Browse Results What Download Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 11 of 11 results

Accelerando

by Charles Stross

His most ambitious novel to date, Accelerando is a multi-generational saga following a brilliant clan of 21st-century post-humans. The year is some time between 2010 and 2015. The recession has ended, but populations are aging and the rate of tech change is accelerating dizzyingly. Manfred makes his living from spreading ideas around, putting people in touch with one another and leaving a spray of technologies in his wake. He lives at the cutting edge of intelligence amplification technology, but even Manfred can take on too much. And when his pet robot cat picks up some interesting information from the SETI data, his world - and the world of his descendants - is turned on its head.

Accelerando

by Charles Stross

The Macz family has struggled to cope with the wild scientific achievements that have made humans nearly outdated. Mankind's end is closer when something starts to dismantle the solar system and tries to wipe out all natural life forms.

The Atrocity Archives

by Charles Stross

Reading The Atrocity Archives is sort of the linguistic equivalent to surfing the huge waves of Half Moon Bay with Robin Williams tied to the back of your surfboard. It's exhilarating, lightening, mind-blowing, and exhausting. It's more entertaining than anything as weird as itself. You'll find yourself in is of hysterical laughter and deep thought while teetering on he edge of an abyss. It's an exciting, unpredictably wild ride.

The Clan Corporate (The Merchant Princes Book 3)

by Charles Stross

IN The Family Trade and The Hidden Family, Miriam got in touch with her roots. Now those roots have begun to strangle her. A young business journalist from Boston, Miriam discovered that her family comes from a parallel timeline, that she is very well- connected, and that her family is way too much like the Mafia for her comfort. She's tried hard to remain her own woman, even going so far as to start a profitable (and legitimate) business in a third timeline she has discovered, outside the family reach. There have been murders and betrayals. Now, however, she may be overreaching - if she gets caught, death or worse is around the bend. For instance, there's the brain-damaged son of the local king who needs a wife.... But they'd never make her do that, would they?

The Family Trade (The Merchant Princes, Book 1)

by Charles Stross

A bold fantasy in the tradition of Roger Zelazny's Chronicles of Amber, The Merchant Princes is a sweeping new series! It begins the day she is fired. Miriam Beckstein, a successful reporter for a hi-tech magazine in Boston, finds ironclad evidence of a money-laundering scheme. But when she takes it to her editor, she's fired on the spot and gets a death threat from the criminals she has uncovered. Before the day is over, she's received a locket left by the mother she never knew- the mother who was murdered when she was an infant. Within is a knotwork pattern, which has a hypnotic effect on her. Before she knows it, she's transported herself to a parallel Earth, a world where knights on horseback chase their prey with automatic weapons, and where world-skipping assassins lurk just on the other side of reality-a world where her true family runs things. Blending the creativity and humor of Roger Zelazny, the adventure of H. Beam Piper and Philip Jose Farmer, and the rigor and scope of a science-fiction writer on the grandest scale, Charles Stross has set a new standard for hard fantasy epics. first of the merchant princes series

Glasshouse

by Charles Stross

When Robin wakes up in a clinic with most of his memories missing, it doesn't take him long to discover that someone is trying to kill him. It's the twenty-seventh century, when interstellar travel is by teleport gate and conflicts are fought by network worms that censor refugees' personalities-- including Robin's earlier self. ' On the run from a ruthless pursuer and searching for a place to hide, he volunteers to participate in a unique experimental polity: the Glasshouse, a historical simulation of a pre-accelerated culture circa 1950-2040 where participants are assigned anonymized identities. But what looks like the perfect sanctuary turns into a trap, placing Robin at the mercy of the experimenters-- and at the mercy of his own unbalanced psyche...

The Hidden Family (The Merchant Princes Book 2)

by Charles Stross

The six families of the Clan rule the kingdom of Gruinmarkt from behind the scenes, a mixture of nobility and criminal conspirators whose power to walk between their world and ours makes them rich in both. Miriam, a hip tech journalist from Boston, discovered her alternate world relatives with explosive results that shook three worlds. Now, as the prodigal Countess Helge Thorold-Hjorth, she finds herself ensnared in schemes and plots centuries in the making. She is surrounded by unlikely allies, lethal contraband, and, most dangerous of all, her family. To avoid a slippery slope down to an unmarked grave, Miriam must build a power-base of her own-- with unexpected consequences for three different time-lines, including the quasi- Victorian one exploited by the hidden family.

