Special Collections

ALA Award Winners - Children's

Description: The American Library Association offers a wide range of awards recognizing excellence in children's and middle grade literature. This collection contains winners of the AIYLA, Batchelder, Belpre, Seuss Geisel, and Stonewall awards.


Showing 1 through 25 of 53 results
 
 

Little & Lion

by Brandy Colbert

A stunning novel on love, loss, identity, and redemption, from Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Brandy Colbert. When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A.

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Stonewall

The 57 Bus

by Dashka Slater

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Stonewall

Charlie & Mouse

by Laurel Snyder and Emily Hughes

Four hilarious stories, two inventive brothers, one irresistible story! Join Charlie and Mouse as they talk to lumps, take the neighborhood to a party, sell some rocks, and invent the bedtime banana.

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Seuss Giesel

Lucky Broken Girl

by Ruth Behar

In this unforgettable multicultural coming-of-age narrative—based on the author’s childhood in the 1960s—a young Cuban-Jewish immigrant girl is adjusting to her new life in New York City when her American dream is suddenly derailed.

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Belpre

The Murderer's Ape

by Jakob Wegelius

A captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of mystery and detective stories.

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Batchelder

The Hammer of Thor

by Rick Riordan

Magnus and friends help the god of thunder find his missing weapon before all Muspellheim breaks loose.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2017

Award: Stonewall

Juana And Lucas

by Juana Medina

Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpre Author Award Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.

Date Added: 08/07/2017


Year: 2017

Award: Belpre

George

by Alex Gino

BE WHO YOU ARE. When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she's not a boy. She knows she's a girl. George thinks she'll have to keep this a secret forever.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Stonewall

Don't Throw It To Mo!

by David A. Adler

Winner of the 2016 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Mo Jackson is a little boy with a big passion for sports. He may not be the biggest, the strongest, or the fastest player, but he won't let that stop him from playing!

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Seuss Geisel

The Wonderful Fluffy Little Squishy

by Beatrice Alemagna

Eddie is five and a half, and thinks she is the only one in her family who isn’t really good at something.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Batchelder

Sitting Bull: Lakota Warrior And Defender Of His People

by S. D. Nelson

Sitting Bull (c. 1831-1890) was one of the greatest Lakota/Sioux warriors and chiefs who ever lived. From Sitting Bull's childhood--killing his first buffalo at age 10--to being named war chief to leading his people against the U. S.

Date Added: 08/07/2017


Year: 2016

Award: AIYLA

Little You

by Richard Van Camp

Richard Van Camp, internationally renowned storyteller and bestselling author of the hugely successful Welcome Song for Baby: A Lullaby for Newborns, has partnered with award-winning illustrator Julie Flett to create a tender board book for babies

Date Added: 08/07/2017


Year: 2016

Award: AIYLA

You Are (Not) Small

by Anna Kang and Christopher Weyant

2015 Geisel Medal Winner! Two fuzzy creatures can't agree on who is small and who is big, until a couple of surprise guests show up, settling it once and for all!

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2015

Award: Seuss Geisel

I Lived on Butterfly Hill

by Marjorie Agosin and Lee White

An eleven-year-old's world is upended by political turmoil in this searing novel from an award-winning poet, based on true events in Chile.Celeste Marconi is a dreamer.

Date Added: 08/07/2017


Year: 2015

Award: Belpre

The Watermelon Seed

by Greg Pizzoli

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink?

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2014

Award: Seuss Geisel

Up, Tall And High!

by Ethan Long

Three side-splitting stories in one great picture book! In three laugh-out-loud situations, an irresistible cast of colorful birds illustrate the concepts of "up," "tall" and "high.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Seuss Geisel

My Family for the War

by Anne C. Voorhoeve

Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder medal for most oustanding children's book in translation.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Batchelder

Tales For Very Picky Eaters

by Josh Schneider

2012 Winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award! James is a very picky eater. His dad has to get creative--very creative--in order to get James to eat foods he thinks he doesn't like.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2012

Award: Seuss Geisel

Triple Threat (Sports Stories)

by Jacqueline Guest

Matthew Eagletail's good friend, John Salton, has come to visit. Together, the boys form the Bobcats to compete in the Rocky Mountain basketball tournament. A summer of fun stretches out before them. The fun stops when Matt's arch rival, John Beal, enters the tournament with his team, the Mean Machine.

Date Added: 08/07/2017


Year: 2012

Award: AIYLA

Bink and Gollie (Bink and Gollie #1)

by Alison Mcghee and Kate Dicamillo

Winner of the 2011 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award! Two roller-skating best friends --one tiny, one tall--share three comical adventures involving outrageously bright socks, an impromptu trek to the Andes, and a most unlikely marvelous companion.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2011

Award: Seuss Geisel

The Dreamer

by Pam Muñoz Ryan

A fictionalized biography of the Nobel Prize-winning poet Pablo Neruda, who grew up a painfully shy child, ridiculed by his overbearing father, but who became one of the most widely read poets in the world. Includes bibliographical references.

Date Added: 08/07/2017


Year: 2011

Award: Belpre

A Time of Miracles

by Y. Maudet and Anne-Laure Bondoux

Blaise Fortune, also known as Koumaïl, loves hearing the story of how he came to live with Gloria in the Republic of Georgia: Gloria was picking peaches in her father's orchard when she heard a train derail.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2011

Award: Batchelder

Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!

by Geoffrey Hayes

Benny and his sister Penny know it's wrong to sneak into someone else's backyard but their mysterious new neighbor--or is it a monster?--may be a thief. They go snooping and discover a lot about themselves and ... a new friend.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2010

Award: Seuss Geisel

Return To Sender

by Julia Alvarez

After Tyler's father is injured in a tractor accident, his family is forced to hire migrant Mexican workers to help save their Vermont farm from foreclosure. Tyler isn't sure what to make of these workers. Are they undocumented?

Date Added: 08/07/2017


Year: 2010

Award: Belpre

A Faraway Island

by Annika Thor

Torn from their homeland, two Jewish sisters find refuge in Sweden. It's the summer of 1939. Two Jewish sisters from Vienna—12-year-old Stephie Steiner and 8-year-old Nellie—are sent to Sweden to escape the Nazis.

Date Added: 07/21/2017


Year: 2010

Award: Batchelder


Showing 1 through 25 of 53 results