Special Collections

Latest YA Reads with POC Leads

Description: The latest and greatest of YA books, released in 2017 and 2018, featuring main characters of color.


Showing 1 through 25 of 47 results

Flicker and Mist

by Mary G. Thompson

Romance, intrigue, and plenty of action are woven into a rich and suspenseful narrative in this powerful YA fantasy. The mixed-race heroine Myra is a Flickerkin and can flicker (become invisible) at will.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Midnight Without a Moon

by Linda Williams Jackson

It’s Mississippi in the summer of 1955, and Rose Lee Carter can’t wait to move north. But for now, she’s living with her sharecropper grandparents on a white man’s cotton plantation.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Flying Lessons & Other Stories

by Ellen Oh

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold anthology—written by the best children’s authors—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Factory Girl

by Josanne La Valley

In order to save her family’s farm, Roshen, sixteen, must leave her rural home to work in a factory in the south of China. There she finds arduous and degrading conditions and contempt for her minority (Uyghur) background.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Poison's Kiss

by Breeana Shields

A teenage assassin kills with a single kiss until she is ordered to kill the one boy she loves. This commercial YA fantasy is romantic and addictive—like a poison kiss—and will thrill fans of Sarah J. Maas and Victoria Aveyard.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Stef Soto, Taco Queen

by Jennifer Torres

A heartwarming and charming debut novel about family, friends, and finding your voice all wrapped up in a warm tortilla.Estefania "Stef" Soto is itching to shake off the onion-and-cilantro embrace of Tia Perla, her family's taco truck.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


City of Saints & Thieves

by Natalie C. Anderson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl in this enthralling murder mystery set in Kenya. In the shadows of Sangui City, there lives a girl who doesn't exist.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Allegedly

by Tiffany D. Jackson

Orange Is the New Black meets Walter Dean Myer’s Monster in this gritty, twisty, and haunting debut by Tiffany D. Jackson about a girl convicted of murder seeking the truth while surviving life in a group home.Mary B. Addison killed a baby.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


He Who Dreams

by Melanie Florence

Juggling soccer, school, friends and family leaves John with little time for anything else. But one day at the local community center, following the sound of drums, he stumbles into an Indigenous dance class.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Crystal Ribbon

by Celeste Lim

In the village of Huanan, in medieval China, the deity that rules is the Great Huli Jing.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Harlem Charade

by Natasha Tarpley

WATCHER. SHADOW. FUGITIVE. Harlem is home to all kinds of kids. Jin sees life passing her by from the window of her family's bodega. Alex wants to help the needy one shelter at a time, but can't tell anyone who she really is.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Our Own Private Universe

by Robin Talley

Fifteen-year-old Aki Simon has a theory. And it's mostly about sex. No, it isn't that kind of theory. Aki already knows she's bisexual-even if, until now, it's mostly been in the hypothetical sense.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Radius of Us: A Novel

by Marie Marquardt

What happens when you fall in love with someone everyone seems determined to fear? Ninety seconds can change a life — not just daily routine, but who you are as a person.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Crazy Messy Beautiful

by Carrie Arcos

From National Book Award finalist Carrie Arcos--a fresh take on happily ever after, and friendship, that is anything but a love story.When your namesake is Pablo Neruda—the greatest love poet of all time—finding “the one” should be easy.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


History Is All You Left Me

by Adam Silvera

You’re still alive in alternate universes, Theo, but I live in the real world where this morning you’re having an open casket funeral. I know you’re out there, listening.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Calico Girl

by Jerdine Nolen

From the award-winning author of Eliza’s Freedom Road comes the powerful tale of a slave girls’ triumphant journey to freedom with her family during the Civil War.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


American Street

by Ibi Zoboi

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

Date Added: 06/22/2017


Dreamland Burning

by Jennifer Latham

Some bodies won't stay buried.Some stories need to be told.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Education of Margot Sanchez

by Lilliam Rivera

Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and romantic coming-of-age novel about dysfunctional families, good and bad choices, and finding the courage to question everything you ever thought you wanted—from debut author Lilliam Rivera.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Ronit & Jamil

by Pamela L. Laskin

Pamela L. Laskin’s beautiful and lyrical novel in verse delivers a fresh and captivating retelling of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet that transports the star-crossed lovers to the modern-day Israel-Palestine conflict.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


See You in the Cosmos

by Jack Cheng

A space-obsessed boy and his dog, Carl Sagan, take a journey toward family, love, hope, and awe in this funny and moving novel for fans of Counting by 7s and Walk Two Moons.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Ship Beyond Time

by Heidi Heilig

The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere. Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


You're Welcome, Universe

by Whitney Gardner

A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Bone Witch

by Rin Chupeco

A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of Spring 2017! In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Heartbeats of Wing Jones

by Katherine Webber

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights in this sweeping, warm, arrestingly original novel about family, poverty, and hope. Wing Jones, like everyone else in her town, has worshipped her older brother, Marcus, for as long as she can remember.

Date Added: 06/22/2017



Showing 1 through 25 of 47 results