Special Collections

ALA Award Winners - Young Adult

Description: The American Library Association offers a wide range of awards recognizing excellence in young adult literature. This collection contains winners of the AIYLA, Belpre, Morris, Printz, Nonfiction, and Stonewall awards.


Showing 1 through 25 of 46 results
 
 

The 57 Bus

by Dashka Slater

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Stonewall

Little & Lion

by Brandy Colbert

A stunning novel on love, loss, identity, and redemption, from Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Brandy Colbert. When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A.

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Stonewall

We Are Okay

by Nina Lacour

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Printz

Vincent And Theo

by Deborah Heiligman

Date Added: 05/22/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Nonfiction

The Hate U Give

by Angie Thomas

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends.

Date Added: 02/12/2018


Year: 2018

Award: Morris

If I Was Your Girl

by Meredith Russo

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2017

Award: Stonewall

The Serpent King

by Jeff Zentner

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2017

Award: Morris

The Serpent King

by Jeff Zentner

Dillard Early, Jr., Travis Bohannon and Lydia Blankenship are three friends from different walks of life who have one thing in common: none of them seem to fit the mold in rural Tennessee's Forrestville High.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2017

Award: Morris

The Porcupine of Truth

by Bill Konigsberg

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Stonewall

Bone Gap

by Laura Ruby

Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps... So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. But Finn knows what really happened to Roza. He knows she was kidnapped by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Printz

Most Dangerous

by Steve Sheinkin

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Nonfiction

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

by Becky Albertalli

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Morris

House of Purple Cedar

by Tim Tingle

"The hour has come to speak of troubled times. It is time we spoke of Skullyville." Thus begins the House of Purple Cedar, Rose Goode's telling of the year when she was eleven in Indian country, Oklahoma.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: AIYLA

I'll Give You the Sun

by Jandy Nelson

The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2015

Award: Printz

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek

by Maya Van Wagenen

New York Times BestsellerA breakout teen author explores the true meaning of popularity and how to survive middle school in this hysterically funny, touchingly honest contemporary memoir.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2015

Award: Nonfiction

Gabi, a Girl in Pieces

by Isabel Quintero

Gabi Hernandez chronicles her last year in high school in her diary: college applications, Cindy's pregnancy, Sebastian's coming out, the cute boys, her father's meth habit, and the food she craves. And best of all, the poetry that helps forge her identity.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2015

Award: Morris

Midwinterblood

by Marcus Sedgwick

Seven linked vignettes unfold on a Scandinavian island inhabited--throughout various time periods--by Vikings, vampires, ghosts, and a curiously powerful plant.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2014

Award: Printz

The Nazi Hunters

by Neal Bascomb

A thrilling spy mission, a moving Holocaust story, and a first-class work of narrative nonfiction.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2014

Award: Nonfiction

Charm And Strange

by Stephanie Kuehn

When you've been kept caged in the dark, it's impossible to see the forest for the trees. It's impossible to see anything, really. Not without bars ...

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2014

Award: Morris

If I Ever Get Out of Here

by Eric Gansworth

Lewis "Shoe" Blake is used to the joys and difficulties of life on the Tuscarora Indian reservation in 1975: the joking, the Fireball games, the snow blowing through his roof.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2014

Award: AIYLA

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

by Benjamin Alire Saenz

This Printz Honor Book is a "tender, honest exploration of identity" (Publishers Weekly) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship.Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Stonewall

In Darkness

by Nick Lake

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Printz

Bomb: The Race to Build -- and Steal -- the World's Most Dangerous Weapon

by Steve Sheinkin

This is the story of the plotting, the risk-taking, the deceit, and genius that created the world's most formidable weapon. This is the story of the atomic bomb.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Nonfiction

Seraphina

by Rachel Hartman

A new vision of knights, dragons, and the fair maiden caught in between . . . Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Morris

Putting Makeup on the Fat Boy

by Bil Wright

Sixteen-year-old Carlos Duarte is on the verge of realizing his dream of becoming a famous make-up artist, but first he must face his jealous boss at a Macy's cosmetics counter, his sister's abusive boyfriend, and his crush on a punk-rocker classmate.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2012

Award: Stonewall


Showing 1 through 25 of 46 results