Special Collections

Not Your Required Reading

Description: Take a break from your required summer reading list with these fun YA picks.


Showing 1 through 20 of 20 results

Indigo Summer

by Monica Mckayhan

Fifteen-year-old Indigo Summer's world finally seems to be going in the right direction: She hooks up with the star linebacker on the high-school football team, gets a date for homecoming and makes the high-school dance squad all in the same week.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Slice of Cherry

by Dia Reeves

"Brutally beautiful -- not like anything else you'll read this year, or any other.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Accidental Love

by Gary Soto

It all starts when Marisa picks up the wrong cell phone. When she returns it to Rene, she feels curiously drawn to him. But Marisa and Rene aren't exactly a match made in heaven.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Bleeding Violet

by Dia Reeves

Hanna is what you'd call mentally ill. She'd call it being totally crazy. After running away to Portero, Texas to find her estranged mother, Hanna thinks this new town can't be any crazier than she is. She's wrong.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Huntress

by Malinda Lo

Seventeen-year-olds Kaede and Taisin are called to go on a dangerous and unprecedented journey to Tanlili, the city of the Fairy Queen, in an effort to restore the balance of nature in the human world.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Chaos

by Nalo Hopkinson

An acclaimed fantasy author navigates the world between myth and chaos in this compelling exploration of identity, told with a Caribbean lilt.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Angelfall

by Susan Ee

Penryn will do anything to rescues her sister from warrior angels.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Sellout

by Ebony Joy Wilkins

It is a summer that will change everything . . . . NaTasha has a wonderful life in affluent Park Adams. She fits in, she has friends, and she's a member of the all-white ballet troupe.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Since You Asked...

by Maurene Goo

No, no one asked, but Holly Kim will tell you what she thinks anyway. Fifteen-year-old Holly Kim is the copyeditor for her high school's newspaper.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


He Said, She Said

by Kwame Alexander

Sparks will fly in this hip-hop-hot teen novel that mixes social protest and star-crossed romance He Said, She Said is perfect for fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rachel Vail alike.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Pointe

by Brandy Colbert

Four years after Theo's best friend, Donovan, disappeared at age thirteen, he is found and brought home and Theo puts her health at risk as she decides whether to tell the truth about the abductor, knowing her revelation could end her life-long dream of becoming a professional ballet dancer.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Summer of the Mariposas

by Guadalupe Garcia Mccall

In an adventure reminiscent of Homer's Odyssey, fifteen-year-old Odilia and her four younger sisters embark on a journey to return a dead man to his family in Mexico, aided by La Llorona, but impeded by a witch, a warlock, chupacabras, and more.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Love Is the Drug

by Alaya Dawn Johnson

From the author of THE SUMMER PRINCE, a novel that's John Grisham's THE PELICAN BRIEF meets Michael Crichton's THE ANDROMEDA STRAIN set at an elite Washington D.C. prep school. Emily Bird was raised not to ask questions.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


For the Record

by Charlotte Huang

"Welcome to your new obsession," says Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, about this raw, honest YA debut celebrating music, friendship, romance, and life on the road.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Girl from Everywhere

by Heidi Heilig

Heidi Heilig's debut teen fantasy sweeps from modern-day New York City, to nineteenth-century Hawaii, to places of myth and legend. Sixteen-year-old Nix has sailed across the globe and through centuries aboard her time-traveling father's ship.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Akata Witch

by Nnedi Okorafor

Read Nnedi Okorafor's blogs and other content on the Penguin Community.Twelve-year-old Sunny lives in Nigeria, but she was born American. Her features are African, but she's albino.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Sun Is Also a Star

by Nicola Yoon

A 2016 National Book Award FinalistBe the first to read the dazzling new novel from Nicola Yoon, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, EverythingNatasha: I'm a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Mirror in the Sky

by Aditi Khorana

Another Earth meets Perks of Being a Wallflower in this thoughtful, mesemerizing debut and subject of an upcoming TedX talk about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl's

Date Added: 05/25/2017


Shadowshaper

by Daniel Jose Older

Sierra Santiago's first week of summer was supposed to be sun-soaked and fun-filled; instead, the murals in her neighborhood seem to be coming to life and a zombie-looking dude crashes the first big party.

Date Added: 05/25/2017


The Secret of a Heart Note

by Stacey Lee

From critically acclaimed author Stacey Lee, an evocative novel about a teen aroma-expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to help others fall in love—while protecting her own heart at all costs—perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and E.

Date Added: 05/25/2017



Showing 1 through 20 of 20 results