Special Collections

Teacher Recommended Reading: Grades 6-8

Description: Browse these teacher recommended titles for grades 6-8. #kids #teens #teachers


Showing 1 through 25 of 61 results

Catherine, Called Birdy

by Karen Cushman

Catherine, a spirited and inquisitive young woman of good family, narrates in diary form the story of her fourteenth year—the year 1290. A Newbery Honor Book.

Date Added: 01/15/2019


Journey Home

by Yoshiko Uchida

Yuki, a 12-year-old Japanese American girl, and her family were sent to a concentration camp in Utah. This is the story of their journey back to Berkeley, California after WWII is over.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

by Mark Twain

Mark Twain's classic story of a young boy's life in a small town on the Mississippi River. [This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts in grades 6-8 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Black Beauty

by Anna Sewell

The classic children's story of the life of a horse named Black Beauty

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Streams to the River, River to the Sea

by Scott O'Dell

In this redesigned edition of Scott O'Dell's classic novel, a young Native American woman, accompanied by her infant and her cruel husband, experiences joy and heartbreak when she joins the Lewis and Clark expedition seeking a way to the Pacific.

Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Julie of the Wolves

by Jean Craighead George

Faced with the prospect of a disagreeable arranged marriage or a journey acoss the barren Alaskan tundra, 13-year-old Miyax chooses the tundra. She finds herself caught between the traditional Eskimo ways and the modern ways of the whites. Miyax, or Julie as her pen pal Amy calls her, sets out alone to visit Amy in San Francisco, a world far away from Eskimo culture and the frozen land of Alaska.

During her long and arduous journey, Miyax comes to appreciate the value of her Eskimo heritage, learns about herself, and wins the friendship of a pack of wolves. After learning the language of the wolves and slowly earning their trust, Julie becomes a member of the pack.

Newbery Medal Winner

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Land I Lost

by Huynh Quang Nhuong

A collection of personal reminiscences of the author's youth in a hamlet on the central highlands of Vietnam.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


To Be A Slave

by Julius Lester

A compilation of reminiscences of slaves and ex-slaves about their lives, from those leaving Africa through the Civil War into the 20th century.

Newbery Medal Honor Book.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

by J. K. Rowling

A teenager pitching headfirst into the world of near-adulthood, Harry returns to Hogwarts for his fourth year. The fourth book in the series.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Hatchet

by Gary Paulsen

This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared--and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is on his way to visit his father when the single-engine plane in which he is flying crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but a tattered Windbreaker and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present--and the dreadful secret that has been tearing him apart since his parent's divorce. But now Brian has no time for anger, self pity, or despair--it will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed, to survive.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Summer of My German Soldier

by Bette Greene

In Bette Greene's award-winning debut novel, a young Jewish girl in the postwar South finds herself drawn to a German prisoner of war

When the Army delivers a batch of Nazi prisoners of war to an internment camp in Jenkinsville, Arkansas, Patty Bergen is as anxious as any of her neighbors to get a glimpse of the monsters. The eldest child in the town's sole Jewish family, Patty is lonely and isolated, spending most of her time in the company of Ruth, her parents' black housekeeper. Then she meets Anton Reiker, an inmate in the camp. Even though he fought against the Allies, Anton seems to understand Patty in a way even her parents never have. When Anton escapes from the camp, Patty risks everything to keep him safe--but following her heart may come at a terrible price. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Bette Greene including rare photos and never-before-seen documents from the author's personal collection.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Across Five Aprils

by Irene Hunt

The unforgettable story of young Jethro Creighton who comes of age during the turbulent years of the Civil War.

Newbery Award Honors book

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Light in the Forest

by Conrad Richter

"True Son," born John Butler in a little frontier town, was captured by the Lenni Lenape Indians when he was four years old, and adopted into the tribe by the great warrior Cuyloga who renamed him and reared him as his son. True Son grew up to think, feel and fight like an Indian, to reverence their God. Then the Indians made a treaty and agreed to return all white captives to their own people. But True Son had learned to hate all white men. Though reared as a Lenni Lenape Indian, fifteen-year-old True Son, once called John Camera Butler, was ordered back to the white man. It was impossible for True Son to believe that his people were white and not Indian. He had learned to hate the white man. And now he learned to hate his new father, his new house, his new family. He hated the name John Butler. Where did he belong now-and where could he go?|

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Tuck Everlasting

by Natalie Babbitt

The Tuck family is confronted with an agonizing situation when they discover that a ten-year-old girl and a malicious stranger now share their secret about a spring whose water prevents one from ever growing any older.

[This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts in grades 4-5 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Indian in the Cupboard

by Lynne Reid Banks

A young man receives two presents that will change his life: a plastic miniature Indian that magically comes to life inside a mysterious old cupboard.From the Hardcover edition.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The White Mountains

by John Christopher

Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave.Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods--huge three-legged machines--that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods. But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard. And with the Tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast. But the longer he's away from his home, the more the Tripods look for him...and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Lyddie

by Katherine Paterson

When ten-year-old Lyddie and her younger brother are hired out as servants to help pay off their family farm's debts. Lyddie is determined to find a way to reunite her family. A story of determination and personal growth, "Lyddie" has already established itself as a classic.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Midwife's Apprentice

by Karen Cushman

From the author of "Catherine, Called Birdy" comes another spellbinding novel set in medieval England.

The girl known only as Brat has no family, no home, and no future until she meets Jane the Midwife and becomes her apprentice. As she helps the sharp-tempered Jane deliver babies, Brat-who renames herself Alyce-gains knowledge, confidence, and the courage to want something from life: "A full belly, a contented heart, and a place in this world."

Medieval village life makes a lively backdrop for the funny, poignant story of how Alyce gets what she wants. A concluding note discusses midwifery past and present.

A Newbery Medal Winner.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Pinballs

by Betsy Byars

"Three unwanted kids--Pinballs, as wisecracking Carly dubs them--collide in a warm and caring foster home and learn to pin their hopes on each other". --School Library Journal. ALA Notable Children's Book; School Library Journal Best Books of 1977.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Make Way for Sam Houston

by Jean Fritz

The story of Sam Houston for children

Date Added: 05/25/2017


A Wrinkle in Time

by Madeleine L'Engle

Meg Murry and her friends become involved with unearthly strangers and a search for Meg's father, who has disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government.

[This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts in grades 6-8 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Newbery Medal Winner

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Will You Sign Here, John Hancock?

by Jean Fritz

This book is a third person account of the childhood, adolescence and adulthood of the first signer of the Declaration of Independance. The book describes his complete self centerdness as a young adult and how that led to his rather prominant signature on the historic document.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Anne Frank

by Anne Frank

A teenage Jewish girl's recorded thoughts and impressions while she and her family were being hidden in a safe house during the Nazi occupation of Holland.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Flour Babies

by Anne Fine

Simon's class is sick of taking care of their six-pound flour babies. But for Simon, the pack of flour provides an understanding of his fatherless life.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

by Mildred D. Taylor

Winner of the Newbery Medal, this remarkably moving novel has impressed the hearts and minds of millions of readers. Set in Mississippi at the height of the Depression, this is the story of one family's struggle to maintain their integrity, pride, and independence in the face of racism and social injustice. And it is also Cassie's story--Cassie Logan, an independent girl who discovers over the course of an important year why having land of their own is so crucial to the Logan family, even as she learns to draw strength from her own sense of dignity and self-respect.* "[A] vivid story.... Entirely through its own internal development, the novel shows the rich inner rewards of black pride, love, and independence."--Booklist, starred review

Date Added: 01/15/2019



Showing 1 through 25 of 61 results