Special Collections

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Winners

Description: The Jane Addams Childrens' Book Awards are given annually to those books of exceptional quality which promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races.

Showing 26 through 50 of 93 results
Year Category Award Title Author Date Added Action
2004 Special Commendation The Breadwinner (Breadwinner #1) Deborah Ellis 05/25/2017
2004 Picture Book Medal Winner Harvesting Hope: the Story of Cesar Chavaz Kathleen Krull 05/25/2017
2004 Older Children Medal Winner Out of Bounds: Seven Stories of Conflict and Hope Beverley Naidoo 05/25/2017
2003 Picture Book Medal Winner Patrol: An American Soldier In Vietnam Walter Dean Myers 05/25/2017
2003 Older Children Medal Winner Parvana's Journey (Breadwinner #2) Deborah Ellis 05/25/2017
2002 Picture Book Medal Winner Martin's Big Words: The Life Of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Doreen Rappaport 05/25/2017
2002 Older Children Medal Winner The Other Side of Truth Beverley Naidoo 05/25/2017
2001 Picture Book Medal Winner The Composition Antonio Skármeta 05/25/2017
2001 Older Children Medal Winner Esperanza Rising Pam Muñoz Ryan 05/25/2017
2000 Picture Book Medal Winner Molly Bannaky Alice Mcgill and Chris K. Soentpiet 05/25/2017
2000 Older Children Medal Winner Through My Eyes Margo Lundell and Ruby Bridges 05/25/2017
1999 Picture Book Medal Winner Marianthe's Story, Painted Words: Marianthe's Story, Spoken Memories Aliki 05/25/2017
1999 Older Children Medal Winner Bat 6 Virginia Euwer Wolff 05/25/2017
1998 Picture Book Medal Winner Seven Brave Women Betsy Hearne and Bethanne Andersen 05/25/2017
1998 Older Children Medal Winner Habibi Naomi Shihab Nye 05/25/2017
1997 Picture Book Medal Winner Wilma Unlimited: How Wilma Rudolph Became The World's Fastest Woman Kathleen Krull 05/25/2017
1997 Older Children Medal Winner Growing Up in Coal Country Susan Campbell Bartoletti 05/25/2017
1996 Special Commendation Middle Passage: White Ships/ Black Cargo Tom Feelings and John Henrik Clarke 05/25/2017
1996 Older Children Medal Winner The Well: David's Story (Logans #2) Mildred D. Taylor 05/25/2017
1995 Picture Book Medal Winner Sitti's Secrets Naomi Shihab Nye 05/25/2017
1995 Older Children Medal Winner Kids at Work: Lewis Hine and the Crusade Against Child Labor Russell Freedman 05/25/2017
1994 Picture Book Medal Winner This Land Is My Land George Littlechild 05/25/2017
1994 Older Children Medal Winner Freedom's Children: Young Civil Rights Activists Tell Their Own Stories Ellen S. Levine 05/25/2017
1993 Picture Book Medal Winner Aunt Harriet's Underground Railroad In The Sky Faith Ringgold 05/25/2017
1993 Book for Older Children Medal Winner Taste of Salt: A Story of Modern Haiti Frances Temple 05/25/2017

Showing 26 through 50 of 93 results