Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 3,851 through 3,875 of 16,687 results

Charity Case

by Jim Harmon

Certainly I see things that aren't there and don't say what my voice says--but how can I prove that I don't have my health?

Tolstoi for the Young

by Leo Tolstoy

Leo Tolstoy was a Russian writer who is generally regarded as one of the greatest authors of all time. The stories in this book have been adapted for children, making them the perfect introduction to Tolstoy for young readers.

The Master's Wife

by Jane Jackson

The sequel to The Consul's Daughter, RNA Novel of the Year Finalist 2016. Cornwall, 1882. Now owner of her late father's shipyard, Caseley has drifted apart from her husband, Captain Jago Barata. Following the loss and heartbreak they have recently suffered, and unable to express their true feelings to one another, their marriage is at risk of collapse. When Jago is commissioned to undertake a voyage to turbulent Egypt - a mission of the utmost importance - Caseley, convinced she is about to lose him for good, risks everything by deciding to go with him. Will their marriage survive the dangers they are sailing into - and will they ever make it back to England? The second in The Captain's Honour series by Jane Jackson, The Master's Wife is a powerful and impeccably crafted novel by one of the most popular historical novelists around.

The Hidden Legacy

by Julie Roberts

A painting, a thief, a debt repaid A female artist in a man's world, Meredith Sanders is making her own way in life. But when she receives a legacy from her deceased guardian, she finds herself drawn into his criminal past and into danger. At first, businessman Adam Fox suspects Meredith of involvement in an art fraud relating to a missing Turner painting. Despite her fear of betrayal, she sees he is the only man she can turn to and trust. Together they try to find the painting and return it to the Royal Academy before the opening of the Summer Exhibition, leading Meredith into even deeper trouble. And whatever her feelings for Adam, Meredith cannot reveal the secrets of her own humble past... For readers of Nicola Cornick, and Stephanie Laurens, an exciting new voice in Regency romance.

Another Way Home

by Deborah Raney

"Grant and Audrey are adding grandchildren to their family left and right, but middle daughter, Danae, and her husband, Dallas Brooks, have been trying for years with no baby in sight. Though Danae is ready to consider adoption, Dallas will not even discuss it. Despairing of ever having a family of her own, Danae decides to pour her passion and energies into volunteer work with a newly opened women's shelter in town. Looking for a good cause to fill her lonely days, she never expects to give her heart to the hurting women she meets there. She's finally learning to live her life with gratitude, but then heart-wrenching events on Thanksgiving weekend threaten to pull the entire Whitman clan into turmoil--and leave them all forever changed."

Mothers, Fathers & Lovers

by Ruby Soames

Wonder what it is like to date an actor who hits the big time? Resentment, jealousy and that's just from your best friends.

The Secret Mother

by Victoria Dalerfield

Mai Ling is chasing the Chinese dream. She's escaping to the city, seeking a new life, running away from the old customs of arranged marriage and domestic drudgery.

What Lies in the Dark

by Cm Thompson

One murder can make a town nervous. Two brings fear. Add three, four and more, and watch neighbour turn on suspicious neighbour.

Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day

by Yvonne Barlow

Childbirth during the war and after years - homes had no phones, few cars and little heating. Many women begin their story with, "I've never told anyone this."

Rethink it!: Practical Ways to rid yourself of anger, depression, jealousy and other common problems

by Michael Cohen

Do you tell yourself, "I'm not good enough," or "Things are far too difficult, why should I even try?"

The Power of Accepting Yourself: How to feel better about who you are

by Michae Cohen

Do you always think you can't - whether it is passing an exam, finding a new job, maintaining a healthy weight or tackling any of life's problems? Michael Cohen can help you lose negative attitudes so that you can fully accept yourself, plan for the future and start to move forward in your life.

A Matter of Honour: The Story of England's Last Fatal Duel

by Martyn Beardsely

New details on this story of honour - was Isabella Seton blameless or did she draw the rich Seton into a fatal romance?

