Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 51 through 75 of 138 results

Middle School Book

A Single Shard

by Park, Linda Sue

Tree-ear, a 13-year-old orphan in medieval Korea, lives under a bridge in a potters' village, and longs to learn how to throw the delicate celadon ceramics himself. Newbery Medal Winner.

A String in the Harp

by Bond, Nancy

A family in mourning...an ancient bard... and a harp key that brings them together.When fifteen-year-old Jen Morgan flies to Wales to spend Christmas with her family, she's not expecting much from the holiday.

Baseball in April and Other Stories

by Soto, Gary

In this unique collection of short stories, the small events of daily life reveal big themes--love and friendship, youth and growing up, success and failure.

Becoming Ben Franklin : How a Candle-Maker's Son Helped Light the Flame of Liberty

by Freedman, Russell

A riveting story of Benjamin Franklin, who as a youth worked hard, followed his dream, became a wealthy man, and spent his later years in service to the newly formed United States.

Bud, Not Buddy

by Curtis, Christopher Paul

It's 1936, in Flint, Michigan. Advisory: Bookshare has learned that this book offers only partial accessibility. We have kept it in the collection because it is useful for some of our members. To explore further access options with us, please contact us through the Book Quality link on the right sidebar. Benetech is actively working on projects to improve accessibility issues such as these.

Chains

by Anderson, Laurie Halse

If an entire nation could seek its freedom, why not a girl? As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight...for freedom.

City of Orphans

by Avi and Ruth, Greg

As a newsboy on the streets of 1893 New York, thirteen-year-old Maks Geless has a hard enough time evading the grasp of the Plug Ugly gang, whose sinister boss wants to control all the newsies on the Lower East Side.

Counting by 7s

by Sloan, Holly Goldberg

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Death Mountain

by Shahan, Sherry

Two girls unexpectedly find themselves lost in the Sierra Nevada mountains for five days.

December Stillness

by Hahn, Mary Downing

Thirteen-year-old Kelly tries to befriend Mr. Weems, a disturbed homeless Vietnam War veteran who spends his days in her suburban library, though the man makes it clear he wants to be left alone.

Eight Cousins: or The Aunt-Hill

by Alcott, Louisa May

Rose, a shy orphan, blossoms in the company of her spirited relatives when she takes up residence at "The Aunt Hill."

Farewell to Manzanar: A True Story of Japanese American Experience During and After the World War II Internment

by Houston, Jeanne Wakatsuki and Houston, James D.

A moving and intensely human true story of a Japanese American family during the internment of World War II and its aftermath

Feathers

by Woodson, Jacqueline

When a new, white student nicknamed "Jesus Boy" joins her 6th grade class in the winter of 1971, Frannie's growing friendship with him makes her start to see some things in a new light.

I Am David

by Holm, Anne and Kingsland, L. W.

David's entire twelve-year life has been spent in a grisly prison camp in Eastern Europe. He knows nothing of the outside world. But when he is given the chance to escape, he seizes it.

I Thought My Soul Would Rise and Fly: The Diary of Patsy, a Freed Girl (Dear America)

by Hansen, Joyce

In this latest addition to the Dear America series, Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author Joyce Hansen presents the inspiring story of Patsy, a freed girl who becomes a great teacher.

Jason's Gold

by Hobbs, Will

"Gold!" Jason shouted at the top of his lungs. "Read all about it! Gold discovered in Alaska!

Jip, His Story

by Paterson, Katherine

While living on a Vermont poor farm during 1855 and 1856, Jip learns his identity and that of his mother and comes to understand how he arrived at this place.

Kennedy's Last Days: The Assassination That Defined A Generation

by O'Reilly, Bill

A historical narrative of the events surrounding the death of the 35th president is set against the backdrop of an escalating Cold War and describes the many political challenges Kennedy was facing before his assassination, in an account that also describes Lee Harvey Oswald's story and the events surrounding his death.

M.C. Higgins, The Great

by Hamilton, Virginia

M. C. 's family is rooted to the slopes of Sarah's Mountain. His great-grandmother escaped to the mountain as a runaway slave and made it her home. It bears her name, and her descendants have lived there ever since.

Olive's Ocean

by Henkes, Kevin

Martha and Olive could have been friends. But Olive was hit by a car on Monroe Street weeks ago. During the family vacation, Martha bonds with her grandmother, thinks about the Manning boys, and wonders about Olive. A Newbery Honor Book.

On the Far Side of the Mountain (My Side of the Mountain #2)

by George, Jean Craighead

Sam's peaceful existence in his wilderness home is disrupted when his sister runs away and his pet falcon is confiscated by a conservation officer. Sequel to My Side of the Mountain.

Our Only May Amelia

by Holm, Jennifer L.

Being a pioneer in Washington in 1899 is hard. It's even harder when you're the only girl ever born in the new settlement. May Amelia Jackson just can't behave like a Proper Young Lady the way her family wants her to. A Newbery Honor Book.

Out of the Dust

by Hesse, Karen

This gripping story, written in sparse first-person, free-verse poems, is the compelling tale of Billie Jo's struggle to survive during the dust bowl years of the Depression.

Pictures of Hollis Woods

by Giff, Patricia Reilly

Hollis Woods has been in so many foster homes she can hardly remember them all. She even runs away from the Regans, the one family who offers her a home.

Stand Tall

by Bauer, Joan

Tree, a six-foot-three-inch twelve-year-old, copes with his parents' recent divorce and his failure as an athlete by helping his grandfather, a Vietnam vet and recent amputee, and Sophie, a new girl at school.

Showing 51 through 75 of 138 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the "Using Bookshare" page in the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivona's Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.