Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 14 of 14 results

Boolar’s Big Day Out

by Sally Gardner

After Boolar is asked to join a puppet theater he forgets about the dolls and mice who have been his family, until a crisis helps him regain perspective.

The Countess's Calamity

by Sally Gardner

Five dolls, abandoned in a park, are rescued by Mr. and Mrs. Mouse, who provide a home for them and protect them through various adventures despite the horrible behavior of the doll called the Countess.

The Double Shadow

by Sally Gardner

In the wasteland it is eternal day, no clocks mark the passing hours. In 1937 clouds of war gather over Britain. Fifteen-year-old Ezra meets the rich, beautiful and undeniably spoiled Amaryllis Ruben, recently expelled from boarding school. Amaryllis has been playing the rebel since she was nine years old and Ezra is both disturbed and enchanted by her. But Amaryllis is hiding a secret even she does not understand. On the grounds of her father Arnold's decadent mansion a memory machine take shape. Despite Arnold's brash playboy exterior Arnold Ruben is seeking to master time. But time is running out for him. And then, on her 17th birthday, Amaryllis vanishes. The years that follow reverberate with the events of that summer's day. As Britain is shaken by war Ezra pieces together the fragments of his shattered memory in the name of love, loss and hope.

I, Coriander

by Sally Gardner

From the book jacket: I have lit the first of seven candles to write my story by. My name is Coriander Hobie, and I have a great many things to tell-of silver shoes that tempted me and an alligator most rare; of London, the home of my childhood, and another, stranger land, one that I thought only existed in dreams; and of an ebony box whose treasure only now am I beginning to understand. The box was once my mother's, but its secrets were meant for me. This being my story and a fairy tale besides, I will start once upon a time . .

The Invisible Boy

by Sally Gardner

When his parents are lost in space, Sam finds a tiny spaceship and an alien called Splodge. How Splodge makes him invisible, and how Sam uses his new talent in his darkest hour, makes a touching and a funny story with lovely memorable characters.

Maggot Moon

by Sally Gardner Julian Crouch

What if the football hadn't gone over the wall. On the other side of the wall there is a dark secret. And the devil. And the Moon Man. And the Motherland doesn't want anyone to know. But Standish Treadwell -- who has different-colored eyes, who can't read, can't write, Standish Treadwell isn't bright -- sees things differently than the rest of the "train-track thinkers." So when Standish and his only friend and neighbor, Hector, make their way to the other side of the wall, they see what the Motherland has been hiding. And it's big...One hundred very short chapters, told in an utterly original first-person voice, propel readers through a narrative that is by turns gripping and darkly humorous, bleak and chilling, tender and transporting.

Magical Kids II: The Smallest Girl Ever and The Boy Who Could Fly

by Sally Gardner

Sally Gardner expands her Magical Kids series with two more delightfully quirky chapter books, packaged together in this fun "flip" format for twice the magic! Fans of Judy Moody and My Weird School are sure to snatch this one up!

The Red Necklace

by Sally Gardner

The winds of change are blowing through Paris in the winter of 1789, both for France and for our hero, a striking and mysterious Gypsy boy named Yann Margoza. He was born with a gift for knowing what people are thinking and an uncanny ability to throw his voice, and he has been using those skills while working for a rather foolish magician. That work will soon end, however, and on the night of the magician's final performance, Yann's life will truly begin. That's the night he meets shy Sido, an heiress with a cold-hearted father, a young girl who has only known loneliness until now. Though they have the shortest of conversations, an attachment is born that will influence both their paths. And what paths those will be! While Revolution is afoot in France, Sido is being used as the pawn of a fearful villain who goes by the name Count Kalliovski. Some have instead called him the devil, and only Yann, for Sido's sake, will dare to oppose him.

The Red Necklace: A Story of the French Revolution

by Sally Gardner

An exciting, romantic novel set against the feverish backdrop of the French Revolution. Clever and head-turningly attractive, fourteen-year-old Yann is an orphan who has been raised in Paris by Têtu, a dwarf with secrets he has yet to reveal to the gypsy boy. It''s the winter of 1789, and the duo have been working for a vain magician named Topolain. On the night when Topolain's vanity brings his own death, Yann's life truly begins. That's the night he meets shy Sido, an heiress with an ice-cold father, a young girl who has only known loneliness until now. Though they have the shortest of conversations, an attachment is born that will influence both their paths. And what paths those will be! Revolution is afoot in France, and Sido is being used as a pawn. Only Yann will dare to rescue her, and he'll be up against a fearful villain who goes by the name Count Kalliovski, but who has often been called the devil. It''ll take all of Yann's newly discovered talent to unravel the mysteries of his past and Sido's and to fight the devilish count.As in the award-winning I, Coriander, Sally Gardner has masterfully combined the historical and the fantastical in this sumptuous, riveting adventure.

The Silver Blade

by Sally Gardner

As she did in "The Red Necklace" and the award-winning "I, Coriander," Gardner spins an epic tale that combines a vivid sense of history, characters full of Dickensian drama and fascination, and a sizzling adventure with touches of magic and romance.

The Silver Blade

by Sally Gardner

A mysterious boy is the focus of a novel that takes us from the September Massacres of 1792 to the death of Robespierre four years later. After rescuing Sido, the young daughter of an aristocrat, he flees to England, making secret journeys back to France to smuggle out refugees. He and Sido fall in love - but then she is kidnapped, and he needs all his courage and skill to rescue her a second time. Even then the young lovers are not safe, for our hero learns who he really is, and how can Sido marry him?The horrors of the French Revolution make a dazzlingly vivid setting for a tale of high adventure that is also a most touching love story. The first book, complete in itself, leaves the reader longing to know what happened next - the second book concludes the story of Sido and this wonderful charismatic young man who shows true heroism.

The Silver Blade

by Sally Gardner

With his beloved Sido safely in England and the Reign of Terror at its height, mysterious Yann returns to revolutionary France to smuggle out aristocratic refugees who will otherwise face the guillotine. But while the two are apart, YannÕs Gypsy origins prejudice SidoÕs guardian against their marriage, spoiling their reunion. When Sido is kidnapped under strange circumstances, Yann must use all his strength and courage to outwit the evil count, rescue Sido, and save all of France.

The Smallest Girl Ever

by Sally Gardner

Ruby Genie is an orphan. Everyone expects her to have the same fantastic magical powers as her famous parents did, but Ruby can't do any magic at all - or so she thinks. and feels a complete failure. Then she begins to get smaller and smaller.

Strongest Girl in the World

by Sally Gardner

What happens when a small girl finds she can lift something as big as a bus... The first of an enchanting series about children empowered by magical gifts.

Showing 1 through 14 of 14 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the "Using Bookshare" page in the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivona's Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.