Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 8 of 8 results Export list as .CSV

The Forgotten Ones

by Brian Mcgilloway

From the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost comes a brand-new thriller featuring Lucy Black--a twisting, gripping story of secrets and lies, perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Tana French.The body of an elderly man is hauled out of the rushing water of the River Foyle, cold dead. Detective Lucy Black is called in to investigate when it becomes evident that this was not a suicide: the man's body was embalmed before it ever entered the water.Confounded and exhausted, Lucy heads home to review the case in quiet; but there will be no rest for her tonight. She's barely in the front door when a neighbor knocks because his wife's sister has been attacked and they need her help.As a string of strange crimes is unspooled throughout the city, Lucy is pulled in countless different directions... until she realizes there may be something dark and dangerous connecting everything.Soulful and suspenseful, featuring one of the most appealing characters in suspense fiction, The Forgotten Ones is a novel to take your breath away.

Little Girl Lost

by Brian Mcgilloway

Midwinter. A child is found wandering through the snowy woods, her hands covered in someone else's blood.Authorities suspect the child is the kidnapped daughter of real estate tycoon Michael McLaughlin. Once they realize she is far too young to be the missing teenager, they reach a dead end in identifying the girl, who either cannot or will not speak. The only adult she seems to trust is the young officer who found her, Detective Lucy Black. A frenzied investigation to find the McLaughlins' daughter and to discover the name of the mysterious child is ignited when it becomes apparent that the two cases are linked. As Lucy digs deeper and deeper into the case, she is forced to question not only the persons of interest, but everything she thought she knew about her own past.This powerful and harrowing thriller is perfect for fans of Tana French and Dennis Lehane.

The Nameless Dead

by Brian Mcgilloway

The small isle of Islandmore was once an avenue for smugglers and a burial place for unbaptized babies.When a cold case leads Inspector Devlin to the desolate island in an attempt to locate the bodies of a group of people who have been presumed dead for over thirty years, he uncovers a horrifying secret: the body of a baby who appears to have been murdered. Every fiber of the inspector's being tells him he should find justice for this child, but he is prohibited from investigating further.Devlin is torn. He has no desire to dredge up painful events of the past, but neither can he let a murderer go unpunished. Devlin must follow his conscience--even when it puts those closest to him at risk.

The Rising

by Brian Mcgilloway

From the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost comes a compelling new series ...Inspector Devlin is called to investigate a case of arson: a burning barn and, inside, the charred remains of a local drug dealer.Suspicions quickly fall on a local vigilante group that calls itself "the Rising."But Devlin stumbles onto a more pressing case when his old partner's teenage son goes missing. With quiet determination, he attempts to make sense of the boy's disappearance ...That is, until another drug dealer is killed and Devlin realizes that the case goes far deeper and darker than he ever imagined.Gripping, heartbreaking, and always surprising, The Rising is a tour de force from one of Ireland's greatest crime writers.

Someone You Know

by Brian Mcgilloway

All three parts in one volume!An unforgettable and moving thriller for fans of Tana French and Elizabeth George, from the author of the New York Times bestseller Little Girl Lost.Just before Christmas, the body of a sixteen-year-old girl is found along the train tracks on the outskirts of a small town. As Detective Lucy Black investigates the teenager's tragic last hours in search of clues to her death, she realizes that some of the victim's friends may have been her most dangerous enemies--and that whoever killed her is ready to kill again. Haunted by the memory of a case gone wrong, and taunted by a killer on the loose, Lucy finds herself pitted against a lethal opponent hiding in plain sight.From an author described by John Connolly as "a major force" in suspense literature, Someone You Know is one of the most atmospheric, powerful thrillers you'll read all year.

Someone You Know: Part One

by Brian Mcgilloway

The first installment in an extraordinary three-part thriller!Someone You Know by Brian McGilloway can be read either in three parts or as a full-length book (available May 20, 2014). Can't wait that long? Start reading Part One of Three now (chapters 1 - 22). It is not the whole book.Love what you've read? To get the entire story, you can buy Parts One & Two (chapters 1 - 49) on May 13, 2014, and Part Three (chapters 50 - 64) or the full-length book on May 20, 2014.An unforgettable and moving novel for fans of Tana French and Elizabeth George, from the author of the New York Times bestseller Little Girl Lost.Just before Christmas, the body of a sixteen-year-old girl is found along the train tracks on the outskirts of a small town. As Detective Lucy Black investigates the teenager's tragic last hours in search of clues to her death, she realizes that some of the victim's friends may have been her most dangerous enemies--and that whoever killed her is ready to kill again. Haunted by the memory of a case gone wrong, and taunted by a killer on the loose, Lucy finds herself pitted against a lethal opponent hiding in plain sight.From an author described by John Connolly as "a major force" in suspense literature, Someone You Know is one of the most atmospheric, powerful thrillers you'll read all year.

Someone You Know: Part Three

by Brian Mcgilloway

The third and final installment in Brian McGilloway's thrilling novel Someone You Know!Want to dip into the story before you decide? Start reading Parts One & Two of Three now (chapters 1 - 49). It is not the whole book.Love what you've read? You can buy Part Three (chapters 50 - 64) or the full-length book on May 20, 2014.An unforgettable and moving thriller for fans of Tana French and Elizabeth George, from the author of the New York Times bestseller Little Girl Lost.Just before Christmas, the body of a sixteen-year-old girl is found along the train tracks on the outskirts of a small town. As Detective Lucy Black investigates the teenager's tragic last hours in search of clues to her death, she realizes that some of the victim's friends may have been her most dangerous enemies--and that whoever killed her is ready to kill again. Haunted by the memory of a case gone wrong, and taunted by a killer on the loose, Lucy finds herself pitted against a lethal opponent hiding in plain sight.From an author described by John Connolly as "a major force" in suspense literature, Someone You Know is one of the most atmospheric, powerful thrillers you'll read all year.

Someone You Know: Parts One & Two

by Brian Mcgilloway

The first and second installments in Brian McGilloway's stunning three-part sequel to Little Girl Lost!Someone You Know by Brian McGilloway can be read either in three parts or as a full-length book (available May 20, 2014). Can't wait that long? Start reading Parts One & Two of Three now (chapters 1 - 49). It is not the whole book.Love what you've read? To get the entire story, you can buy Part Three (chapters 50 - 64) or the full-length book on May 20, 2014.An unforgettable and moving thriller for fans of Tana French and Elizabeth George, from the author of the New York Times bestseller Little Girl Lost.Just before Christmas, the body of a sixteen-year-old girl is found along the train tracks on the outskirts of a small town. As Detective Lucy Black investigates the teenager's tragic last hours in search of clues to her death, she realizes that some of the victim's friends may have been her most dangerous enemies--and that whoever killed her is ready to kill again. Haunted by the memory of a case gone wrong, and taunted by a killer on the loose, Lucy finds herself pitted against a lethal opponent hiding in plain sight.From an author described by John Connolly as "a major force" in suspense literature, Someone You Know is one of the most atmospheric, powerful thrillers you'll read all year.

Showing 1 through 8 of 8 results Export list as .CSV

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.