Once Upon a Time in the Sixties: London, Chelsea and the King's Road

by Peter Maddick

The King's Road, Chelsea; the trendy models and hip photographers; the ad men; the road to St. Tropez; the hippy trail from Kathmandu. And let's not forget what the sixties is really famous for - free love! Read to refresh your own memory or just learn about this amazing time in pop history.

Twelve Day Trips from London: For those who want to see more than the capital

by Dee Maldon

Venture out of London by train or bus and be back in your hotel room by evening. Visit Cambridge, Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon as well as small towns such as Ely or Winchester.

The Half-Slave

by Trevor Bloom

The Roman Empire is disintegrating and Germanic tribes are rising. One young man is sent to find out where trouble will rise. Ascha is a hostage of the Franks and struggles to survive. But when the Overlord offers to make him a free man if he will spy on his own people, he must summon all his courage to discover where his loyalties lie.

Terms

by Lyle Ben

12-year-old James hates life at his hippy boarding school where lessons are optional, homework forbidden and school rules decided by democratic vote. All he wants is an academic education with proper exams. When a strict new maths teacher strides into this world of peace, love and fringed ponchos, James latches onto him as a symbol of hope. At first, Mervyn's eccentricities seem comic but as a more tragic story unfolds, the adult James is forced to confront his own part in a grand downfall.

The China Bird

by Bryony Doran

A beauty and beast tale of secrecy and love explores our perceptions of beauty and abnormality.

Seven Days to Tell You

by Ruby Soames

Kate's husband leaves for work and doesn't come back. She spends three years searching for him until she wakes one day to find him asleep in her bed. He asks for seven days to prove his love. Is a week long enough to learn the truth?

The Partridge and the Pelican

by Rachel Crowther

Two girls find a baby abandoned in a phone box. The event later casts a shadow over their lives. When they meet again 25 years later, they are forced to confront actions that have remained hidden for so long.

Underground

by Gayle O'Brien

Underground chronicles two remarkable journeys - one across modern-day America and another through a country on the brink of its greatest historical change.

A Coin for the Hangman

by Ralph Spurrier

Booksellers never know what they might find in an estate sale. When our man finds the tools of one of England's last hangmen, along with the diary of a condemned man he executed - a diary that points the finger in a disturbing direction - he knows he has a mystery to solve. Was there a miscarriage of British justice? Did the wrong man die at the noose?

The Sand Eggs

by Bryony Doran

Bryony Doran's short stories carry a note of seductive isolation.

Tandem

by Alex Morgan

When Paula flees to a village in Scotland where she hopes to find anonymity. Instead she finds a community keen to know more about this new visitor.

The Sea Singer

by Shome Dasgupta

There was a voice once that sang the ocean to sleep... March is born in April, just as the sun is setting. A singing baby who cannot sleep, she sets Kolkaper on edge. The Town Council orders scientists to take her away and study her at the Cave Forest, a place for freaks like her. Acting quickly, March'sparents send her away to the distant town of Koofay. But March'sdestiny is tied to that of Kolkaper. She must return to save the city from itself. An enchanting fable about love and faith and accepting the odd ones among us.

Souper Mum

by Kristen Bailey

A fantastic debut novel that takes a refreshing look at family, modern life, and the joyless merits of quinoa. Monday morning can't get any worse for harassed mum-of-four Jools Campbell when, after a frantic school run, she's cornered in the supermarket by pompous celebrity chef Tommy McCoy, who starts criticising the contents of her trolley. Apparently the fact that she doesn't make her own bread or buy organic is tantamount to child abuse. In a hurry and short of patience, she berates McCoy for judging her when she hasn't the time or the money to feed her family in line with his elitist ideals. Unbeknownst to Jools, her rant has been filmed and immediately goes viral on YouTube, making her a reluctant celebrity overnight. With McCoy determined to discredit her by delving into her personal life, Jools decides it's time to fight her corner in the name of all the fraught mums out there who are fed up with being made to feel bad by food snobs like him. Armed with some fish fingers and her limited cooking repertoire, Jools must negotiate the unfamiliar world of celebrity while staying true to her instincts as a mum.

Showing 3,851 through 3,875 of 16,687 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.