Browse Results What Download Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 2 of 2 results

Arnie and a House Full of Company

by Margarete S. Corbo Diane M. Barras

The wonderful true, new story of Arnie, the famous talking starling. When Margarete returns to Cape Cod with Arnie and the three cats after a ten-year absence, she finds the family homestead so overgrown she has to prune their way to the front door. The house that had been full of love and laughter is now a lifeless shell, except for the ghost of Margarete's father in the bedroom. But, determined to make the house a home again, Margarete seeks out friends, old and new, animal and human--Edelweiss the skunk, Manx the tailless squirrel, Ekaterina the dying countess, April the neighbor who has lost her son. Soon Margarete and Arnie have filled their nest so well they begin to wonder whether there is such a thing as too much company. The first Arnie book was a story of breaking away, of letting go of dreams gone bad. The new one is a story of putting down new roots in old places. It says you can go home again.

Arnie, the Darling Starling

by Margarete S. Corbo Diane M. Barras

This true story of a talking starling and the grandmother who raised him is as heartwarming a book as you will ever read-a new classic in the tradition of Rascal, Born Free, and That Quail, Robert. When Margarete first came upon Arnie, he was just a familiar springtime sight: a baby bird lying helpless in the daisy patch. After unsuccessfully trying to return him to his nest, she took him into her Texas home and raised him as carefully as she had raised her own child, teaching him to perch, to fly, even to talk. Arnie resisted all attempts to restore him to the wild, preferring steak and canned corn to worms, which frightened him, and even developing a taste for wine. Most astonishing of all, he learned to talk and sing, and he had a remarkable influence on a number of lives. Lenny, the young drug addict, paused on the road to self-destruction, so enthralled by Arnie that he carried a dog-eared picture of him in his wallet. Suzanne, the Vietnamese refugee, learned from Arnie that the wrong home can be a prison and fled to Colorado to start a happier, new life. Marguerette also learned that change could be a good thing from that little bird.

Showing 1 through 2 of 2 results

Help

Select your download format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. For more details, visit the Formats page under the Getting Started tab.

See and hear words read aloud
  • DAISY Text - See words on the screen and hear words being read aloud with the text-to-speech voice installed on your reading tool. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Can also be used in audio-only mode. Compatible with many reading tools, including Bookshare’s free reading tools.
  • DAISY Text with Images - Similar to DAISY Text with the addition of images within the Text. Your reading tool must support images.
  • Read Now with Bookshare Web Reader - Read and see images directly from your Internet browser without downloading! Text-to-speech voicing and word highlighting are available on Google Chrome (extension installation required). Other browsers can be used with limited features. Learn more
Listen to books with audio only
  • DAISY Audio - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Must be used with a DAISY Audio compatible reading tool.
  • MP3 - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate using tracks. Can be used with any MP3 player.
Read in Braille
  • BRF (Braille Ready Format) - Read with any BRF compatible refreshable braille display; navigate using the search or find feature.
  • DAISY Text - Read with any DAISY 3.0 compatible refreshable braille display, navigate by page, chapter, section, and more.
  • Embossed Braille - Use Bookshare’s DAISY Text or BRF formats to generate embossed braille.