Special Collections

The Ultimate YA Summer Reading List

Description: Fast-paced young adult reads to check off the summer list


Showing 1 through 10 of 10 results

Ship Breaker

by Paolo Bacigalupi

In America's Gulf Coast region, where grounded oil tankers are being broken down for parts, Nailer, a teenage boy, works the light crew, scavenging for copper wiring just to make quota--and hopefully live to see another day.

Date Added: 05/03/2017


The Boy in the Black Suit

by Jason Reynolds

Soon after his mother's death, Matt takes a job at a funeral home in his tough Brooklyn neighborhood and, while attending and assisting with funerals, begins to accept her death and his responsibilities as a man.

Date Added: 05/03/2017


Everything, Everything

by Nicola Yoon

If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world, and Olly, the boy who moves in next door... and becomes the greatest risk she’s ever taken.

Date Added: 05/03/2017


This Is Where It Ends

by Marieke Nijkamp

10:00 a.m.The principal of Opportunity, Alabama's high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.10:02 a.m.

Date Added: 05/03/2017


Moon Chosen: Tales of a New World

by P. C. Cast

#1 New York Times bestselling author of the House of Night series, P.C. Cast, brings us a new epic fantasy set in a world where humans, their animal allies, and the earth itself has been drastically changed.

Date Added: 05/03/2017


Carve the Mark

by Veronica Roth

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

Date Added: 05/03/2017


King's Cage

by Victoria Aveyard

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl's spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Date Added: 05/03/2017


The Hate U Give

by Angie Thomas

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Angie Thomas’s searing debut about an ordinary girl in extraordinary circumstances addresses issues of racism and police violence with intelligence, heart, and unflinching honesty.

Date Added: 05/03/2017


Overturned

by Lamar Giles

Nikki Tate is infamous, even by Las Vegas standards. Her dad is sitting on death row, convicted of killing his best friend in a gambling dispute turned ugly. And for five years, he's maintained his innocence. But Nikki wants no part of that.

Date Added: 05/03/2017


Strange the Dreamer

by Laini Taylor

A new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy.

Date Added: 05/03/2017



Showing 1 through 10 of 10 results