Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 26 through 39 of 39 results
Previous   Page: 1 2   Next

The Last Thane (Dragonlance: Chaos War, Vol. 1)

by Douglas Niles

Dark dwarves. . . darker schemes. . . and rising chaos. For generations the baser clans of Thorbardin have raged against Hylar, ancestral rulers of the vast underground realm. Now, the finest Hylar army has marched away to face the Knights of Takhisis -- and the dark dwarves see their opportunity. Besieged in the Life Tree that is their fortress city, the Hylar struggle to survive. Magic and madness threaten from all sides as Theiwar, Daergar, and Klar press the onslaught with bloodthirsty frenzy. The forces of Chaos join the battle against all dwarvenkind. And hopes grow dim as the Hylar face ultimate betrayal and confront the specter of Torbardin's ultimate doom. This exciting new novel by popular Dragonlance author Douglas Niles tells the tale of the legendary dwarven kingdom during the Chaos War, the backdrop for The New York Times best-selling novel, Dragons of Summer Flame.

Lord of the Rose (Dragonlance: Rise of Solamnia #1)

by Douglas Niles

First in an all-new trilogy from long-time Dragonlance author Douglas Niles. This title kicks off a key new Dragonlance trilogy from popular Dragonlance author Douglas Niles. This series will explore the post-war era in Solamnia, a central region of the Dragonlance world, continuing key story elements from the New York Times best-selling War of Souls series.

The Measure and the Truth (Dragonlance: Rise of Solamnia #3)

by Douglas Niles

A loyal vassal betrayed seeks revenge through any means. A woman trapped takes the chance of freedom, only to become a weapon. A leader who achieved everything only to become bitter and cruel faces a threat he never expected. For a moment it seems that Solamnia has found peace, but that peace is shattered quickly by the revolts caused by the emperor's harsh treatment of his lands and people. The return of old enemies with new allies and new treachery means that the emperor must make a stand to save the nation he created. Solamnia will fall if the emperor does, but the emperor cannot hold without his allies.

The Messenger (Icewall Trilogy, Volume One)

by Douglas Niles

Cold, forbidding, remote, it stands like a dim white cloud on the very edge of sight. There Kerrick, an elf from the golden woods of Silvanesti, has been sent, an exile in disgrace. There too, a band of barbarian villagers make their stand against the remnants of an ogre empire that is determined to once again rule the frozen wastes. In the first book of this thrilling trilogy, Douglas Niles takes his readers to a land that most in Krynn have heard of only in legen -- the legend of the Icewall.

A Noble Cause: American Battlefield Victories In Vietnam

by Douglas Niles

In the tradition of We Were Soldiers Once...and Young, A Noble Cause is a stirring tribute to the valor and courage of the allied forces in the Vietnam War and a vivid re-creation of hard-won battles from Ia Drang Valley to Khe Sanh and Hamburger Hill...<P><P>Celebrating the skill and bravery of the United States armed forces and their South Vietnamese allies, A Noble Cause presents a gripping chronicle of both large and small unit successful combat engagements, including the Battle of Dong Xoai (1965); the Battle of Ia Drang Valley (1965), the first major ground battle of the Vietnam War; the Battle of Loc Ninh (1967) by the Cambodian border; the Battle of Khe Sanh (1967-1968) leading up to the Tet Offensive; the Battle of Dong Ha (1968); the bloody siege on Hamburger Hill (1969); and the Battle of An Loc (1972), sixty-five miles north of Saigon, which contributed to the failure of the Vietcong's Eastertide Offensive.<P>Documenting the invaluable role of a tireless and determined infantry as well as air cavalry divisions and B-52 "Arc Light" air strikes, A Noble Cause chronicles the crucial strategic decisions that led to victory--often against steep odds--and honors the bravery of every soldier who stood his ground, faced the enemy, and gave his all.Includes photos and and maps

Prophet of Moonshae (Forgotten Realms: Druidhome #1)

by Douglas Niles

When the people on the islands of Moonshae forsake their goddess, the Earthmother, it is up to the daughter of the High King Tristan Kendrick to restore their faith.

