Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 51 through 75 of 1,056 results

January 2016

The Revenant: A Novel of Revenge

by Punke, Michael

In this novel, a man is mauled by a grizzly bear and abandoned by his companions in the wildeness. His desire for revenge is the driving force that keeps him alive.

The Ruin of the Roman Empire

by O'Donnell, James J.

The dream Alexander the Great and Julius Caesar shared of uniting Europe, the Medi-terranean, and the Middle East in a single community shuddered and then collapsed in the wars and disasters of the sixth century. Historian and classicist James J.

The Unconquered: In Search of the Amazon's Last Uncontacted Tribes

by Wallace, Scott

THE UNCONQUERED TELLS THE EXTRAORDINARY TRUE STORY OF A JOURNEY INTO THE DEEPEST RECESSES OF THE AMAZON TO TRACK ONE OF THE PLANET'S LAST UNCONTACTED IN DIGENOUS TRIBES.

To Explain the World

by Weinberg, Steven

In this rich, irreverent, compelling history, Nobel Prize-winning physicist Steven Weinberg takes us from ancient Miletus to medieval Baghdad and Oxford, from Plato's Academy and the Museum of Alexandria to the cathedral school of Chartres and the

When Breath Becomes Air

by Verghese, Abraham and Kalanithi, Paul

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

When to Rob a Bank

by Dubner, Stephen J. and Levitt, Steven D.

In celebration of the 10th anniversary of the landmark book Freakonomics comes this curated collection from the most readable economics blog in the universe. It's the perfect solution for the millions of readers who love all things Freakonomics.

December 2015

Abandoned: A Thriller

by Mcfadyen, Cody

For FBI Special Agent Smoky Barrett, her colleague's wedding is cause for celebration. Until a woman staggers down the aisle--incoherent, wearing only a white nightgown

All Dressed in White

by Clark, Mary Higgins and Burke, Alafair

Five years ago Amanda Pierce was excitedly preparing to marry her college sweetheart.

All Dressed in White

by Clark, Mary Higgins and Burke, Alafair

The second thrilling novel in the New York Times bestselling Under Suspicion series following The Cinderella Murder, featuring intrepid television producer Laurie Moran as she investigates the case of a missing bride.

Archie and Amelie

by Lucey, Donna M.

John Armstrong Chanler--known as Archie to his family--was an heir to the Astor fortune, an eccentric, dashing, and handsome millionaire. Amélie Rives, from a Southern family and the goddaughter of Robert E.

Ashley Bell

by Koontz, Dean

From #1 bestselling author Dean Koontz--the must-read thriller of the year, for readers of dark psychological suspense and modern classics of mystery and adventure. The girl who said no to death.

Astoria

by Stark, Peter

In 1810, John Jacob Astor sent out two advance parties to settle the wild, unclaimed western coast of North America. More than half of his men died violent deaths.

Blood Kiss: Black Dagger Legacy

by Ward, J. R.

The legacy of the Black Dagger Brotherhood continues in a spin-off series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author...

Boys In The Trees: A Memoir

by Simon, Carly

Simon's memoir reveals her remarkable life, beginning with her storied childhood as the third daughter of Richard L. Simon, the co-founder of publishing giant Simon & Schuster, her musical debut as half of The Simon Sisters performing folk songs with her sister Lucy in Greenwich Village, to a meteoric solo career that would result in 13 top 40 hits, including the #1 song "You're So Vain."

Brooklyn

by Toibin, Colm

Hauntingly beautiful and heartbreaking, Colm Tóibín's sixth novel, Brooklyn, is set in Brooklyn and Ireland in the early 1950s, when one young woman crosses the ocean to make a new life for herself.

Comfort & Joy

by Hannah, Kristin

New York Times bestselling author Kristin Hannah is beloved by readers around the world for her unique blend of powerful emotion and exquisite storytelling.

Cross Justice

by Patterson, James

The toughest cases are the ones that hit close to home. When his cousin is accused of a heinous crime, Alex Cross returns to his North Carolina hometown for the first time in over three decades.

Deep Freeze (West Coast #1)

by Jackson, Lisa

Former movie star Jenna Hughes left Hollywood for an isolated farm in Oregon to get away from fame but an obsessed fan followed her. As a winter storm bears down, he wants nothing more than to see her dead.

John Lennon: The Life

by Norman, Philip

For more than a quarter century, Philip Norman's internationally bestselling Shout! has been unchallenged as the definitive biography of the Beatles.

Orphan #8

by Alkemade, Kim Van

A stunning debut novel of historical fiction set in the forgotten world of New York City's Jewish orphanagesIn 1919, four-year-old Rachel Rabinowitz is placed in the Hebrew Infant Home where Dr.

Precious Gifts

by Steel, Danielle

Handsome, widowed, sophisticated, utterly charming, Paul Parker won the heart of a wealthy young Frenchwoman--the daughter of an American financier, the granddaughter of a major French art dealer--as his second wife.

SPQR: A History of Ancient Rome

by Beard, Mary

A sweeping, revisionist history of the Roman Empire from one of our foremost classicists.

Secret Sisters

by Krentz, Jayne Ann

No one does romantic suspense better than Jayne Ann Krentz. Now, the New York Times bestselling author of Trust No One and River Road delivers a novel that twists and turns into a read that will leave you breathless.

Seventh Heaven

by Hoffman, Alice

A bestselling novel of suburban daydreams and the magic of one woman who makes her own way in the world On Hemlock Street, the houses are identical, the lawns tidy, and the families traditional.

Such Good Girls

by Rosen, R. D.

They defied death by being such good girls--keeping secrets, staying out of sight, and suffering in frightened silence.

Showing 51 through 75 of 1,056 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the "Using Bookshare" page in the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivona's Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.