Special Collections

LGBTQ Reads for YA Readers

Description: Enjoy this selection of LGBTQ Young Adult fiction - across genres - in celebration of LGBT diversity.


Showing 1 through 25 of 43 results

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

by Becky Albertalli

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Another Country

by James Baldwin

Set in Greenwich Village, Harlem, and France, among other locales, Another Country is a novel of passions--sexual, racial, political, artistic--that is stunning for its emotional intensity and haunting sensuality, depicting men and women, blacks and

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Great

by Sara Benincasa

In this contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, by comedian Sara Benincasa, a teenage girl becomes entangled in the romance and drama of a Hamptons social circle and is implicated in a scandal that shakes the summer community.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


The Darkest Part of the Forest

by Holly Black

In the woods is a glass coffin. It rests on the ground, and in it sleeps a boy with horns on his head and ears as pointed as knives.... Hazel and her brother, Ben, live in Fairfold, where humans and the Folk exist side by side.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

by Jaye Robin Brown

Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that's perfect for fans of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' and

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Bitterblue

by Kristin Cashore and Ian Schoenherr

Enter the Graceling Realm and let it work its magic . . .When Queen Bitterblue took the throne of Monsea, she was a child, and her advisers ran the kngdom for her.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Bitterblue (Graceling Realm, #3)

by Kristin Cashore and Ian Schoenherr

Enter the Graceling Realm and let it work its magic . . . When Queen Bitterblue took the throne of Monsea, she was a child, and her advisers ran the kngdom for her.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Little & Lion

by Brandy Colbert

A stunning novel on love, loss, identity, and redemption, from Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Brandy ColbertWhen Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A.

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Labyrinth Lost

by Zoraida Cordova

"Enchanting and complex. Every page is filled with magic." --Danielle Paige, New York Times best-selling author of Dorothy Must DieNothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


The Miseducation of Cameron Post

by Emily M. Danforth

When Cameron Post's parents die suddenly in a car crash, her shocking first thought is relief. Relief they'll never know that, hours earlier, she had been kissing a girl.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Wildthorn

by Jane Eagland

They strip her naked, of everything--undo her whalebone corset, hook by hook. Locked away in Wildthorn Hall--a madhouse--they take her identity. She is now called Lucy Childs. She has no one; she has nothing.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Willful Machines

by Tim Floreen

In this action-packed, high-octane debut, the closeted son of an ultra-conservative president must keep a budding romance secret from his father while protecting himself from a sentient computer program that's terrorizing the United States--and has

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Girl Mans Up

by M-E Girard

All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she's always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it? They think the way she looks and acts means she's trying to be a boy--that she should quit trying to be something she's not.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Will Grayson, Will Grayson

by David Levithan and John Green

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


None of the Above

by I. W. Gregorio

A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she's intersex . . . and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Looking for Group

by Rory Harrison

Rory Harrison’s beautiful novel about identity, home, and fresh starts recounts one boy’s quest to discover a world where he can thrive, one adventure at a time.Dylan doesn’t have a lot of experience with comfort.

Date Added: 06/19/2017


Guardian of the Dead

by Karen Healey

Eighteen-year-old New Zealand boarding school student Ellie Spencer must use her rusty tae kwon do skills and new-found magic to try to stop a fairy-like race of creatures from Maori myth and legend that is plotting to kill millions of humans in

Date Added: 06/16/2017


At the Edge of the Universe

by Shaun David Hutchinson

From the author of We Are the Ants and The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley comes the heartbreaking story of a boy who believes the universe is slowly shrinking as things he remembers are being erased from others’ memories.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


We Are Okay

by Nina Lacour

"A beautiful, devastating piece of art... An extraordinary work." – Bookpage“So lonely and beautiful that I could hardly breathe. This is a perfect book.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Pantomime

by Laura Lam

R.H. Ragona's Circus of Magic is the greatest circus of Ellada. Nestled among the glowing blue Penglass - remnants of a mysterious civilisation long gone - are wonders beyond the wildest imagination.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Dreamland Burning

by Jennifer Latham

Some bodies won't stay buried.Some stories need to be told.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

by Mackenzi Lee

A hilarious and swashbuckling stand-alone teen historical fiction novel, named one of summer's 20 must-read books by Entertainment Weekly!

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Boy Meets Boy

by David Levithan

This is the story of Paul, a sophomore at a high school like no other: The cheerleaders ride Harleys, the homecoming queen used to be a guy named Daryl (she now prefers Infinite Darlene and is also the star quarterback), and the gay-straight

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Ash

by Malinda Lo

In the wake of her father's death, Ash is left at the mercy of her cruel stepmother. Consumed with grief, her only joy comes by the light of the dying hearth fire, rereading the fairy tales her mother once told her.

Date Added: 06/16/2017


Every Heart a Doorway

by Seanan Mcguire

Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children No Solicitations No Visitors No QuestsChildren have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and

Date Added: 06/16/2017



Showing 1 through 25 of 43 results