Special Collections

Holiday Stories for Kids

Description: 'Tis the season to enjoy the December holidays! Whether your family celebrates Christmas, Hanukkah, or Kwanzaa, these children's books can help you illustrate the stories at the heart of your holiday tradition. For ages 3-12.


Showing 1 through 25 of 25 results
 

God Bless Our Christmas

by Hannah C. Hall

These snuggly snow animals are enjoying all the blessings of Christmas!

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Children's

Father Christmas

by Raphael Tuck

Families who love an old-fashioned Christmas will adore this vintage book of holiday verse. Whimsical illustrations of Santa Claus, cherubic children, and adorable pets grace every page.

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Children's

This Is the Dreidel

by Paige Billin-Frye and Abby Levine

"This is the dreidel Max takes from the drawer / where he had placed it one year before." Max and his family, from This Is the Turkey, return to celebrate the eight nights of Hanukkah!

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Children's

Must Be Santa

by Pete Whitehead and Tim Moore

Who's got a beard that's long and white? Santa's got a beard that's long and white! Who comes around on a special night? Santa comes around on a special night! Special night, beard that's white! Must be Santa! Must be Santa! Must be Santa! Santa Claus!

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Children's

The Polar Express

by Chris Van Allsburg

The Polar Express is a treasured holiday tradition. Awarded the prestigious Caldecott Medal in 1986, The Polar Express has sold more than 7 million copies, become a classic holiday movie, and been translated into stage productions that take place across the United States during the holiday season.

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Children's

The Christmas Quiet Book

by Deborah Underwood and Renata Liwska

The holidays are filled with joyful noise. But Christmas is sometimes wrapped in quiet: "Searching for presents quiet," "Getting caught quiet," and "Hoping for a snow day quiet.

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Children's

Honeyky Hanukah

by Woody Guthrie and Dave Horowitz

Latkes and goody things all over town, It's Honeyky Hanukah time. In Woody Guthrie's rowdy, funny celebration of a Hanukah night, a young boy and his dog move merrily from house to house, gathering up family and friends for a big feast at Bubbe's.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Eight Candles to Light: A Chanukah Story

by Jonny Zucker

This charming picture book for younger children describes a typical family's celebration of the Jewish Festival of Light. After Dad reads the kids a story from Jewish history, the family sings and lights the candles. Ages 3-7

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Yesterday's Santa and the Chanukah Miracle

by Sarah Hartt-Snowbell and Patty Gallinger

Annie can’t believe her eyes! The "Santa" in the mall looks so much like her grandfather’s friend, Simon. A Jewish Santa? Annie lines up to get a closer look - and ends up "placing an order".

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

My First Chanukah

by Tomie Depaola

In My First Chanukah, Tomie dePaola's gentle text provides insight and background into the holiday for young readers.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Baboushka and the Three Kings

by Ruth Robbins

The Russian folktale about an old woman's endless search for the Christ child.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Little Owl and the Star: A Christmas Story

by Mary Murphy

An owl and a star go on a journey that takes them to the manger of the baby Jesus. With picture descriptions.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Song of the Stars: A Christmas Story

by Sally Lloyd-Jones

The Song of the Stars, written by best-selling author Sally Lloyd-Jones, is a Christmas book that explores the joy and excitement and celebration in all of creation at the coming of Jesus.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Eight Winter Nights

by Laura Krauss Melmed and Elisabeth Schlossberg

Moishe's Miracle author Laura Krauss Melmed and illustrator Elisabeth Schlossberg celebrate Hanukkahin joyful action rhymes, festive poems, and exuberant scenes of family life.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Seven Spools of Thread: A Kwanzaa Story

by Angela Shelf Medearis

When they are given the task of turning thread into gold, the seven Ashanti brothers put aside their differences, learn to get along, and embody the principles of Kwanzaa.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Kwanzaa (Best Holiday Books)

by Dianne M. Macmillan and Dorothy Rhodes Freeman

Freeman and MacMillan discuss the significance of Kwanzaa in five information-packed chapters. Picture captions and descriptions present.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

The Gifts of Kwanzaa

by Synthia Saint James

A children's book describing the customs of the Kwanzaa holiday.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Together for Kwanzaa

by Juwanda G. Ford

Kwanzaa is Kayla's favorite time of year. But this year, it looks as if a heavy snowstorm will keep her big brother, Khari, from getting home in time for the festivities! Will Khari miss the celebration completely?

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

Kwanzaa

by Deborah M. Newton Chocolate

Discusses the holiday in which Afro-Americans celebrate their roots and cultural heritage from Africa.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Children's

The Girl Who Saved Christmas

by Chris Mould and Matt Haig

From the bestselling author of A Boy Called Christmas comes a hilarious and heartwarming holiday tale for fans of Roald Dahl and Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol that imagines the story of the first child to ever receive a Christmas present.

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

by Karina Yan Glaser

A modern classic in the making reminiscent of the Penderwicks series, The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street is about the connections we make and the unexpected turns life can take. The Vanderbeekers have always lived in the brownstone on 141st Street.

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

Top Elf

by Caleb Huett

These elves are off the shelves. Ollie and Celia think they know what the life of an elf is supposed to be like: Make toys. Help Santa. Make more toys. Help Santa. Try out a new ice-cream flavor. Help Santa.

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

Dreidels on the Brain

by Joel Ben Izzy

At last a great American Hanukkah story! This very funny, very touching novel of growing up Jewish has the makings of a holiday classic. One lousy miracle. Is that too much to ask?

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

When Santa Fell To Earth

by Cornelia Funke

What would happen if Santa fell to Earth? Christmas through the eyes of Cornelia Funke: quirky, funny, ultimately heartwarming, and packaged in a collectible format. A new holiday classic!

Date Added: 12/08/2017


Category: Middle Grade

Maria: A Christmas Story

by Theodore Taylor

Eleven-year-old Maria and her family are the first Mexican Americans to enter a float in the annual Christmas parade in San Lazaro, California.

Date Added: 11/30/2017


Category: Middle Grade


Showing 1 through 25 of 25 results