Special Collections

Coretta Scott King Award Winners

Description: The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. #award #kids #teens

Showing 76 through 91 of 91 results
Year Award Title Author Date Added Action
1977 Author The Story of Stevie Wonder James Haskins 08/16/2017
2019 Illustrator The Stuff of Stars Marion Dane Bauer and Ekua Holmes 03/06/2019
1983 Author Sweet Whispers, Brother Rush Virginia Hamilton 08/16/2017
2023 Illustrator Honor Swim Team Johnnie Christmas 05/25/2023
2003 Illustrator Talkin' about Bessie Nikki Grimes 08/10/2017
1992 Illustrator Tar Beach Faith Ringgold 08/10/2017
1981 Author This Life Sidney Poitier 08/16/2017
1994 Author Toning The Sweep Angela Johnson 08/10/2017
2016 Illustrator Trombone Shorty Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews 08/10/2017
2022 Author/Illustrator Unspeakable The Tulsa Race Massacre Carole Boston Weatherford and Floyd Cooper 01/05/2023
2001 Illustrator Uptown Bryan Collier 08/10/2017
2023 Author Honor; Illustrator Honor Victory. Stand! Derrick Barnes and Tommie Smith and Dawud Anyabwile 05/25/2023
2009 Author We Are the Ship Kadir Nelson 08/10/2017
2023 New Talent Award Author Winner We Deserve Monuments Jas Hammonds 05/25/2023
2022 Illustrator Honor Books We Wait for the Sun Dovey Johnson Roundtree and Katie McCabe 01/05/2023
1980 Author The Young Landlords Walter Dean Myers 08/16/2017

Showing 76 through 91 of 91 results