Iron Sunrise

by Charles Stross

[from inside flaps] "A G2 star doesn't just explode--not without outside interference. So the survivors of the planet Moscow, which was annihilated in just such an event, have launched a counterattack against the most likely culprit: the neighboring system of New Dresden. But New Dresden wasn't responsible, and as the deadly missiles approach their target, Rachel Mansour, agent for the interests of Old Earth, is assigned to find out who was. Opposing her is an unknown--and unimaginable--enemy. At stake is not only the fate of New Dresden, but also the very order of the universe. And the one person who knows the identity of that enemy is a disaffected teenager who calls herself Wednesday Shadowmist. But Wednesday has no idea what she knows ..."

The Merchants' War (The Merchant Princes Book 4)

by Charles Stross

MIRIAM Beckstein is a young, hip business journalist in Boston. She discovered in The Family Trade and The Hidden Family that her family comes from an alternate reality, that she is very well connected, and that her family is too much like the Mafia for comfort. She found herself caught in a family trap in The Clan Corporate and betrothed to a brain-damaged prince, and then all hell broke loose: a coup against the Clan by the Nobility. Now, in The Merchants' War, Miriam has escaped to world three in the turmoil, and remains in hiding from both the Clan and their opponents. She has found her way to her friends, who have a revolution to plan and now must incorporate Miriam to protect her. There is a nasty shooting war going on in the Gruinmarkt world of the Clan, directed on the Clan side from hideouts in the United States, and we know something that Miriam does not, something that she's really going to hate when she finds out-- if she lives long enough to find out. And the Clan does not know that the United States has discovered them and is out to destroy them, too.

Saturn's Children: A Space Opera

by Charles Stross

Freya Nakamichi-47 is a femmebot, one of the last of her kind still functioning. With no humans left to pay for the pleasures she provides, she agrees to transport a mysterious package from Mercury to Mars-only to become hunted by some very powerful humanoids who will stop at nothing to possess the contents of the package. This story is dedicated to Isaac Asimov and Robert Heinlein for their stories of robots and rockets. But, beware, these are fully adult robots and so are the spaceships

Singularity Sky

by Charles Stross

"In the twenty-first century, life as we know it changed. Faster-than-light travel was perfected, and the Eschaton, a superhuman artificial intelligence, was born. Four hundred years later, the far-flung colonies that arose as a result of these events-- scattered over three thousand years of time and a thousand parsecs of space-- are beginning to rediscover their origins. The New Republic is one such colony. It has existed for centuries in self-imposed isolation, rejecting all but the most basic technology. Now, under attack by a devastating information plague, the colony must reach out to Earth for help. A battle fleet is dispatched, streaking across the stars to the rescue. But things are not what they seem-- secret agendas and ulterior motives abound, both aboard the ship and on the ground. And watching over it all is the Eschaton, which has its own very definite ideas about the outcome ..."

Showing 1 through 11 of 11 results

Help

Select your download format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. For more details, visit the Formats page under the Getting Started tab.

See and hear words read aloud
  • DAISY Text - See words on the screen and hear words being read aloud with the text-to-speech voice installed on your reading tool. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Can also be used in audio-only mode. Compatible with many reading tools, including Bookshare’s free reading tools.
  • DAISY Text with Images - Similar to DAISY Text with the addition of images within the Text. Your reading tool must support images.
  • Read Now with Bookshare Web Reader - Read and see images directly from your Internet browser without downloading! Text-to-speech voicing and word highlighting are available on Google Chrome (extension installation required). Other browsers can be used with limited features. Learn more
Listen to books with audio only
  • DAISY Audio - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Must be used with a DAISY Audio compatible reading tool.
  • MP3 - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate using tracks. Can be used with any MP3 player.
Read in Braille
  • BRF (Braille Ready Format) - Read with any BRF compatible refreshable braille display; navigate using the search or find feature.
  • DAISY Text - Read with any DAISY 3.0 compatible refreshable braille display, navigate by page, chapter, section, and more.
  • Embossed Braille - Use Bookshare’s DAISY Text or BRF formats to generate embossed braille.