Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 1 through 3 of 3 results

A Naked Singularity

by Sergio De La Pava

A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center.

Personae

by Sergio De La Pava

Sergio De La Pava s "A Naked Singularity" was one of the most highly praised debut novels in decades. The "Wall Street Journal" called it a propulsive, mind-bending experience, and named it one of the ten best books of the year. The "Toronto Star" did the same, calling it a great American novel: large, ambitious, and full of talk. In "Slate," Paul Ford proclaimed, It s a fine thing for an author to bring forth something so unapologetically maximalist. This book is nothing like that one. Just look at it: "A Naked Singularity "was a brick of a book, 678 pages, and this one s slim--lean and focused. "A Naked Singularity" locked us into the unforgettable voice of its protagonist, Casi, while "Personae "shimmers and shifts among different perspectives, locations, and narrative techniques. But sharp readers will quickly see that the two books are the work of the same hand. The sheer energy of De La Pava s sentences, his eye for absurd humor, his commitment to the idea of justice--all will be familiar here as they carry us from the tale of an obsessive, damaged psychic detective consumed by a murder case, into a Sartrean drama that raises questions (and jokes) about responsibility, fate, death, and more. And when De La Pava eventually returns us to the investigation, this time seen from the other side, the lives and deaths bound up in it feel all the more real, and moving, even as solid answers slip away into mist. "Shelf Awareness "declared that "A Naked Singularity" "heralded the arrival of a tremendous talent. " In some ways, despite its brevity, "Personae" is even more surprising and challenging--and, in its ambition and fierce intelligence, it s proof that Sergio De La Pava is here to stay. "

Personae

by Sergio De La Pava

Sergio De La Pava's A Naked Singularity was one of the most highly praised debut novels in decades. The Wall Street Journal called it "a propulsive, mind-bending experience," and named it one of the ten best books of the year. The Toronto Star did the same, calling it "a great American novel: large, ambitious, and full of talk. " In Slate, Paul Ford proclaimed,"It's a fine thing for an author to bring forth something so unapologetically maximalist. " This book is nothing like that one. Just look at it: A Naked Singularity was a brick of a book, 678 pages, and this one's slim--lean and focused. A Naked Singularity locked us into the unforgettable voice of its protagonist, Casi, while Personae shimmers and shifts among different perspectives, locations, and narrative techniques. But sharp readers will quickly see that the two books are the work of the same hand. The sheer energy of De La Pava's sentences, his eye for absurd humor, his commitment to the idea of justice--all will be familiar here as they carry us from the tale of an obsessive, damaged psychic detective consumed by a murder case, into a Sartrean drama that raises questions (and jokes) about responsibility, fate, death, and more. And when De La Pava eventually returns us to the investigation, this time seen from the other side, the lives and deaths bound up in it feel all the more real, and moving, even as solid answers slip away into mist. Shelf Awareness declared that A Naked Singularity "heralded the arrival of a tremendous talent. " In some ways, despite its brevity, Personae is even more surprising and challenging--and, in its ambition and fierce intelligence, it's proof that Sergio De La Pava is here to stay.

Showing 1 through 3 of 3 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the "Using Bookshare" page in the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivona's Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.