Browse Results What Download Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 14 of 14 results

Clark: The Autobiography of Clark Terry

by Clark Terry Quincy Jones Bill Cosby Gwen Terry

Compelling from cover to cover, this is the story of one of the most recorded and beloved jazz trumpeters of all time. With unsparing honesty and a superb eye for detail, Clark Terry, born in 1920, takes us from his impoverished childhood in St. Louis, Missouri, where jazz could be heard everywhere, to the smoke-filled small clubs and carnivals across the Jim Crow South where he got his start, and on to worldwide acclaim. Terry takes us behind the scenes of jazz history as he introduces scores of legendary greats--Ella Fitzgerald, Oscar Peterson, Dizzy Gillespie, Dinah Washington, Doc Severinsen, Ray Charles, Thelonious Monk, Billie Holiday, Sarah Vaughan, Coleman Hawkins, Zoot Sims, and Dianne Reeves, among many others. Terry also reveals much about his own personal life, his experiences with racism, how he helped break the color barrier in 1960 when he joined the Tonight Show band on NBC, and why--at ninety years old--his students from around the world still call and visit him for lessons.

Cosbyology

by Bill Cosby

Various humorous monologues on lessons of life.

Fatherhood

by Bill Cosby

I Am What I Ate... And I'm Frightened!!! And Other Digressions from the Doctor of Comedy

by Bill Cosby

A New York Times Bestseller. Bill Cosby wants food lovers to know that they are not alone. Here, Cosby reflects back on his own sixty-five years of dining at the banquet of life. From the #1 bestselling author, a book of original comedic essays for the adult market focusing on the theme of why Americans are hooked on such bad eating, drinking and other self-indulgent and self-destructive health-related behaviors, beginning in childhood and continuing through old age.

I Didn't Ask to Be Born

by Bill Cosby

The world's most beloved funnyman is back with his first humor book since the bestselling Cosbyology. In this hilarious new collection of observations, Cosby brings us more of his wonderful and wacky insights into the human condition that are sure to become classics. In the tradition of Fat Albert, Cosby introduces a host of new characters, including Peanut Armhouse and Old Mother Harold. Not since Mushmouth, Dumb Donald, Bucky, and the Cosby Kids has there been such a memorable cast.Over the past century, few entertainers have achieved the legendary status of William H. Cosby, Jr. His success spans five decades and virtually all media-remarkable accomplishments for a kid who emerged from humble beginnings in a Philly housing project.The doctor of comedy holds forth on everything from a game show contestant's confusing origins, to a grandchild with a Godzilla infatuation, to his first love Bernadette, and many more delightful digressions.Bill Cosby may not have asked to be born, but we're sure glad he was.lad he was.

Little Bill: The Best Way to Play

by Bill Cosby

Little Bill and his friends LOVE the TV show Space Explorers. And so when the new Space Explorers video game comes out, they each want a copy. But when Little Bill asks his parents to buy him the game, they say no. So Little Bill and his friends go to their friend Andrew's house to play the game. What they discover, though, is that the video game isn't nearly as much fun nor as challenging as what their imaginations can dream up! Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.

The Meanest Thing to Say

by Bill Cosby

This is another book in the Little Bill Series. Could Little Bill really find a way to play the name-calling game without any unkind words? Could he really play with just one little word on his lips and a big smile on his face? And what would his classmates think? This book includes descriptions of the pictures, which adds to its fun. Other books about Little Bill are available from Bookshare. This file should make an excellent embossed braille copy.

Money Troubles

by Bill Cosby

This synopsis is taken from the letter to parents written by the psychiatrist, Dr. Poussaint. This letter is included in the book. "In Money Troubles, Little Bill is inspired to buy a telescope after learning about astronomy in school. (Not, it must be said, because he's suddenly become a serious scholar. Instead, he dreams of becoming famous. He'll discover a new comet, and it will be named after him.) The telescope he wants costs $100; he has $47.87 in his bank. To start earning the rest, he washes a neighbor's car, then collects cans and bottles-until he notices another boy, obviously poor, also out scavenging. Little Bill leaves his own cans where the other boy will find them. Little Bill has realized something important: other people may need money more than he does. He takes this lesson further by dropping the telescope idea, donating all his savings to the school's food drive for the poor... and becoming "famous" for contributing the most food. Through his unselfish acts, Little Bill has learned that giving to others can be more satisfying than acquiring a possession he can do without. And he has taken an important step toward understanding what it means to be part of a community."

