debut since Dennis Lehane's A Drink Before the War."--The Plain Dealer, on The Stranger You Seek "Street is a unique and worthy addition to the rich tradition of damaged and tough private detectives."--Associated Press "An exceptionally smart and harrowing character-driven debut by a welcome new thriller writer."--Karin Slaughter, on The Stranger You Seek "[Williams] keeps the suspense taut and the humor snarky."--The Atlanta Journal-Constitution "Keye Street immediately puts herself in the top echelon of suspense heroes. She is brutally funny and powerfully human--one of the most realistic protagonists in crime fiction that I've had the thrill to read."--Tess Gerritsen "The tension buzzes like cicadas on a hot Georgia night and the pace is relentless."--Seattle Post-Intelligencer, on Stranger in the RoomFrom the Hardcover edition.

Stranger In The Room (Keye Street 2)

by Amanda Kyle Williams

Keye Street, ex-FBI profiler and private detective, always looks out for those closest to her. But sometimes looking after herself is quite enough to handle. She's teetering on the brink, not quite sure if she's winning or losing in her battle with herself. But when her cousin, Miki Ashton, sees a stranger inside her house, it's time for Keye to lend a hand. Meanwhile, Keye's mentor, Lieutenant Aaron Rauser, is embroiled in a disturbing case. When a dog returns alone from its walk, the hunt is on for the missing boy. As the mystery deepens and the bodies pile up, Rauser needs Keye's expert profiling skills to unravel the killer's bizarre signature - tears. Battling her demons takes up a lot of Keye's time. But on top of that she's battling the bad guys. If she can ignore the voice from her past, that is...

Stranger in the Room

by Amanda Kyle Williams

Fresh from her debut, The Stranger You Seek--which Publishers Weekly called "an explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller that turns crime fiction clichés inside out"--Amanda Kyle Williams delivers a second thrilling Keye Street novel, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell. That bullet was meant for you. Summer is smoldering through Atlanta on Fourth of July weekend, as fireworks crack through the air and steam rises from the pavement on Peachtree. Private investigator and ex-FBI profiler Keye Street wants nothing more than a couple of quiet days alone with her boyfriend, Aaron--but, as usual, murder gets in the way. I will find her. A.P.D. Lieutenant Aaron Rauser is called to the disturbing scene of the strangling death of a thirteen-year-old boy. Meanwhile, Keye must deal with not one but two of her own investigations: In the hills of Creeklaw County, there's a curious case involving chicken feed and a crematorium, and in Atlanta, Keye's emotionally fragile cousin Miki is convinced she is being stalked. Given Miki's history of drug abuse and mental problems, Keye is reluctant to accept her cousin's tale of a threatening man inside her house late one night. But as a recovering alcoholic herself, Keye can't exactly begrudge a woman her addictions--especially since Miki drives Keye to near-relapses at every turn. And yet, Miki is family, and Keye must help her--even if it means tempting her own demons. I always find her. All hell breaks loose when another murder--the apparent hanging of an elderly man--hits disturbingly close to home for Keye. And though the two victims have almost nothing in common, there are bizarre similarities between this case and that of Aaron's strangled teen. Is there a single faceless predator, a calculating murderer targeting his prey at random? Only a skilled profiler like Keye Street can help the A.P.D. find him. With the threat of more deaths to come, Keye works on pure instinct alone--and soon realizes that a killer is circling ever closer to the people she loves the most. Praise for Amanda Kyle Williams's The Stranger You Seek "An exceptionally smart and harrowing character-driven debut by a welcome new thriller writer."--New York Times bestselling author Karin Slaughter "A creepy, suspenseful, breathtaking ride . . . [Keye] Street is a unique and worthy addition to the rich tradition of damaged and tough private detectives."--Associated Press "[Williams] keeps the suspense taut and the humor snarky, with an ending that will have you slapping your foreheard over clues you missed."--The Atlanta Journal-Constitution "With its shocking triple-twist climax, this is the best private eye debut since Dennis Lehane's A Drink Before the War."--The Plain Dealer "An explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A dark, gritty thriller, The Stranger You Seek is a sensational debut. Readers will relish this story's many captivating, powerful, and compelling layers."--New York Times bestselling author Julia Spencer-FlemingFrom the Hardcover edition.

The Stranger You Seek

by Amanda Kyle Williams

The papers have called me a monster. You've either concluded that I am a braggart as well as a sadist or that I have a deep and driving need to be caught and punished. In the sweltering heat of an Atlanta summer, a killer is pushing the city to its breaking point, preying on the unsuspecting, writing taunting letters to the media, promising more death. Desperate to stop the Wishbone Killer before another victim meets a shattering end, A.P.D. lieutenant Aaron Rauser turns to the one person he knows can penetrate a deranged mind: ex-FBI profiler Keye Street. And you must certainly be wondering if I am, in fact, the stranger you seek. Keye was a rising young star at the Bureau until addiction derailed her career and her life. Now sober and fighting to stay so, Keye picks up jobs where she can get them: catching adulterers, serving subpoenas, chasing down bailjumpers, and dodging the occasional bullet. With multiple victims, little to go on, and an entire police force looking for direction, the last thing Keye wants is to be pulled into the firestorm of Atlanta's worst nightmare. Shall I convince you? And then it suddenly becomes clear that the hunter has become the hunted--and the stranger she seeks is far closer than she ever dared imagine.An electrifying thriller debut, The Stranger You Seek introduces a brash, flawed, and unforgettable heroine in a complex, twisting novel that takes readers deep into a sultry Southern summer, a city in the grips of chaos, and a harrowing cat-and-mouse game no reader will ever forget.From the Hardcover edition.

Showing 1 through 4 of 4 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the "Using Bookshare" page in the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivona's Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.