Browse Results What Download Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 8 of 8 results

Brave New Worlds: Dystopian Stories

by Ursula K. Le Guin Kate Wilhelm Orson Scott Card Shirley Jackson Ray Bradbury Neil Gaiman Philip K. Dick Cory Doctorow Carrie Vaughn Kurt Vonnegut Jr. Paolo Bacigalupi

Brave New Worlds collects over 30 of the best tales of dystopian menace by some of today's visionary writers.

The Haunting of Hill House

by Shirley Jackson

Four seekers have come to the ugly, abandoned old mansion: Dr. Montague, and occult scholar looking for solid evidence of the psychic phenomenon called haunting; Theodora, his lovely and lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a lonely, homeless girl well acquainted with poltergeists; and Luke, the adventurous future heir of Hill House. At first, their stay seems destined to be merely a spooky encounter with inexplicable noises and self-closing doors, but Hill House is gathering its powers and will soon choose one of them to make its own...

Just an Ordinary Day

by Shirley Jackson

The stories in this edition represent the great diversity of her work, from humor to her shocking explorations of the human psyche. The tales range, chronologically, from the writings of her college days and residence in Greenwich Village in the early 1940s, to the unforgettably chilling stories from the period just before her death. They provide an exciting overview of the evolution of her craft through a progression of forms and styles, and add significantly to the body of her published work. Just an Ordinary Dayis a testament to how large a talent Shirley Jackson had and to the depth, breadth, and complexity of her writing. Though this remarkable literary life was cut short, Jackson clearly established a unique voice that has won a permanent place in the canon of outstanding American literature, and remains a powerful influence on generations of readers and writers. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Life Among the Savages

by Shirley Jackson

Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story "The Lottery", was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family's life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don't Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote will find much to recognize in Shirley Jackson's home and neighborhood: children who won't behave, cars that won't start, furnaces that break down, a pugnacious corner bully, household help that never stays, and a patient, capable husband who remains lovingly oblivious to the many thousands of things mothers and wives accomplish every single day. "Our house", writes Jackson, "is old, noisy, and full. When we moved into it we had two children and about five thousand books; I expect that when we finally overflow and move out again we will have perhaps twenty children and easily half a million books". Jackson's literary talents are in evidence everywhere, as is her trenchant, unsentimental wit. Yet there is no mistaking the happiness and love in these pages, which are crowded with the raucous voices of an extraordinary family living a wonderfully ordinary life.

The Lottery and Other Stories

by Shirley Jackson

This collection was originally published as The Lottery or the Adventures of James Harris. A wonderful collection of stories written in the 1940's and takes in the culture and flavor of that period. Includes: THE INTOXICATED, THE DAEMON LOVER, LIKE MOTHER USED TO MAKE, TRIAL BY COMBAT, THE VILLAGER, MY LIFE WITH R. H. MACY, THE WITCH, THE RENEGADE, AFTER YOU, MY DEAR ALPHONSE, CHARLES, AFTERNOON IN LINEN, FLOWER GARDEN, DOROTHY AND MY GRANDMOTHER AND THE SAILORS, in COLLOQUY, ELIZABETH, #12;A FINE OLD FIRM, THE DUMMY, SEVEN TYPES OF AMBIGUITY, COME DANCE WITH ME IN IRELAND, OF COURSE, PILLAR OF SALT, MEN WITH THEIR BIG SHOES, THE TOOTH, GOT A LETTER FROM JIMMY, THE LOTTERY 308 pages.

The Road Through the Wall

by Shirley Jackson

The families in the prosperous community were proud of their young people--happy, healthy, all-American boys and girls. Yet for some reason, change crept into the neighborhood... could a new road put in and a long established boundary wall be enough to spark such teenage rebellion... then new tenants in "that house." The neighbors knew the grey stone house as the house-for-rent. No one lived there long and those who moved away left without explanation. Even to those who were not superstitious, there was something odd about this irritating eyesore--and something strange, too, about its new tenants.... all to end with the ultimate anguish for a quiet young boy.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle

by Shirley Jackson

In this psychological Gothic novel, the distinguished author of "The Lottery," uses a psychologically imbalanced teen age narrator to gradually unveil the horrifying secrets of her afflicted family and to portray the complicated bigoted reaction of the town's people.

The Witchcraft of Salem Village

by Shirley Jackson

Stories of magic, superstition, and witchcraft were strictly forbidden in the little town of Salem Village. But a group of young girls ignored those rules, spellbound by the tales told by a woman named Tituba. When questioned about their activities, the terrified girls set off a whirlwind of controversy as they accused townsperson after townsperson of being witches. Author Shirley Jackson examines in careful detail this horrifying true story of accusations, trials, and executions that shook a community to its foundations.

Showing 1 through 8 of 8 results

Help

Select your download format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. For more details, visit the Formats page under the Getting Started tab.

See and hear words read aloud
  • DAISY Text - See words on the screen and hear words being read aloud with the text-to-speech voice installed on your reading tool. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Can also be used in audio-only mode. Compatible with many reading tools, including Bookshare’s free reading tools.
  • DAISY Text with Images - Similar to DAISY Text with the addition of images within the Text. Your reading tool must support images.
  • Read Now with Bookshare Web Reader - Read and see images directly from your Internet browser without downloading! Text-to-speech voicing and word highlighting are available on Google Chrome (extension installation required). Other browsers can be used with limited features. Learn more
Listen to books with audio only
  • DAISY Audio - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Must be used with a DAISY Audio compatible reading tool.
  • MP3 - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate using tracks. Can be used with any MP3 player.
Read in Braille
  • BRF (Braille Ready Format) - Read with any BRF compatible refreshable braille display; navigate using the search or find feature.
  • DAISY Text - Read with any DAISY 3.0 compatible refreshable braille display, navigate by page, chapter, section, and more.
  • Embossed Braille - Use Bookshare’s DAISY Text or BRF formats to generate embossed braille.