Special Collections

AFB Braille Bug® Reading Club Favorites

Description: Bookshare is pleased to offer the following titles from the American Foundation for the Blind Braille Bug Reading Club's list of favorites. #kids


Showing 26 through 35 of 35 results

The Bravest Dog Ever

by Natalie Standiford

Recounts the life of Balto, the sled dog who braved a snowstorm to deliver medicine to Nome, Alaska, during a 1925 diphtheria epidemic.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Fudge-a-Mania

by Judy Blume

From Judy Blume, bestselling author of Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing!Fans young and old will laugh out loud at the irrepressible wit of Peter Hatcher, the hilarious antics of mischievous Fudge, and the unbreakable confidence of know-it-all Sheila Tubman in Judy Blume's five Fudge books. Brand-new covers adorn these perennial favorites, and will entice a whole new generation of Fudge--and Judy Blume--fans."As a kid, Judy Blume was my favorite author, and Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing was my favorite book."--Jeff Kinney, author of the bestselling Wimpy Kid seriesFrom the Trade Paperback edition.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Pippi Longstocking

by Astrid Lindgren

Tommy and his sister, Annika, have a new neighbor, and her name is Pippi Longstocking. She is spunky with crazy red pigtails, no parents to tell her what to do, a horse that lives on her porch, and a pet monkey named Mr. Nilsson. Whether Pippi's scrubbing floors, doing arithmetic, or stirring things up at a fancy tea party, her flair for the outrageous always seems to lead to another adventure.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Shipwrecked! The True Adventures of a Japanese Boy

by Rhoda Blumberg

Based on a true story. In 1841 rescued by an American whaler, after being stranded on a deserted island with friends, 14-year-old Manjiro becomes the first Japanese person to visit the United States.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Strawberry Girl

by Lois Lenski

How can Birdie's family grow strawberries when the neighbors let their cows into the berry fields?

Birdie and her family are trying to build a farm in Florida. But it's not easy with the heat, droughts, and cold snaps--and neighbors that don't believe in fences. But Birdie won't give up on her dream of strawberries, and her family won't let those Slaters drive them from their home!

This Newberry Medal-winning novel presents a realistic picture of life on the Florida frontier.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Sarah, Plain and Tall

by Patricia Maclachlan

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Newbery Medal Winner

Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Story of My Life

by Helen Keller

Helen Keller's autobiography.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Uncommon Traveler

by Don Brown

Biography of a 19th-century Englishwoman who, after a secluded childhood, traveled alone through unexplored West Africa in 1893-1894, learning much about the area and its people.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Hatchet

by Gary Paulsen

This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared--and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is on his way to visit his father when the single-engine plane in which he is flying crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but a tattered Windbreaker and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present--and the dreadful secret that has been tearing him apart since his parent's divorce. But now Brian has no time for anger, self pity, or despair--it will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed, to survive.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Out of Darkness

by Russell Freedman

A biography of the 19th century Frenchman who developed Braille. The book spans Braille's life from childhood through his days at the Royal Institute for Blind Youth and into his final years, when the alphabet he invented was finally gaining acceptance.

Date Added: 05/25/2017



Showing 26 through 35 of 35 results