Browse Results What Download Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 6 of 6 results

The King Arthur Trilogy Book One: Dragon's Child

by M. K. Hume

From the author of The Merlin Prophecy, a trilogy that Kirkus Reviews proclaimed, will "appeal to those who thrill to Game of Thrones," the first installment in the action-packed trilogy of battles, romance, and bravery during the Dark Ages is the tale of the boy destined to become King Arthur. The future of Britain is at stake. In the turbulent times of the Dark Ages, the despotic Uther Pendragon, High King of Celtic Britain, is nearing death, and his kingdom is being torn apart by the squabbling of minor kings. But only one man can bring the Celts together as a nation and restore peace--King Arthur. Artorex (Arthur) doesn't yet seem like the great man he will grow into. We meet him as a shy, subservient twelve-year-old living in the foster home of Lord Ector, who took in Artorex as a babe to protect him from murderous kin. Life has been unremarkable for the lad within the bosom of Ector's family. That is, until the arrival of three influential men who arrange for Arthur to be taught the martial skills of the warrior: blade and shield, horse and fire, pain and bravery. Little does Artorex know that these three men--one of whom is Merlin--secretly hope that one day he will take Uther's crown and restore peace to Britain. As the years pass, Artorex becomes a war chieftain, wins many battles, and starts a family with a beautiful, strong woman. But if he is to fulfill his destiny and become the High King of the Britons, Artorex must find the dying king's hidden crown and sword. Will Artorex be able to leave his family, find the precious weapons, lead the attack against the Saxons, and ultimately prove himself worthy of Uther's crown?

The King Arthur Trilogy Book Three: The Bloody Cup

by M. K. Hume

From the author of The Merlin Prophecy, the historical trilogy that "appeals to those who thrill to "Game of Thrones"" ("Kirkus Reviews")--the third installment in the epic, action-packed story of King Arthur. Celtic Britain is on the brink of collapse, and the kingdom's bloodiest days are upon it. For many years, the people of Briton have enjoyed peace and prosperity under the reign of King Arthur. He has ruled with dignity, honor, and humility. Arthur is now weakening with age, however, and the seeds of discontent are being sown. Seeking to cleanse the land of Christian belief, dissenters need a symbol with which to legitimize their pagan claim and gather malcontents together into a cohesive weapon. They seize upon the ancient cup of Bishop Lucius of Glastonbury as a way of fragmenting Arthur's hard-earned kingdom. Soon it emerges that the ultimate threat to Arthur's rule lies far closer to home; he is betrayed by his own kin. Celt will slay Celt and the river will run with blood. Will all be lost, or can King Arthur conquer the mounting forces before it's too late?

The King Arthur Trilogy Book Two: Warrior of the West

by M. K. Hume

Could all that King Arthur fought for be lost? From the author of The Merlin Prophecy, a trilogy that Kirkus Reviews proclaimed, will "appeal to those who thrill to Game of Thrones," the second installment in the action-packed historical trilogy is the epic tale of Arthur's efforts to save the heart of his kingdom. Twelve long, blood-soaked years have passed since Arthur fulfilled his destiny and was crowned High King. Against all odds, he has united Celtic Britain at last and banished the Saxon scourge from his lands. But even as Arthur's kingdom reaches its zenith, his kingdom is being undermined from within. Not only has Arthur been betrayed by the one person he should be able to trust--his bitter queen and second wife, Wenhaver--he also learns of a terrible threat from inside his own kingdom. With his guide and master tactician, Merlin, gone, Arthur must decide how to proceed if he wishes to see Britain stand strong. As the burden of leadership and power rests solely on his shoulders, Arthur faces a terrible choice: does he commit a deed that will render him comparable to Uther Pendragon, the evil king who preceded him on the throne, or does he let the evil go unchecked?

