Browse Results What Download Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 3 of 3 results

Cataract City

by Craig Davidson

Owen and Duncan are childhood friends who've grown up in picturesque Niagara Falls--known to them by the grittier name Cataract City. As the two know well, there's more to the bordertown than meets the eye: behind the gaudy storefronts and sidewalk vendors, past the hawkers of tourist T-shirts and cheap souvenirs live the real people who scrape together a living by toiling at the Bisk, the local cookie factory. And then there are the truly desperate, those who find themselves drawn to the borderline and a world of dog-racing, bare-knuckle fighting, and night-time smuggling. Owen and Duncan think they are different: both dream of escape, a longing made more urgent by a near-death incident in childhood that sealed their bond. But in adulthood their paths diverge, and as Duncan, the less privileged, falls deep into the town's underworld, he and Owen become reluctant adversaries at opposite ends of the law. At stake is not only survival and escape, but a lifelong friendship that can only be broken at an unthinkable price.

The Fighter

by Craig Davidson

#x1C;Fans of Palahniuk and Irvine Welsh will relish the graphic fight sequences and gritty social commentary. #x1D;-Rocky Mountain News #x1C;How to Allocate Your Free Time This Month[:] Devouring Craig Davidson#x19;s gruesome debut novel,The Fighter. #x1D;-Esquire #x1C;This is more than a stunning debut. It reminds me how vacuous, banal and insipid most highly-touted fiction is. Craig Davidson asks-and answers-some big, uncomfortable questions about the nature of our humanity. The Fighteris an essential novel, destined for cult status at the very least. #x1D;-Irvine Welsh #x1C;While the novel#x19;s brutal fights will entice readers of other virile allegories like Chuck Palahniuk#x19;sFight Club, Davidson#x19;s story takes a more nuanced, realistic approach. #x1D;-Kirkus Reviews Everything has been handed to Paul Harris, the son of a wealthy southern Ontario businessman. But after a vicious beating shakes his world, he descends into the realm of hardcore bodybuilders and boxing gyms, seeking to become a real man, reveling in suffering. Rob Tully, a working-class teenager from upstate New York, is a born boxer. He trains with his father and uncle, who believe a gift like his can change their lives, but he struggles under the weight of their expectations. Inevitably, these two young men#x19;s paths will cross. Craig Davidsonwas born in Toronto and now lives in Calgary, Alberta. He is the author of the acclaimed short story collectionRust and Bone, which was published by W. W. Norton in the United States, Penguin in Canada, Albin Michel in France, and Picador in the United Kingdom. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Fighter

by Craig Davidson

"Fans of Palahniuk and Irvine Welsh will relish the graphic fight sequences and gritty social commentary."--Rocky Mountain News "How to Allocate Your Free Time This Month[:] Devouring Craig Davidson's gruesome debut novel, The Fighter."--Esquire "This is more than a stunning debut. It reminds me how vacuous, banal and insipid most highly-touted fiction is. Craig Davidson asks--and answers--some big, uncomfortable questions about the nature of our humanity. The Fighter is an essential novel, destined for cult status at the very least."--Irvine Welsh "While the novel's brutal fights will entice readers of other virile allegories like Chuck Palahniuk's Fight Club, Davidson's story takes a more nuanced, realistic approach."--Kirkus Reviews Everything has been handed to Paul Harris, the son of a wealthy southern Ontario businessman. But after a vicious beating shakes his world, he descends into the realm of hardcore bodybuilders and boxing gyms, seeking to become a real man, reveling in suffering. Rob Tully, a working-class teenager from upstate New York, is a born boxer. He trains with his father and uncle, who believe a gift like his can change their lives, but he struggles under the weight of their expectations. Inevitably, these two young men's paths will cross. Craig Davidson was born in Toronto and now lives in Calgary, Alberta. He is the author of the acclaimed short story collection Rust and Bone, which was published by W.W. Norton in the United States, Penguin in Canada, Albin Michel in France, and Picador in the United Kingdom.From the Trade Paperback edition.

Showing 1 through 3 of 3 results

Help

Select your download format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. For more details, visit the Formats page under the Getting Started tab.

See and hear words read aloud
  • DAISY Text - See words on the screen and hear words being read aloud with the text-to-speech voice installed on your reading tool. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Can also be used in audio-only mode. Compatible with many reading tools, including Bookshare’s free reading tools.
  • DAISY Text with Images - Similar to DAISY Text with the addition of images within the Text. Your reading tool must support images.
  • Read Now with Bookshare Web Reader - Read and see images directly from your Internet browser without downloading! Text-to-speech voicing and word highlighting are available on Google Chrome (extension installation required). Other browsers can be used with limited features. Learn more
Listen to books with audio only
  • DAISY Audio - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Must be used with a DAISY Audio compatible reading tool.
  • MP3 - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate using tracks. Can be used with any MP3 player.
Read in Braille
  • BRF (Braille Ready Format) - Read with any BRF compatible refreshable braille display; navigate using the search or find feature.
  • DAISY Text - Read with any DAISY 3.0 compatible refreshable braille display, navigate by page, chapter, section, and more.
  • Embossed Braille - Use Bookshare’s DAISY Text or BRF formats to generate embossed braille.