Browse Results What Download Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 10 of 10 results

Ancient Greece

by William Caper Margaret Mcnamara

Learn about ancient Greek culture and how it helped shape the art, ideas, words, and stories of the modern world. (Set of 6 with Teacher's Guide and Comprehension Question Card)

The Apple Orchard Riddle

by Margaret Mcnamara G. Brian Karas

Mr. Tiffin and his students from the perenially popular How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin? are back in this picture book about a school trip to an apple orchard! In this playful, humorous, and child-friendly classroom story, the students learn a lot about apples and apple orchards--including how apples are harvested, how cider is made, and what the different varieties of apples are--while trying to solve a riddle. The book also celebrates how some children learn differently than others. Margaret McNamara and illustrator G. Brian Karas bring us another fun and educational picture book.

The Fairy Bell Sisters #1: Sylva and the Fairy Ball

by Margaret Mcnamara

With Sylva and the Fairy Ball, Margaret McNamara launches the Fairy Bell Sisters, an enchanting new chapter-book series. The books feature Tinker Bell's little sisters and are a must-read for lovers of the Rainbow Fairies and Disney Fairies stories. Clara Bell, Golden Bell, Rosy Bell, Sylva Bell, and baby Squeak are fairy sisters who live on Sheepskerry Island. Usually Sylva and her sisters get along just fine--until the week of the Fairy Ball. Sylva has her heart set on going--she'll get to wear magical diamond wings and walk on beautiful satin ribbons under the stars! But fairies must be at least eight years old to attend, and poor Sylva's birthday is the day after the ball. But before the night is over, Sylva's big sisters will need her to come to their rescue. Charming illustrations by Julia Denos bring the world of fairies to life.

The Fairy Bell Sisters #2: Rosy and the Secret Friend

by Margaret Mcnamara

Margaret McNamara tells the stories of Tinker Bell's little sisters in her charming chapter-book series, the Fairy Bell Sisters. Readers of the Disney Fairies and Rainbow Fairies series will adore these magical fairy tales. In the second book in the series, Rosy and the Secret Friend, it's summertime, and the island cottages are taken over by the Summer People. The fairies are supposed to stay in hiding, away from the big, scary humans. But one Summer Child, Louisa, is sick and lonely. Kindhearted Rosy knows just what to do to make her feel better. Soon Rosy and Louisa are secret friends! How can Rosy keep such a big secret from her very own sisters? Whimsical illustrations by Julia Denos make these books a magical read.

The Fairy Bell Sisters #3: Golden at the Fancy-Dress Party

by Margaret Mcnamara

For fans of Rainbow Magic Fairies and Disney Fairies comes the third book in the Fairy Bell Sisters, a magical and utterly charming chapter-book series about Tinker Bells little sisters, by Margaret McNamara. In Golden at the Fancy-Dress Party, Goldie travels to the mainland for Queen Titanias annual fancy-dress competition. But the mainland is so different from Sheepskerry Island--her host fairies are rather unfriendly and even play a mean trick on Goldie when they realize she has trouble reading. And Goldie feels out of place without her sisters by her side. She will have to use her creativity and quick thinking to turn the party from disaster to success. Julia Denos once again graces this delightful text with her girly and energetic illustrations.

The Fairy Bell Sisters #4: Clara and the Magical Charms

by Margaret Mcnamara Julia Denos

Aspiring young fairies who adore Rainbow Magic and Disney Fairies will delight in the fourth magical installment in Margaret McNamara's Fairy Bell Sisters series, about Tinker Bell's little sisters.All the fairies on Sheepskerry Island look up to Clara Bell. Clara can do anything, which is why the younger Bell sisters--Rosy, Goldie, Sylva, and Squeak--are so proud of her. But when Clara starts to grow into her magical powers, things get a little bumpy. At first it's fun to practice her charms, especially since a colony of gnomes is visiting Sheepskerry Island for the Valentine's Games . . . and one of them, Rowan, seems to like her--very much. But when Clara and Rowan are faced with very serious trouble, Clara tries to do magic that's too hard for her--way too hard for her. Will she have to pay a terrible price?Julia Denos sprinkles her signature fairy dust on each and every page, bringing the illustrations of the Fairy Bell Sisters to life.

Fall Leaf Project

by Margaret Mcnamara

The first-graders of Robin Hill School love to look at all the different fall leaves. When they hear that in some states the leaves don't change color, they come up with a plan to share fall with other first-graders.

George Washington's Birthday

by Margaret Mcnamara Barry Blitt

From award-winning author Margaret McNamara and New Yorker artist Barry Blitt comes this partly true and completely funny story of George Washington's 7th birthday. In this clever approach to history, readers will discover the truths and myths about George Washington. Did George Washington wear a wig? No. Did George Washington cut down a cherry tree? Probably not. Readers young and old who are used to seeing George Washington as an old man, will get a new look at the first president--as a kid. Perfect for classrooms, Presidents' Day, or as a birthday gift.From the Hardcover edition.

How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin?

by Margaret Mcnamara

"How many seeds in a pumpkin?" Mr. Tiffin asks his class as they gather around the big, medium, and small pumpkins on his desk. Robert, the biggest kid, guesses that the largest one has a million seeds; Elinor, sounding like she knows what she's talking about, guesses the medium one has 500 seeds; and Anna, who likes even numbers better than odd ones, guesses that the little one has 22. Charlie, the smallest boy in the class, doesn't have a guess. Counting pumpkin seeds is messy business, but once the slimy job is done, to everyone's surprise, the smallest pumpkin has the most seeds! As Charlie happily exclaims, "Small things have a lot going on inside of them."

The Three Little Aliens and the Big Bad Robot

by Mark Fearing Margaret Mcnamara

GREEP BOINK MEEP! The three little aliens are happily settling into their new homes when the Big Bad Robot flies in to crack and smack and whack their houses down! A chase across the solar system follows in this out-of-this-world version of the classic Three Little Pigs tale. Margaret McNamara (How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin?) and Mark Fearing (The Book that Eats People) have created a humorous and visually stunning story that kids will adore--and that will introduce them to the planets and the solar system. The endpapers even include a labeled diagram of all the planets.From the Hardcover edition.

Showing 1 through 10 of 10 results

Help

Select your download format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. For more details, visit the Formats page under the Getting Started tab.

See and hear words read aloud
  • DAISY Text - See words on the screen and hear words being read aloud with the text-to-speech voice installed on your reading tool. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Can also be used in audio-only mode. Compatible with many reading tools, including Bookshare’s free reading tools.
  • DAISY Text with Images - Similar to DAISY Text with the addition of images within the Text. Your reading tool must support images.
  • Read Now with Bookshare Web Reader - Read and see images directly from your Internet browser without downloading! Text-to-speech voicing and word highlighting are available on Google Chrome (extension installation required). Other browsers can be used with limited features. Learn more
Listen to books with audio only
  • DAISY Audio - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate by page, chapter, section, and more. Must be used with a DAISY Audio compatible reading tool.
  • MP3 - Listen to books in audio-only mode with the high-quality Kendra voice by Ivona pre-installed. Navigate using tracks. Can be used with any MP3 player.
Read in Braille
  • BRF (Braille Ready Format) - Read with any BRF compatible refreshable braille display; navigate using the search or find feature.
  • DAISY Text - Read with any DAISY 3.0 compatible refreshable braille display, navigate by page, chapter, section, and more.
  • Embossed Braille - Use Bookshare’s DAISY Text or BRF formats to generate embossed braille.