My Big Lie

by Bill Cosby

Taken from Dr. Poussaint's letter to parents: "Little Bill's parents have a problem. Their son has come home several hours late, missing his dinner and worrying his family. Even worse, he has lied about where he went and what made him late, telling a whopper about getting into a van with a man who stopped to ask him for directions. His parents can't believe he would be stupid enough to get in a van with a stranger. It's only when his father says he's going to call the police that Little Bill blurts out the truth: "Nothing happened. I made it all up." His parents are too mad to praise him for admitting his mistake, but they don't yell at him. Instead, they send him to his room to think about his actions-and to copy an old folk tale, The Boy Who Cried Wolf. It's a story that shows why it is wrong, even dangerous, to lie, and Little Bill is impressed. But he's also worried. The townspeople in the story no longer trusted the boy who falsely cried "wolf." Will his parents be able to trust him after this? Once again, his parents act thoughtfully. They understand that although their son disappointed them today, one bad choice does not make him a bad boy, and to Little Bill's relief, they tell him they do trust him. Because his parents gave him a punishment that was educational, Little Bill was able to learn that lying is a serious mistake. Because they didn't yell at him when he finally told the truth, he will be less likely to lie the next time he gets into trouble. And, because they expressed their confidence in him as a person, Little Bill, like most children, will try harder in the future to live up to his parents' expectations."

One Dark and Scary Night

by Bill Cosby

"A child's imagination, usually a source of delight, can also be a source of torment. Little Bill's trouble materializes one night when he's in bed. In his dark room, ordinary night sounds and shadows suddenly seem menacing. He grows convinced that something's lurking in his closet, waiting to get him. And he runs, screaming, into his parents' room. His mother brings him back to his own bed and assures him that there's nothing in his closet. Little Bill knows she's right. But fact is no match for imagination, and he runs again, this time to his great-grandmother. She too returns him to his own bed. But she knows that a child can require something more powerful than logic to fight off an imaginary fear, especially at night. So before she leaves him alone in his room, Alice the Great shows Little Bill a magical way of fixing his covers to keep himself safe."

Shipwreck Saturday

by Bill Cosby

This synopsis is taken from Dr. Poussaint's letter to the parent found in the beginning of the book. "Children often feel a deep attachment to a toy they've made themselves, and we see this in Shipwreck Saturday. Little Bill takes immense pride in a toy sailboat he has built. And when the boat is wrecked, his shock and grief cause him to leave his friends abruptly and run home to cry. It would be hard to imagine our cool hero reacting that way to losing a boat he picked up at the toy store. Besides giving your child an example of how much fun it is to make a toy, this story shows how creativity can transform a painful experience. After Little Bill runs off, his friend Kiku salvages the mast of his ruined boat to make a beautiful kite. When Bill returns to face his loss, he finds her flying the new kite before an admiring crowd. Kiku considerately hands the kite string over to him, and Little Bill's grief is gone with the wind."

Super-Fine Valentine (Little Bill Books for Beginning Readers)

by Bill Cosby

Little Bill hates being teased. But now everyone is saying that he's in love! What can he do? Little Bill is lucky. His classmates do kid him after they catch him gazing at Mia, but only a little, and his parents refrain from teasing him when his brother betrays the reason why he's suddenly so eager to go to school. features a letter to parents by child psychiatry specialist Dr. Alvin Poussaint. The story has short chapters so children can read them easily at one sitting. The pictures are described by the proofreader.

Time Flies

by Bill Cosby

The Treasure Hunt

by Bill Cosby

"One rainy day, while his father listens to his old records, his mother polishes a silver platter, and his brother enjoys his baseball card collection, Little Bill discovers his own treasures, a loving great-grandmother and a talent for storytelling." This book features descriptions of the pictures. This file should make an excellent embossed braille copy.

Showing 1 through 14 of 14 results

Help

Select your download format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. For more details, visit the Formats page under the Getting Started tab.

See and hear words read aloud
  • DAISY Text - See words on the screen and hear words being read aloud with the text-to-speech voice installed on your reading tool. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Can also be used in audio-only mode. Compatible with many reading tools, including Bookshare’s free reading tools.
  • DAISY Text with Images - Similar to DAISY Text with the addition of images within the Text. Your reading tool must support images.
  • Read Now with Bookshare Web Reader - Read and see images directly from your Internet browser without downloading! Text-to-speech voicing and word highlighting are available on Google Chrome (extension installation required). Other browsers can be used with limited features. Learn more
Listen to books with audio only
  • DAISY Audio - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Must be used with a DAISY Audio compatible reading tool.
  • MP3 - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate using tracks. Can be used with any MP3 player.
Read in Braille
  • BRF (Braille Ready Format) - Read with any BRF compatible refreshable braille display; navigate using the search or find feature.
  • DAISY Text - Read with any DAISY 3.0 compatible refreshable braille display, navigate by page, chapter, section, and more.
  • Embossed Braille - Use Bookshare’s DAISY Text or BRF formats to generate embossed braille.