Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 6 of 6 results

The Arizona Kid

by Ron Koertge

Sixteen-year-old Billy spends the summer with his gay uncle in Tucson and works at a racetrack, where he falls in love with an outspoken horse exerciser named Cara Mae.

The Brimstone Journals

by Ron Koertge

In a series of short interconnected poems, students at a high school nicknamed Brimstone reveal the violence existing and growing in their lives.

How Beautiful the Ordinary: Twelve Stories of Identity

by Emma Donoghue Ron Koertge Julie Anne Peters David Levithan Francesca Lia Block Michael Cart Jennifer Finney Boylan Eric Shanower William Sleater

A girl thought to be a boy steals her sister's skirt, while a boy thought to be a girl refuses to wear a cornflower blue dress. One boy's love of a soldier leads to the death of a stranger. The present takes a bittersweet journey into the past when a man revisits the summer school where he had "an accidental romance." And a forgotten mother writes a poignant letter to the teenage daughter she hasn't seen for fourteen years. Poised between the past and the future are the stories of now. In nontraditional narratives, short stories, and brief graphics, tales of anticipation and regret, eagerness and confusion present distinctively modern views of love, sexuality, and gender identification. Together, they reflect the vibrant possibilities available for young people learning to love others--and themselves--in today's multifaceted and quickly changing world.

Sadie's Story

by Ron Koertge Christine Heppermann Deborah Marcero

Oh no.This is the worst.The worst of the worst.Sadie's two very best friends,Maya and Jess, are going onvacation--together--and leavingSadie behind.All alone.But wait . . .Who's brewing a minor hex ina cauldron in Sadie's backyardplayhouse?Maybe Sadie isn't so alone,after all.And a little magic might beexactly what Sadie needs.The first book in the curious adventures of the Backyard Witch!hout by debut artist Deborah Marcero make this an ideal pick for readers of Ivy + Bean, Just Grace, and Kate DiCamillo's novels for younger readers.

Stoner and Spaz

by Ron Koertge

FOR SIXTEEN-YEAR-OLD BEN BANCROFT a kid with cerebral palsy, no parents, and an overprotective grandmother, happiness is, watching Bride of Frankenstein for the umpteenth time.

Taking Aim

by Joyce Carol Oates Will Weaver Ron Koertge Walter Dean Myers Marc Aronson Chris Crutcher Francesca Lia Block Alex Flinn Gregory Galloway Tim Wynne-Jones Michael Cart Chris Lynch Peter Johnson Edward Averett Jenny Hubbard Eric Shanower Elizabeth Wein

Powerful, riveting, and real. Sixteen celebrated authors bring us raw, insightful stories that explore guns and teens in a fiction collection that is thought provoking and emotionally gripping. For fans of Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock and Give a Boy a Gun, and with an array of YA talent like the late great Walter Dean Myers, the poetic Joyce Carol Oates, the prophetic Elizabeth Wein, and the gritty Chris Crutcher, these are evocative voices that each has a different perspective to give. Capturing the hurt and the healing, victims and perpetrators, these stories get to the heart of the matter.From a boy whose low self-esteem is impacted when a gun comes into his possession to a student recalling a senseless tragedy that befell a favorite teacher, from a realistic look at hunting to a provocative look at a family that defies stereotypes, each emotional story stirs the debate to new levels. The juxtaposition of guns and their consequences offers moving tales, each a reminder of how crucial the question of guns in our society is, and the impact they have on all of us.Other acclaimed contributors are Marc Aronson, Edward Averett, Francesca Lia Block, Alex Flinn, Gregory Galloway, Jenny Hubbard, Peter Johnson, Ron Koertge, Chris Lynch, Eric Shanower, Will Weaver, and Tim Wynne-Jones.

Showing 1 through 6 of 6 results


Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the "Using Bookshare" page in the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivona's Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.