Special Collections

ALA Award Winners - Young Adult

Description: The American Library Association offers a wide range of awards recognizing excellence in young adult literature. This collection contains winners of the AIYLA, Belpre, Morris, Printz, Nonfiction, and Stonewall awards.


Showing 1 through 25 of 41 results
 
 

If I Was Your Girl

by Meredith Russo

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like anyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret, and she’s determined not to get too close to anyone.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2017

Award: Stonewall

The Serpent King

by Jeff Zentner

"The Serpent King is a book you won't be able to resist or forget. The Southern boy in me savored every syllable and the reader in me fell in love with every page.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2017

Award: Morris

The Serpent King

by Jeff Zentner

Dillard Early, Jr., Travis Bohannon and Lydia Blankenship are three friends from different walks of life who have one thing in common: none of them seem to fit the mold in rural Tennessee's Forrestville High.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2017

Award: Morris

The Porcupine of Truth

by Bill Konigsberg

The author of OPENLY STRAIGHT returns with an epic road trip involving family history, gay history, the girlfriend our hero can't have, the grandfather he never knew, and the Porcupine of Truth.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Stonewall

Bone Gap

by Laura Ruby

Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps... So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. But Finn knows what really happened to Roza. He knows she was kidnapped by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Printz

Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg And The Secret History Of The Vietnam War

by Steve Sheinkin

This captivating nonfiction investigation of the Pentagon Papers has captured widespread critical acclaim, including features in The Washington Post and on NPR, selection as a 2015 National Book Award finalist, and selection as a finalist for the

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Nonfiction

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

by Becky Albertalli

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: Morris

House of Purple Cedar

by Tim Tingle

"The hour has come to speak of troubled times. It is time we spoke of Skullyville." Thus begins the House of Purple Cedar, Rose Goode's telling of the year when she was eleven in Indian country, Oklahoma.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2016

Award: AIYLA

I'll Give You the Sun

by Jandy Nelson

The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2015

Award: Printz

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek

by Maya Van Wagenen

New York Times BestsellerA breakout teen author explores the true meaning of popularity and how to survive middle school in this hysterically funny, touchingly honest contemporary memoir.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2015

Award: Nonfiction

Gabi, a Girl in Pieces

by Isabel Quintero

Gabi Hernandez chronicles her last year in high school in her diary: college applications, Cindy's pregnancy, Sebastian's coming out, the cute boys, her father's meth habit, and the food she craves. And best of all, the poetry that helps forge her identity.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2015

Award: Morris

Midwinterblood

by Marcus Sedgwick

Seven linked vignettes unfold on a Scandinavian island inhabited--throughout various time periods--by Vikings, vampires, ghosts, and a curiously powerful plant.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2014

Award: Printz

The Nazi Hunters

by Neal Bascomb

A thrilling spy mission, a moving Holocaust story, and a first-class work of narrative nonfiction.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2014

Award: Nonfiction

Charm And Strange

by Stephanie Kuehn

When you've been kept caged in the dark, it's impossible to see the forest for the trees. It's impossible to see anything, really. Not without bars ...

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2014

Award: Morris

If I Ever Get Out of Here

by Eric Gansworth

Lewis "Shoe" Blake is used to the joys and difficulties of life on the Tuscarora Indian reservation in 1975: the joking, the Fireball games, the snow blowing through his roof.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2014

Award: AIYLA

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

by Benjamin Alire Saenz

This Printz Honor Book is a "tender, honest exploration of identity" (Publishers Weekly) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship.Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Stonewall

In Darkness

by Nick Lake

This is the story of "Shorty"-a 15-year-old boy trapped in a collapsed hospital during the earthquake in Haiti. Surrounded by the bodies of the dead, increasingly weak from lack of food and water, Shorty begins to hallucinate...

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Printz

Bomb: The Race to Build -- and Steal -- the World's Most Dangerous Weapon

by Steve Sheinkin

This is the story of the plotting, the risk-taking, the deceit, and genius that created the world's most formidable weapon. This is the story of the atomic bomb.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Nonfiction

Seraphina

by Rachel Hartman

A new vision of knights, dragons, and the fair maiden caught in between . . . Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2013

Award: Morris

Putting Makeup on the Fat Boy

by Bil Wright

Sixteen-year-old Carlos Duarte is on the verge of realizing his dream of becoming a famous make-up artist, but first he must face his jealous boss at a Macy's cosmetics counter, his sister's abusive boyfriend, and his crush on a punk-rocker classmate.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2012

Award: Stonewall

The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism and Treachery

by Steve Sheinkin

Most people know that Benedict Arnold was America's first, most notorious traitor. Few know that he was also one of its greatest war heroes. This accessible biography introduces young readers to the real Arnold: reckless, heroic, and driven.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2012

Award: Nonfiction

Where Things Come Back

by John Corey Whaley

In the remarkable, bizarre, and heart-wrenching summer before Cullen Witter’s senior year of high school, he is forced to examine everything he thinks he understands about his small and painfully dull Arkansas town. His cousin overdoses; his town becomes absurdly obsessed with the alleged reappearance of an extinct woodpecker; and most troubling of all, his sensitive, gifted fifteen-year-old brother, Gabriel, suddenly and inexplicably disappears.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2012

Award: Morris, Printz

Where Things Come Back

by John Corey Whaley

A quirky coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of John Green, David Levithan and Stephen Chbosky. Cullen Witter's fifteen-year-old brother Gabriel has suddenly and inexplicably disappeared.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2012

Award: Morris, Printz

Almost Perfect

by Brian Katcher

You only hurt the ones you love. Logan Witherspoon recently discovered that his girlfriend of three years cheated on him. But things start to look up when a new student breezes through the halls of his small-town high school.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2011

Award: Stonewall

Ship Breaker

by Paolo Bacigalupi

In America's Gulf Coast region, where grounded oil tankers are being broken down for parts, Nailer, a teenage boy, works the light crew, scavenging for copper wiring just to make quota--and hopefully live to see another day.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Year: 2011

Award: Printz


Showing 1 through 25 of 41 results