Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 11 of 11 results Export list as .CSV

The Chicken of the Family

by Mary Amato

Henrietta's two older sisters love to tease her. When they try to convince her that she's actually a chicken instead of a little girl, it's pretty hard to believe at first. But the evidence is all there: her legs are kind of yellow, and her toes are kind of long. The feathers she finds beside her bed the next morning settle it, and Henrietta heads off to the farm to find her real family. The chickens welcome her with open wings, and this lovably gullible heroine's joyful acceptance of who she really is will have readers squawking with laughter.

Get Happy

by Mary Amato

In this poignant, realistic, contemporary YA by a state master list star, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman, a young songwriter builds a substitute family with her friends in place of the broken family she grew up with.Minerva has been raised by her single mother after her father left them both. On her 17th birthday, she is shocked to discover that he has been trying to keep in touch, but her mother has been sabotaging his attempts. Furious at her mom, she begins to investigate her dad, a famous marine biologist, only to discover that he has a new family, including a beloved, and perfect, stepdaughter--a girl Minerva already knows and despises. As she makes her way, trying to build her performing and songwriting career, her jealousy takes over and threatens to derail her life completely. It is only through the efforts of her best friend, Fin, and the introduction of Hayes, a new young man in her life, that she is able to see clearly who she is and who makes up her family. You may visit Mary Amato at either www.maryamato.com or www.thrumsociety.com, or follow her on Twitter @MaryAmato.

Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey!

by Mary Amato Ward Jenkins

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture. When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal using disguises, inventions, and old-fashioned shoe leather. They also learn what a monkey can do in 11 minutes: 1) Stick his fingers in your right nostril. 2) Lick your eyebrows, pick his teeth, and then wipe his finger on your shirt. Giggles and guffaws will be the result of anyone reading Book One of Good Crooks.

Good Crooks Book Three: Sniff a Skunk!

by Mary Amato Ward Jenkins

A funny, silly series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey, Tony Abbott, and Nancy Krulik. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture.Good Crooks Book Three: Sniff a Skunk! brings back our favorite pair of do-gooder crooks in a hilarious adventure about an odiferous encounter with a skunk.The first two books in the series are Book-of-the-Month-Club selections.Releases simultaneously in hardcover (ISBN 978-1-60684-598-1) and eBook (ISBN 978-1-60684-600-1) formats. Praise for Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey! "A new chapter-book series about do-gooder thieves...Scrappy song lyrics, energetic illustrations and plenty of potty humor keep the hilarity high for reluctant readers."--Kirkus Reviews "...will have beginning readers eager for more chaotic misadventures from these well-meaning Crooks."--Publishers Weekly

Good Crooks Book Two: Dog Gone!

by Mary Amato Ward Jenkins

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture. When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal using disguises, inventions, and old-fashioned shoe leather. They also learn what a monkey can do in 11 minutes: 1) Stick his fingers in your right nostril. 2) Lick your eyebrows, pick his teeth, and then wipe his finger on your shirt. Giggles and guffaws will be the result of anyone reading Book One of Good Crooks.

Guitar Notes

by Mary Amato

On odd days, Tripp Broody uses a school practice room to let loose on a borrowed guitar. Eyes closed, strumming that beat-up instrument, Tripp escapes to a world where only the music matters. On even days, Lyla Marks uses the same practice room. To Tripp, she's trying to become even more perfect--she's already a straight-A student and an award-winning cellist. But when Lyla begins leaving notes for him in between the strings of the guitar, his life intersects with hers in a way he never expected. What starts as a series of snippy notes quickly blossoms into the sharing of interests and secrets and dreams, and the forging of a very unlikely friendship. Challenging each other to write songs, they begin to connect, even though circumstances threaten to tear them apart. From beloved author Mary Amato comes a YA novel of wit and wisdom, both heartfelt and heart­breaking, about the power of music and the unexpected chords that draw us together.

Invisible Lines

by Mary Amato

Coming from a poor, single-parent family, seventh-grader Trevor must rely on his intelligence, artistic ability, quick wit, and soccer prowess to win friends at his new Washington, D.C. school, but popular and rich Xander seems determined to cause him trouble.

Invisible Lines

by Mary Amato Antonio Caparo

If there's one thing I'm good at it's making people laugh because when I'm standing up I'm what you call a stand-up comedian, and when I'm sitting down, I'm just plain funny. Trevor is just plain funny, and he's lucky he is. Because this year he needs a sense of humor. Moving to a new home is hard enough--the sign reads hedley gardens, but everyone calls these projects deadly gardens. And the move to a fancy new school is even harder--all the kids from Deadly Gardens seem to be in the same classes and keep to themselves, but somehow Trevor's ended up in an advanced science class with kids who seem to have everything, and know everything, including how to please their strange new teacher.Someone else might just give up, but Trevor has plans. This is going to be his year. And he is going to use whatever he has, do whatever it takes, to make it at this new school. He may not have what these other kids have, but Trevor knows he's got some stuff to show. No one is better at juggling in soccer, and he knows he can draw--he calls himself the Graffiti Guy. But Xander, a star in the classroom and on the soccer field, has other plans for Trevor. He doesn't like anyone trespassing on his turf and begins to sabotage Trevor at every opportunity. Who is going to believe Trevor over the school star? Is there any way that Trevor can achieve his goals against a guy who is as good at bullying as he is at everything else he does?

The Naked Mole Rat Letters

by Mary Amato

When her father begins a long-distance romance with a zookeeper from Washington, D.C., twelve-year-old Frankie sends fabricated e-mails to the zookeeper in an attempt to sabotage the relationship. But when the zookeeper responds, with wise and witty letters about protecting territory, shunning outsiders, and rebuilding a home, Frankie begins an honest and prickly correspondence that touches on family, friendship, and growing up.

Snarf Attack, Underfoodle, and the Secret of Life: The Riot Brothers Tell All

by Mary Amato

Move over, Captain Underpants, a couple of new pranksters are in town. Narrated by fifth-grader Wilbur and featuring his third-grade brother, Orville, this hilarious story follows the antics of two boys with overactive imaginations and a comfortable sibling relationship. The action is divided into three "books," with six chapters each. In the first, the brothers are determined to catch a crook. They make a windfall by giving lessons in being annoying to their classmates, are reprimanded by the principal (who is also their mother), and still manage to foil a bank robber on the way home from school. Next, while searching for treasure, they find a mysterious box in the closet. After they finally open it, they discover that the contents, although not worth money, are still valuable. The final installment has the duo building a catapult designed to overthrow a king and using it instead to defeat a bully. Illustrations described.

The Word Eater

by Mary Amato

Life is miserable for sixth grader Lerner Chanse at her new school, where the MPOOE (Most Powerful Ones on Earth) Club ruthlessly rules over the SLUGs (Sorry Losers Under Ground). It looks like Lerner is destined to be a SLUG, until she finds a magical worm that eats printed words instead of dirt. If Fip eats a word, that item simply disappears from the world-forever. Now that Lerner knows about Fip's magic, she has some big decisions to make. Should she eliminate crime? Or simply wipe her school off the face of the earth? Or will destroying anything cause effects that she can't imagine or predict? Lerner discovers that extraordinary power brings extraordinary responsibility...but will she learn her lesson too late? This is a story about making friends, being grounded, feeling left out, being ganged up on and blamed unfairly, getting sent to the principal's office, scoring a candy bonanza, making friends, and learning small things we do can have big consequences. Find the huge difference it can make to change just one letter in a word. Imagine what you would do with a worm who made the things for the words it ate, disappear.

Showing 1 through 11 of 11 results Export list as .CSV

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.