Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 9 of 9 results

A Brief Chapter in My Impossible Life

by Dana Reinhardt

Sixteen-year-old Simone is under no illusions about her family - they are loving, kind, thoughtful and intelligent. She couldn't ask for anything more, even though she's adopted. Then from out of the blue Rivka, her birth mother, rings. Simone's life is thrown into disarray as she starts the slow process of getting to know her biological mother and understanding her Jewish heritage. But Rivka has pressing reasons for getting to know her daughter: she has a terminal illness. With love comes heartbreak - and also a great affirmation of life.

Harmless

by Dana Reinhardt

BONUS FEATURE: Exclusive Author Interview EMMA: Sometimes it' s easier to tell lies than it is to tell the truth. ANNA: We could pull this one off, no problem at all. MARIAH: You' ve told lies before, haven' t you? Everyone' s told lies. One Friday night Emma, Anna, and Mariah, three best friends, are out doing something they shouldn' t. Then a cell phone rings. One girl' s mother wants to know why they aren' t where they said they' d be. They make up a story so they won' t get in trouble at home. It seems like the easy way out. What happens next challenges their friendship, their community, their relationships with their families, and their sense of themselves. What happens next shows the harm one lie can do. Told in the voices of the three girls who must learn to live with the lies they tell, "Harmless" is a gripping and provocative audio full of startling turns and surprises.

How to Build a House

by Dana Reinhardt

Harper's dad is getting a divorce from her beloved stepmother, Jane. Even worse, Harper has lost her stepsister, Tess; the divorce divides them. Harper decides to escape by joining a volunteer program to build a house for a family in Tennessee who lost their home in a tornado. Not that she knows a thing about construction. Soon she's living in a funky motel and working long days in blazing heat with a group of kids from all over the country. At the site, she works alongside Teddy, the son of the family for whom they are building the house. Their partnership turns into a summer romance, complete with power tools. Learning to trust and love Teddy isn't easy for Harper, but it's the first step toward finding her way back home.

How to Build a House

by Dana Reinhardt

HARPER'S DAD IS getting a divorce from her beloved stepmother, Jane. Even worse, Harper has lost her stepsister, Tess; the divorce divides them. Harper decides to escape by joining a volunteer program to build a house for a family in Tennessee who lost their home in a tornado. Not that she knows a thing about construction.Soon she's living in a funky motel and working long days in blazing heat with a group of kids from all over the country. At the site, she works alongside Teddy, the son of the family for whom they are building the house. Their partnership turns into a summer romance, complete with power tools. Learning to trust and love Teddy isn't easy for Harper, but it's the first step toward finding her way back home.From the Hardcover edition.

Odessa Again

by Dana Reinhardt

Fourth grader Odessa Green-Light lives with her mom and her toad of a little brother, Oliver. Her dad is getting remarried, which makes no sense according to Odessa. If the prefix "re" means "to do all over again," shouldn't he be remarrying Mom? Meanwhile, Odessa moves into the attic room of their new house. One day she gets mad and stomps across the attic floor. Then she feels as if she is falling and lands . . . on the attic floor. Turns out that Odessa has gone back in time a whole day! With this new power she can fix all sorts of things--embarrassing moments, big mistakes, and even help Oliver be less of a toad. Her biggest goal: reunite Mom and Dad.

The Summer I Learned to Fly

by Dana Reinhardt

Drew's a bit of a loner. She has a pet rat, her dead dad's Book of Lists, an encyclopedic knowledge of cheese from working at her mom's cheese shop, and a crush on Nick, the surf bum who works behind the counter. It's the summer before eighth grade and Drew's days seem like business as usual, until one night after closing time, when she meets a strange boy in the alley named Emmett Crane. Who he is, why he's there, where the cut on his cheek came from, and his bottomless knowledge of rats are all mysteries Drew will untangle as they are drawn closer together, and Drew enters into the first true friendship, and adventure, of her life.From the Hardcover edition.

Tell Us Something True

by Dana Reinhardt

For fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Smith, E.L. Lockhart, and John Green, this delightful, often comic coming-of-age novel stars the lovable, brokenhearted River, the streets of LA, and an irresistible cast of characters. Seventeen-year-old River doesn't know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He's stuck. He's desperate. Okay . . . he's got to learn to drive.But first, he does the unthinkable--he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings, and begins to connect with the other kids, especially an amazing girl. River wants to tell the truth, but he can't stop lying, and his tangle of deception may unravel before he learns how to handle the most potent drug of all: true love. Praise for Tell Us Something True "I promise you'll fall in love with River Dean, even though he's a faker, a stalker, a non-driver, a bad dancer, a bad friend and a codependent mess. He's funny and he's true. His heart is smashed six different ways and he's trying to mend it with tacos and lies--but isn't that true of all of us?" --E. Lockhart, New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars "A heartfelt tale that elevates truth over passion and friends over lovers. Reinhardt keeps it real. Much respect." --Matthew Quick, author of The Silver Linings Playbook and Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock "A sharp-witted, hilarious, and addicting novel about being lost and discovering your best self. Highly recommended!" --Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not "Oh, how I love a novel where the hero ties himself up, Houdini style, and dives into his own predicament. Once again Dana Reinhardt has written a charming, compassionate, very clever comedy, and this one reminds us how a big lie can reveal the truth." --Laura McNeal, author of Dark Water, National Book Award Finalist "Tell Us Something True is hope, it is humanity, it is original, funny, wrenching, real, and intelligently surprising." --Beth Kephart, author of Small Damages, Going Over, and This Is the Story of You "When you start reading a Dana Reinhardt book, it's like discovering a new friend. By the time you've turned the final page it's like saying goodbye to your best friend, and I can think of nothing better to ask of a writer." --Markus Zusak, author of The Book Thief

The Things a Brother Knows

by Dana Reinhardt

The story of a young marine's return from war in the Middle East and the psychological effects it has on his family. Finally, Levi Katznelson's older brother, Boaz, has returned. Boaz was a high school star who had it all and gave it up to serve in a war Levi can't understand. Things have been on hold since Boaz left. With the help of his two best friends Levi has fumbled his way through high school, weary of his role as little brother to the hero. But when Boaz walks through the front door after his tour of duty is over, Levi knows there's something wrong. Boaz is home, safe. But Levi knows that his brother is not the same. Maybe things will never return to normal. Then Boaz leaves again, and this time Levi follows him, determined to understand who his brother was, who he has become, and how to bring him home again. Award-winning author Dana Reinhardt introduces readers to Levi, who has never known what he believes, and whose journey reveals truths only a brother knows. From the Hardcover edition.

We Are the Goldens

by Dana Reinhardt

Nell worships her older sister, Layla. They're one unit, intertwined: Nellayla. As Nell and her best friend, Felix, start their freshman year in high school, on Layla's turf, there's so much Nell looks forward to: Joining Layla on the varsity soccer team. Parties. Boys. Adventures. But the year takes a very different turn. Layla is changing, withdrawing. She's hiding something, and when Nell discovers what it is, and the consequences it might have, she struggles. She wants to support Layla, to be her confidante, to be the good sister she's always been. But with so much at stake, what secrets should she keep? What lies should she tell? Award-winning young adult author Dana Reinhardt explores questions of loyalty, love, and betrayal in this provocative and intimate novel.From the Hardcover edition.

Showing 1 through 9 of 9 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.