Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 4 of 4 results

The Four Ms. Bradwells

by Meg Waite Clayton

BONUS: This edition contains a The Four Ms. Bradwells discussion guide and excerpts from Meg Waite Clayton's The Wednesday Sisters and The Language of Light.Meg Waite Clayton's national bestseller The Wednesday Sisters was a word-of-mouth sensation and book club favorite. Now the beloved author is back with a page-turning novel that explores the secrets we keep, even from those closest to us, and celebrates the enduring power of friendship. Mia, Laney, Betts, and Ginger, best friends since law school, have reunited for a long weekend as Betts awaits Senate confirmation of her appointment to the Supreme Court. Nicknamed "the Ms. Bradwells" during their first class at the University of Michigan Law School in 1979--when only three women had ever served full Senate terms and none had been appointed to the Court--the four have supported one another through life's challenges: marriages and divorces, births and deaths, career setbacks and triumphs large and small. Betts was, and still is, the Funny One. Ginger, the Rebel. Laney, the Good Girl. And Mia, the Savant. But when the Senate hearings uncover a deeply buried skeleton in the friends' collective closet, the Ms. Bradwells retreat to a summer house on the Chesapeake Bay, where they find themselves reliving a much darker period in their past--one that stirs up secrets they've kept for, and from, one another, and could change their lives forever. Once again, Meg Waite Clayton writes inspiringly about the complex circumstances facing women and the heartfelt friendships that hold them together. Insightful and affecting, The Four Ms. Bradwells is also a captivating tale of how far people will go to protect the ones they love.

The Language of Light

by Meg Waite Clayton

FINALIST FOR THE BELLWETHER PRIZENelly Grace is starting over. With her two young sons, Nelly has fled to the simple stone house built by her great-grandfather in the moneyed horse country of Maryland in order to escape the grief of her husband's death--and perhaps find a way back to her first love: photography. Easing her transition into this strange, mannered world is Emma Crofton, the grand matriarch of the foxhunting community, and Emma's son, Dac, a handsome yet distant horse trainer. As Nelly slowly makes her way back to the camera, she must come to terms with her troubled relationship with her father, a photojournalist who chose fame over family. But when she finally sees him again, Nelly's fragile new beginning is threatened by revelations of a secret past, and the fears that kept it hidden. Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more. RandomHouseReadersCircle.comFrom the Trade Paperback edition.

The Wednesday Daughters

by Meg Waite Clayton

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Folwer, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations. It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England's pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally--one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters--had used the cottage as a writer's retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother's time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls in The Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They've come to help Hope sort through her mother's personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history--one steeped in Lake District lore. Hope finds a stack of Ally's old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally's writings--the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript--they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope's doubts about her marriage, Julie's grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page's fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally's stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.Advance praise for The Wednesday Daughters "A bewitching escape of a novel . . . The characters became my beloved companions. I never wanted it to end."--Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Day "The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton's winning follow-up to The Wednesday Sisters. Every layer of the novel delivers. The Wednesday Daughters is utterly rich and satisfying."--Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife "A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption . . . The characters' secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising."--J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author of Commencement, Maine, and The Engagements "Charming, thoughtful and atmospheric, The Wednesday Daughters is a jewel of a book. It's told with a deep and lovely understanding of generational ties, and it celebrates what ultimately matters most."--Sarah Addison Allen, New York Times bestselling author of The Peach Keeper"With delicate, precise strokes, Meg Waite Clayton illustrates and explores the intricate effect of the secrets we keep, even from those we love. This is the perfect novel for every mother, daughter and sister to read, savor, and discuss over a pot of tea."--Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator's Wife "What a rich book! Meg Waite Clayton reveals so much about our most vital human connections: the relationships that infuriate us, challenge us, make us happy, make us whole."--Marisa de los Santos, New York Times bestselling author of Love Walked In and Falling TogetherFrom the Hardcover edition.

The Wednesday Sisters

by Meg Waite Clayton

Friendship, loyalty, and love lie at the heart of Meg Waite Clayton's beautifully written, poignant, and sweeping novel of five women who, over the course of four decades, come to redefine what it means to be family.For thirty-five years, Frankie, Linda, Kath, Brett, and Ally have met every Wednesday at the park near their homes in Palo Alto, California. Defined when they first meet by what their husbands do, the young homemakers and mothers are far removed from the Summer of Love that has enveloped most of the Bay Area in 1967. These "Wednesday Sisters" seem to have little in common: Frankie is a timid transplant from Chicago, brutally blunt Linda is a remarkable athlete, Kath is a Kentucky debutante, quiet Ally has a secret, and quirky, ultra-intelligent Brett wears little white gloves with her miniskirts. But they are bonded by a shared love of both literature-Fitzgerald, Eliot, Austen, du Maurier, Plath, and Dickens-and the Miss America Pageant, which they watch together every year.As the years roll on and their children grow, the quintet forms a writers circle to express their hopes and dreams through poems, stories, and, eventually, books. Along the way, they experience history in the making: Vietnam, the race for the moon, and a women's movement that challenges everything they have ever thought about themselves, while at the same time supporting one another through changes in their personal lives brought on by infidelity, longing, illness, failure, and success.Humorous and moving, The Wednesday Sisters is a literary feast for book lovers that earns a place among those popular works that honor the joyful, mysterious, unbreakable bonds between friends.From the Hardcover edition.

Showing 1 through 4 of 4 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the "Using Bookshare" page in the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivona's Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.