Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 10 of 10 results Export list as .CSV

Beach House

by Amy June Bates Deanna Caswell

A long, long drive.It's been a yearof dreaming, waiting.Now, summer's here.In a funny and heartfelt celebration of family, vacations, and the joy of the sea, Deanna Caswell and Amy June Bates capture the essence of summer--building sand castles, jumping the waves, and watching the stars come out after a long day at the beach--and the love that warms every moment.

Hillary Rodham Clinton

by Kathleen Krull Amy June Bates

When Hillary was young, she wanted to be an astronaut, to soar as high as the stars above. She kept reaching up and up as she grew. There were people who told her no. But she didn't listen to them. There were people who didn't think she could do it. But she believed in herself. And Hillary has been making history ever since. This is the inspiring story of a girl with dreams as big as the open sky.

Martin's Dream

by Jane Kurtz Amy June Bates

In 1963 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. gave a speech that proclaimed that it was time - long overdue - for all men to be treated as equals. Today his beliefs are more important than ever, and author Jane Kurtz explains Dr. King's words in language even the youngest reader can understand.

The Next-Door Dogs

by Amy June Bates Colby Rodowsky

Putting a fear to restSara Barker is afraid of dogs. Whenever she sees even a picture of one, she feels clammy and cold all over. So what's Sara to do when she learns that her new next-door neighbor owns two of them? Two young and big dogs, to be specific. Her neighbor turns out to be an ebullient older woman who befriends Sara and promises her dogs will keep their distance. But one day a situation arises in which Sara is forced to venture into the yard next door, even as the dogs there are desperately barking.Kids will relate to Sara, and dog-lovers will enjoy seeing her overcome her fears in this easy-to-read chapter book, with numerous cheerful pictures.The Next-Door Dogs is a 2006 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Red Butterfly

by Amy June Bates A. L. Sonnichsen

A young orphaned girl in modern-day China discovers the meaning of family in this inspiring story told in verse, in the tradition of Inside Out and Back Again and Sold.Kara never met her birth mother. Abandoned as an infant, she was taken in by an American woman living in China. Now eleven, Kara spends most of her time in their apartment, wondering why she and Mama cannot leave the city of Tianjin and go live with Daddy in Montana. Mama tells Kara to be content with what she has...but what if Kara secretly wants more? Told in lyrical, moving verse, Red Butterfly is the story of a girl learning to trust her own voice, discovering that love and family are limitless, and finding the wings she needs to reach new heights.

Sam the Man & the Chicken Plan

by Frances O'Roark Dowell Amy June Bates

Sam the Man wants to earn some money and he's got a cluck-worthy plan in this endearing chapter book that's the first in a new series from Frances O'Roark Dowell.Sam the Man needs a job. Even his sister gets twenty bucks a pop for mowing people's lawns! But seven-year-olds aren't allowed to mow lawns, so Sam decides to ask his next door neighbor if she needs help doing other chores. It turns out she'll pay him a whole dollar each time he can convince her dad, Mr. Stockfish, to join him for a walk. But it turns out that getting Mr. Stockfish to leave the living room isn't easy. AND a dollar a pop isn't going to cut it. So when Mrs. Kerner, another neighbor, asks if Sam would like to watch her chickens, Sam jumps on the task. You can count on him, yes indeed. Watching chickens is more fun than he expects, and comes with an added bonus: it turns out that visiting the chickens is the one thing that can coax Mr. Stockfish out of the house! But what does a seven-year-old do with all the money he's earning? It's too little for a bike, and too much for candy. But wait! It's just enough for a chicken of his own--the kind that lays BLUE eggs! Soon he has a whole waiting list of kids who want to buy a blue egg. And what does Sam plan on doing with his new fortune? Buy Mr. Stockfish his own chicken, of course!

Waiting for the Magic

by Patricia Maclachlan Amy June Bates

People may drift apart, but love can hold them together. A touching tale of pets and family told in the "venerable spare and moving style" of Newbery Medalist Patricia MacLachlan, author of Sarah, Plain and Tall (Booklist).When William's father leaves, his mother promptly goes out and adds four dogs and a cat to their lives. William's sure that nothing can fill the hole left by his father, but the new additions to the family are determined to help. With his sister, Elinor, and his mother, William will learn that "family" can come in all shapes and sizes, because sometimes we find love through magic, and sometimes that magic is all around us.

Waiting for the Magic

by Patricia Maclachlan Amy June Bates

When William's father leaves, his mother promptly goes out and adds four dogs and a cat to their lives. William's sure that nothing can fill the hole left by his father, but the new additions to the family are determined to help, and with his sister, Elinor, and his mother, William will learn that "family" can come in all shapes and sizes.

Wishworks, Inc.

by Stephanie S. Tolan Amy June Bates

The best dog story you could wish for! Max is handling his parents' divorce, his new home and school, and a big bully named Nick the only way he knows how: by running away in his head. Through his imagination, he and his wonderful dog King have thrilling adventures; they conquer aliens and slay dragons; they embarrass Nick so he never comes near Max again. If only King were real . . . Then Max happens upon a store called Wishworks, Inc., which promises his wish will come true in real life, "guaranteed." He wishes for a real dog like King to fulfill all his dreams. And then a real dog named Goldie appears on his doorstep . . . but she may be a little more real than Max expects!

You Can Do It!

by Tony Dungy Amy June Bates

Tony Dungy's little brother, Linden, is a third grader who is having a bad day at school. Linden is the youngest of the Dungy family and the least motivated because he hasn't found "it." In a family where everyone seems to have found their special talent, all Linden knows is that he wants to make people happy. With encouragement from his parents, a helping hand from his older brother Tony, and inspiration from God, Linden learns that if he dreams big and has faith, he can do anything!

Showing 1 through 10 of 10 results Export list as .CSV

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.