Special Collections

Fiction for Young Reluctant Readers

Description: High interest, low vocabulary books that will entice even the most book-averse. Ideal for elementary and middle grade readers.


Showing 26 through 50 of 67 results
 

Stick Cat: A Tail of Two Kitties

by Tom Watson

There's a new pet in town: Stick Cat! Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the Stick Dog books, Stick Cat features Tom Watson's trademark combination of laughs, adventure, and hilarious stick-figure drawings.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Elementary

Stick Cat: Cats in the City

by Tom Watson

Join Stick Cat and his incomparable sidekick Edith on another dangerous, epic, and hilarious rescue mission in Tom Watson’s Stick Cat: Cats in the City!

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Elementary

The Adventures of Captain Underpants

by Dav Pilkey

George and Harold have created the greatest superhero in the history of their elementary school - and now they're going to bring him to life!

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Elementary

Bookmarks Are People Too!

by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver and Scott Garrett

Hank stars the same Hank as in the bestselling Hank Zipzer series, only this time he's in 2nd grade! Hank is a kid who doesn't try to be funny, but he somehow always makes the kids in his class laugh.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Elementary

Fantastic Mr. Fox

by Roald Dahl and Quentin Blake

Nobody outfoxes Fantastic Mr. Fox!Someone's been stealing from the three meanest farmers around, and they know the identity of the thief--it's Fantastic Mr. Fox!

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Elementary

The Honest Truth

by Dan Gemeinhart

Date Added: 04/20/2018


Category: Middle Grade

Salt to the Sea

by Ruta Sepetys

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies.

Date Added: 04/20/2018


Category: Middle Grade

The War that Saved My Life

by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

A Newbery Honor BookWinner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set

Date Added: 04/20/2018


Category: Middle Grade

Twerp

by Mark Goldblatt

Date Added: 04/20/2018


Category: Middle Grade

Holes

by Louis Sachar

Date Added: 04/20/2018


Category: Middle Grade

Speak

by Laurie Halse Anderson

Date Added: 04/20/2018


Category: Middle Grade

Monster

by Walter Dean Myers

Date Added: 04/20/2018


Category: Middle Grade

The Name of This Book Is Secret (Secret Series, Book 1)

by Pseudonymous Bosch

If this were a normal cover for a normal book, I would tell you that this book is fantastic! Gripping! (According to their covers, all books are fantastic and gripping.) You'd meet the brave young heroes, Cass and Max Ernest.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

The Maze of Bones

by Rick Riordan

The first book in this groundbreaking multimedia series sends readers around the world on the hunt for the 39 Clues. Written by #1 NYT bestseller Rick Riordan, and backed by $100,000 in prizes!

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

The Tail of Emily Windsnap

by Liz Kessler

Young Emily Windsnap learns a magical secret about herself, and plunges into a scheme to solve the mystery of her heritage and to reunite with her father in this entrancing, satisfying tale that beckons readers far below the waves.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

Al Capone Does My Shirts

by Gennifer Choldenko

Today I moved to a twelve-acre rock covered with cement, topped with bird turd and surrounded by water. I'm not the only kid who lives here. There's my sister, Natalie, except she doesn't count.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key

by Jack Gantos

"They say I'm wired bad, or wired sad, but there's no doubt about it -- I'm wired.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

The Search for WondLa (Search of Wondla #1)

by Tony Diterlizzi

When a marauder destroys the underground sanctuary that Eva Nine was raised in by the robot Muthr, the twelve-year-old girl is forced to flee aboveground.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

The London Eye Mystery

by Siobhan Dowd

When Ted and Kat watched their cousin Salim get on board the London Eye, he turned and waved before getting on. But after half an hour it landed and everyone trooped off - and no Salim. Where could he have gone?

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

THE FIVE ANCESTORS: Tiger

by Jeff Stone

“Tigerclips along at a lightning pace!”—Eoin Colfer Twelve-year-old Fu and his temple brothers Malao, Seh, Hok, and Long don’t know who their parents were.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

Spy School

by Stuart Gibbs

Can an undercover nerd become a superstar agent? Ben Ripley sure hopes so--and his life may depend on it!Ben Ripley may only be in middle school, but he's already pegged his dream job: C.I.A. or bust.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

First Team

by Tim Green

Brock is on the run again in New York Times bestselling author Tim Green's companion book to New Kid. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Adventure series.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

The Only Game

by Mike Lupica

Can a young baseball star maintain his love of the game after the loss of his brother? Find out in this start to the Home Team series about a small town with high hopes, from New York Times bestselling author and sportswriting legend Mike Lupica.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

The Mother-Daughter Book Club

by Heather Vogel Frederick

Acclaimed author Heather Vogel Frederick will delight daughters of all ages in a novel about the fabulousness of fiction, family, and friendship.The book club is about to get a makeover....

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

Gregor the Overlander (Underland Chronicles Book 1)

by Suzanne Collins

When 11-year-old Gregor follows his little sister through a grate in the laundry room of their New York apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland beneath the city.

Date Added: 08/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade


Showing 26 through 50 of 67 results