Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 2 of 2 results

Arnie and a House Full of Company

by Margarete S. Corbo Diane M. Barras

The wonderful true, new story of Arnie, the famous talking starling. When Margarete returns to Cape Cod with Arnie and the three cats after a ten-year absence, she finds the family homestead so overgrown she has to prune their way to the front door. The house that had been full of love and laughter is now a lifeless shell, except for the ghost of Margarete's father in the bedroom. But, determined to make the house a home again, Margarete seeks out friends, old and new, animal and human--Edelweiss the skunk, Manx the tailless squirrel, Ekaterina the dying countess, April the neighbor who has lost her son. Soon Margarete and Arnie have filled their nest so well they begin to wonder whether there is such a thing as too much company. The first Arnie book was a story of breaking away, of letting go of dreams gone bad. The new one is a story of putting down new roots in old places. It says you can go home again.

Arnie, the Darling Starling

by Margarete S. Corbo Diane M. Barras

This true story of a talking starling and the grandmother who raised him is as heartwarming a book as you will ever read-a new classic in the tradition of Rascal, Born Free, and That Quail, Robert. When Margarete first came upon Arnie, he was just a familiar springtime sight: a baby bird lying helpless in the daisy patch. After unsuccessfully trying to return him to his nest, she took him into her Texas home and raised him as carefully as she had raised her own child, teaching him to perch, to fly, even to talk. Arnie resisted all attempts to restore him to the wild, preferring steak and canned corn to worms, which frightened him, and even developing a taste for wine. Most astonishing of all, he learned to talk and sing, and he had a remarkable influence on a number of lives. Lenny, the young drug addict, paused on the road to self-destruction, so enthralled by Arnie that he carried a dog-eared picture of him in his wallet. Suzanne, the Vietnamese refugee, learned from Arnie that the wrong home can be a prison and fled to Colorado to start a happier, new life. Marguerette also learned that change could be a good thing from that little bird.

Showing 1 through 2 of 2 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the "Using Bookshare" page in the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivona's Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.