Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 7 of 7 results

A Coalition of Lions

by Elizabeth Wein

Caught between two kingdoms, Princess Goewin must balance the demands of leadership with those of her own happinessWith her own kingdom in upheaval and her vicious aunt out for blood, Goewin, princess of Britain and daughter of High King Artos, flees to the British-allied African kingdom of Aksum. There, she meets with her fiancé, Constantine, Britain's ambassador to Aksum, who is next in line for the throne of Britain. But Aksum is undergoing its own political turmoil, and Goewin soon finds herself trapped between two countries, with the well-being of each at stake. When she learns of another heir to the British throne, she must handle the precarious situation with great care--for the sake of her own happiness as well as for the safety of her people. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.

Divergent Thinking

by Debra Driza Elizabeth Wein Leah Wilson Dan Krokos Maria Snyder

Veronica Roth's Divergent trilogy (Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant) has captured the hearts and thoughts of millions of readers. In Divergent Thinking, YA authors explore even more of Tris and Tobias' world, including: What Divergent's factions have in common with one of psychology's most prominent personality models The biology of fear: where it comes from and how Tris and the other Dauntless are able to overcome it Full-page maps locating all five faction headquarters and other series landmarks in today's Chicago, based on clues from the books Plus a whole lot more, from why we love identity shorthand like factions to Tris' trouble with honesty to the importance of choice, family, and being braveWith a dozen smart, surprising, mind-expanding essays on all three books in the trilogy, Divergent Thinking provides a companion fit for even the most Erudite Divergent fan.Contributor list:Elizabeth WeinMaria V. Snyder and Jenna SnyderV. ArrowJennifer Lynn BarnesMary BorsellinoRosemary Clement-MooreDebra DrizaJulia KarrDan KrokosElizabeth NorrisJanine K. SpendloveBlythe Woolston

The Empty Kingdom

by Elizabeth Wein

Imprisoned by Abreha and forced to help plan Aksum's invasion, Telemakos desperately tries to regain his freedomTelemakos, descendent of British and Aksumite royalty, has been accused of treason by Abreha, ruler of Himyar, and imprisoned on the upper levels of his twelve-story palace. Not only is Telemakos forbidden to see his beloved younger sister, Athena, but he is also forced to reproduce Aksumite maps in order to help Abreha plan an invasion. Lacking any way to communicate with his family in faraway Aksum, Telemakos must use all of his subtle talents to regain his freedom.This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.

The Lion Hunter

by Elizabeth Wein

Telemakos may have survived his capture in Afar, but his dangerous journey is far from over . . .Twelve-year-old Telemakos--the descendant of British and Aksumite royalty--is still recovering from his ordeal as a government spy in the Afar desert, where he uncovered the traitor who spread the plague through Aksum. But before Telemakos is fully healed, tragedy strikes. For their own safety, Telemakos and his infant sister, Athena, are sent to live with Abreha, the ruler of Himyar--a longtime enemy turned ally of the Aksumites. Telemakos's aunt Goewin, British ambassador to Aksum, warns him that Abreha is kind but dangerous. Telemakos promises he will be mindful--but he does not realize just how serious Goewin's warnings will prove to be.This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.

The Sunbird

by Elizabeth Wein

A deadly plague rages through Aksum, and only one boy can uncover the traitor who spreads the disease and threatens to destroy the kingdomTelemakos, a descendant of both British and Aksumite rulers, has always been an outcast, but his resolve, loyalty, and bravery have never failed his royal heritage. When a plague spreads through the kingdom of Aksum, his aunt Goewin, British ambassador to Aksum, calls upon Telemakos to travel to the Afar desert and discover who has been a traitor to the crown, spreading the plague through the shipment of salt from port to port.Traveling in disguise as a deaf-mute slave, Telemakos is captured and subjected to cruelty and suffering. Now more than ever, he must call on his extraordinary courage and his gift for silence--for if he fails, it will cost him his life.This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.

Taking Aim

by Joyce Carol Oates Will Weaver Ron Koertge Walter Dean Myers Marc Aronson Chris Crutcher Francesca Lia Block Alex Flinn Gregory Galloway Tim Wynne-Jones Michael Cart Chris Lynch Peter Johnson Edward Averett Jenny Hubbard Eric Shanower Elizabeth Wein

Powerful, riveting, and real. Sixteen celebrated authors bring us raw, insightful stories that explore guns and teens in a fiction collection that is thought provoking and emotionally gripping. For fans of Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock and Give a Boy a Gun, and with an array of YA talent like the late great Walter Dean Myers, the poetic Joyce Carol Oates, the prophetic Elizabeth Wein, and the gritty Chris Crutcher, these are evocative voices that each has a different perspective to give. Capturing the hurt and the healing, victims and perpetrators, these stories get to the heart of the matter.From a boy whose low self-esteem is impacted when a gun comes into his possession to a student recalling a senseless tragedy that befell a favorite teacher, from a realistic look at hunting to a provocative look at a family that defies stereotypes, each emotional story stirs the debate to new levels. The juxtaposition of guns and their consequences offers moving tales, each a reminder of how crucial the question of guns in our society is, and the impact they have on all of us.Other acclaimed contributors are Marc Aronson, Edward Averett, Francesca Lia Block, Alex Flinn, Gregory Galloway, Jenny Hubbard, Peter Johnson, Ron Koertge, Chris Lynch, Eric Shanower, Will Weaver, and Tim Wynne-Jones.

The Winter Prince

by Elizabeth Wein

Strong, brave, and daring, Medraut would be a fitting heir to the throne--but he can never be kingMedraut is the eldest son of High King Artos, and would-be heir to the British throne--if not for an unfortunate circumstance of birth. Instead, his weak and unskilled half-brother, Lleu, is chosen as successor. Medraut cannot bear the thought of being ruled by the boy who has taken what he believes is rightfully his. Consumed by jealousy, he turns to Morgause, the high king's treacherous sister, who exploits Medraut's shame and plots to take over the throne. But when Medraut discovers Lleu's inner strength and goodness, he finds his battle is not just with the kingdom, but with the demons inside himself. Now he must choose where his allegiances truly lie. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.

Showing 1 through 7 of 7 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.