Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 25 of 69 results
Previous   Page: 1 2 3   Next

The Brotherhood of Consolation

by Honore De Balzac

Honoré de Balzac, a renowned French novelist and playwright, is known for his keen observation of detail and unfiltered representation of society. Balzac is regarded as one of the founders of realism in European literature, and praised for his multifaceted characters, who are morally ambiguous.

Colonel Chabert

by Honore De Balzac Carol Cosman

The story of a French military hero of the Napoleonic Wars, long assumed to be dead, tries to recover his fortune and former wife through the help of a famous Parisian lawyer. Colonel Chabert, a Napoleonic War hero supposedly killed in the Battle of Eylau, returns to Paris after a long convalescence to find his wife remarried, and his pension gone. He employs a young, well-known lawyer to at least reclaim his pension. It is a game of wits: first to convince the lawyer that he is who he says he is; secondly to get his wife to admit to his identity and thereby give up some of her wealth. Once the lawyer believes Chabert's story, the wife must be made to part with his pension...

Droll Stories

by Honore De Balzac

Balzac's Contes Drolatiques, published in three installments in the 1830s, offers a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. These thirty stories in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais were claimed by the author to have originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Abounding in episodes of good-humored licentiousness, the tales scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers.French novelist and playwright Honoré de Balzac (1799-1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers.

Droll Stories, Volume 1 (Contes drolatiques)

by Honore De Balzac

Volume One is a collection of the following light-hearted stories, imitating the manner of Rabelais and other 16th-century story-tellers:<P> The Fair Imperia,<P> The Venial Sin,<P> How the good man Bruyn took a Wife,<P> How the Seneschal Struggled with his Wife's Modesty,<P> That Which is Only a Venial Sin,<P> How and by Whom the Said Child was Procured,<P> How the Said Love-Sin was Repented of and Led to Great Mourning,<P> The King's Sweetheart,<P> The Devil's Heir,<P> The Merrie Jests of King Louis the Eleventh,<P> The High Constable's Wife,<P> The Maid of Thilouse,<P> The Brother-in-Arms,<P> The Vicar of Azay-Le-Rideau, and<P> The Reproach.<P>

Showing 1 through 25 of 69 results
Previous   Page: 1 2 3   Next

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.