The Merlin Prophecy Book One: Battle of Kings

by M. K. Hume

BOY, HEALER, PROPHET--THE EPIC TALE OF MERLIN BEGINS In the town of Segontium a wild storm washes a fugitive ashore. He brutally rapes the granddaughter of the ruler of the Deceangli tribe, leaving her to bear his son, Myrddion Merlinus (Merlin). Spurned as a demon seed, the child is raised by his grandmother and, as soon as he turns nine, he is apprenticed to a skilled alchemist who hones the boy's remarkable gift of prophecy. Meanwhile, the High King of the Britons, Vortigern, is rebuilding the ancient fortress at Dinas Emrys. According to a prophecy, he must use the blood of a demon seed--a human sacrifice--to make his towers stand firm. Myrddion's life is now in jeopardy, but the gifted boy understands that he has a richer destiny to fulfill. Soon Vortigern shall be known as the harbinger of chaos, and Myrddion must use his gifts for good in a land besieged by evil. So begins the young healer's journey to greatness . . ., and Merlin must use his gifts for good in a land besieged by evil. So begins the healer's trying journey to greatness...

The Merlin Prophecy Book Three: Hunting with Gods

by M. K. Hume

HUNTING WITH GODS -- MERLIN'S DESTINY IS FULFILLED Disappointed after meeting his father in Constantinople, Merlin returns home to find Britain is engaged in a bloodthirsty war against the Saxons. Spared by the king of the Britons, he begins to train other healers across the land. But the king's untimely death puts Merlin under the grip of Uther Pendragon, an evil war leader. Uther orders Merlin to use his magical powers to help him seduce the young wife of King Gorlois. The healer is horrified by the High King's demands but realizes that many others will suffer at Uther's hands if he disobeys. Can Merlin survive Uther's madness and enable good to overcome evil? In Hunting with Gods, Merlin's morality is challenged as never before. M. K. Hume has won the praise of readers and critics alike with her original take on the Merlin legend. Her background in Arthurian literature provides historical accuracy to a beautifully written trilogy wrought with passion, heart, and adventure. successfully transporting them into the turbulent Dark Ages. Full of action-packed fights and passionate romance, Hunting with Gods reimagines the legend of Merlin in thrilling and fascinating ways.

The Merlin Prophecy Book Two: Death of an Empire

by M. K. Hume

"Exciting, violent, and bloody and full of historical facts" (LoveReading.co.uk review)--the historical series for fans of Diana Gabaldon and Bernard Cornwell continues with the legend of Merlin as the gifted healer progresses into a man of great renown.Myrddion Merlinus is a product of a brutal rape, and in the second book of this epic trilogy, he embarks on a quest to uncover his father's identity and sets sail from Celtic Briton with his band of loyal companions. Their journey through war-ravaged France, Rome, and Ravenna to Constantinople will test their skills and strength to the limit. Roman control over Europe is weakening. Attila's barbaric army is causing death and destruction and, bound by a healer's oath to relieve suffering, Merlin must serve under General Flavius Aetius at the Battle of the Catalaunian Plains. Merlin saves the lives of thousands of warriors, but a deadlier conflict between Emperor Valentinian of the West and Senator Petronius Maximus awaits, and Merlin must use all his resolve to survive the death of an empire.

Showing 1 through 6 of 6 results

Help

Select your download format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. For more details, visit the Formats page under the Getting Started tab.

See and hear words read aloud
  • DAISY Text - See words on the screen and hear words being read aloud with the text-to-speech voice installed on your reading tool. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Can also be used in audio-only mode. Compatible with many reading tools, including Bookshare’s free reading tools.
  • DAISY Text with Images - Similar to DAISY Text with the addition of images within the Text. Your reading tool must support images.
  • Read Now with Bookshare Web Reader - Read and see images directly from your Internet browser without downloading! Text-to-speech voicing and word highlighting are available on Google Chrome (extension installation required). Other browsers can be used with limited features. Learn more
Listen to books with audio only
  • DAISY Audio - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Must be used with a DAISY Audio compatible reading tool.
  • MP3 - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate using tracks. Can be used with any MP3 player.
Read in Braille
  • BRF (Braille Ready Format) - Read with any BRF compatible refreshable braille display; navigate using the search or find feature.
  • DAISY Text - Read with any DAISY 3.0 compatible refreshable braille display, navigate by page, chapter, section, and more.
  • Embossed Braille - Use Bookshare’s DAISY Text or BRF formats to generate embossed braille.