The Puppet King (Dragonlance: Chaos War, Vol. 3)

by Douglas Niles

Treason within, war from without. Torn asunder by the nightmares of a mad king, the elven realm of Silvanesti has nearly been restored to its former grandeur. But the elf Porthios, returning to his homeland, launches a rebellion against young Gilthas, his own nephew. Gilthas's troubles are multiplied by threats from green dragons and from the Knights of Takhisis. Now, with Porthios at his throat, Gilthas must choose between blood and honor. Douglas Nile's new Dragonlance novel is filled with treachery and intrigue among the elves during the Chaos War, the backdrop for The New York Times best-selling novel Dragons of Summer Flame.

The Secret of Pax Tharkas (Dragonlance: Dwarf Home #1)

by Douglas Niles

An ancient ruin holds its secrets in a death grip in this exciting new Dragonlance(R) trilogy! The dwarven realms of Krynn are slumbering, locked in mountain fastness, removed and aloof from the affairs of the world. But the world has a way of finding someone when it needs them. A wealthy aristocratic dwarf from Kayolin is forced to flee his home. A gully dwarf from Thorbardin is lucky to escape his own city with his life. And a brilliant and impetuous descendant of the once-mighty Hylar wonders what failures have steered her people onto a path of self-destruction. Can she change that course before it's too late? Together, these three heroes hold the future of dwarvenkind, and all Krynn, in their hands.

Seven Circles 1: Circle at Center

by Douglas Niles

In the realm of the Seven Circles, harmony has reigned since time immemorial. That is about to change....Disaffected members of all the races are gathering into a force that may spell the doom of the Seven Circles. Strangers to brutality and warfare, the inhabitants need a champion who can teach them to defend themselves. For this, they recruit warriors from a world where only the strong survive. A primitive world where life lasts only as long as you can fight for it... <P> A world called Earth.

Starstrike: Operation Orion

by Kevin Dockery Douglas Niles

SEALS--America's best just got better. On the heels of a bloody first contact comes Earth's most important diplomatic mission in history: a summit meeting with the three alien empires vying for control of the galaxy. Assurance that Earth's first extraterrestrial ambassadors aboard the spaceship Pangaea will be safe means little to Lieutenant Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson. After all, a job's a job. As escorts on the voyage, Jackson and his sixteen-man team of new-breed Navy SEALS (Sea, Air, Land, and Space) must be neither seen nor heard. Unless, of course, the op hits the fan. While Jackson and his team respond to a distress call from an allied fleet, the Pangaea,with all its diplomatic passengers, goes missing, forcing the SEALS to follow the trail to an ice moon at the edge of the galaxy, a harsh environment crawling with crack commandos and hostile enemies. But for these warriors with their outrageous firepower, what seems an impossible quest is just another day in deep space.

Starstrike: Task Force Mars

by Kevin Dockery Douglas Niles

An elite squadron of space commandos battles against the deadliest dangers the galaxy has to offer, in this second novel of an action-packed, military science fiction series.

Viperhand (Forgotten Realms: Maztica #2)

by Douglas Niles

This 2nd novel in the Maztica Trilogy by Douglas Niles brings to life an exotic setting within the Forgotten Realms world. Erix, the former slave girl, and Halloran, the legionnaire, flee from the waves of catastrophe sweeping Maztica. The God of War feasts upon chaos while the desperate lovers strive to escape from enemies on all sides. Finally each is forced into a choice of historical proportions and deeply personal emotion. The gods themselves awaken, and the destruction of the fabulously wealthy continent of Maztica looms on the horizon. Yet Erix bears with her a desperate secret, and with that secret comes the lone hope that Maztica can survive.

Winterheim (Icewall Trilogy, Volume Three)

by Douglas Niles

Shrouded in ice, the stronghold of the ogres has stood for eons as an impregnable bastion of the Icereach. But now Strongwind Whalebone, king of the Highlanders, has been imprisoned in the ogre fortress. Outside its walls, a band of his compatriots plots his rescue. Within the fortress, ogre king Grimwar Bane faces royal treachery and desperate revolt. It is time for the ogre king to decide if the greater threat lies outside Winterheim--or within. In the third book of his epic trilogy, Douglas Niles weaves a tapestry of magic and adventure into a climax that will affect the destiny of all those who dwell in the cold land of the Icereach.

The Wizards' Conclave (Dragonlance: Age of Mortals #5)

by Douglas Niles

The series that explores the lives of key characters from Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's "New York Times" bestselling War of Souls trilogy continues. Original.

Showing 26 through 39 of 39 results
Previous   Page: 1 2   Next

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.