Special Collections

Grade 2-3 Common Core Text Exemplars

Description: These books exemplify the level of complexity that Common Core State Standards require students to engage with. While the choices serve to help educators select texts of similar complexity, quality, and range, this not a required reading list. #teachers


Showing 26 through 37 of 37 results
 

Tales from the Odyssey

by Mary Pope Osborne

Odysseus is far from home, tossed by stormy seas and cursed by an angry one-eyed giant. After twenty years of fighting monsters, angering gods and goddesses, and surviving against the odds, Odysseus returns home and faces more dangerous enemies.

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

The Storm (The Lighthouse Family)

by Cynthia Rylant and Preston Mcdaniels

Life with only the sea can be lonely. Just ask Pandora and Seabold.They've lived most of their lives with the sea--Pandora in a lighthouse and Seabold on a boat--and they're each quite used to being alone. Or they were. But one day, the sea did something extraordinary: It brought Pandora and Seabold together! And even better, the sea gave them the ingredients for an adventure that neither of them had considered before-an adventure called "family."

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

Poppleton in Winter

by Cynthia Rylant

In this easy-to-read chapter book, Poppleton the pig charms young readers with his quirky adventures and whimsical ideas! Poppleton grows an icicle garden and ends up with an icicle fence instead. He sculpts a bust of Cherry Sue without explaining his constant visits just to look at her face. And he wonders why he can't find a friend to go on a sleigh ride with. No one can go, because they're all preparing Poppleton's birthday party!

[This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts in grades 2-3 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

The Raft

by Jim Lamarche

Reluctant Nicky spends a wonderful summer with Grandma, who introduces him to the joy of rafting down the river near her home, and watching the animals along the banks. [This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts in grades 2-3 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

Tops & Bottoms

by Janet Stevens

Hare solves his family’s problems by tricking rich and lazy Bear in this funny, energetic version of an old slave story. With roots in American slave tales, Tops & Bottoms celebrates the trickster tradition of using one’s wits to overcome hardship.

This ebook was designed to be read vertically. For optimum reading experience, please adjust the orientation on your ereader.

This title has been selected as a Common Core Text Exemplar (Grades 2-3, Stories)

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

Henry and Mudge

by Cynthia Rylant

When Henry asks his parents for a baby brother, they say "No!" When Henry begs to move to a street with children, his parents say "No!" When Henry asks for a dog, his parents almost say "No!" Good thing they didn't say it, because Henry and Mudge are best pals.

Other books about their adventures are available from Bookshare. [This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts for grades 2-3 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

Sarah, Plain and Tall

by Patricia Maclachlan

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Newbery Medal Winner

Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

The Stories Julian Tells

by Ann Cameron and Ann Strugnell

Julian is a quick fibber and a wishful thinker. And he is great at telling stories. He can make people--especially his younger brother, Huey--believe just about anything. Like the story about the cats that come in the mail. Or the fig leaves that make you grow tall if you eat them off the tree. But some stories can lead to a heap of trouble, and that's exactly where Julian and Huey end up!

[This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts for grades 2-3 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

The Treasure

by Uri Shulevitz

A poor man, inspired by a recurring dream, journeys to a far city to look for a treasure, only to be told to go home and find it.

[This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts for grades 2-3 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

Amos and Boris

by William Steig

Amos the mouse and Boris the whale: a devoted pair of friends with nothing at all in common, except good hearts and a willingness to help their fellow mammal. They meet after Amos sets out to sail the sea and finds himself in extreme need of rescue. And there will come a day, long after Boris has gone back to a life at sea and Amos has gone back to life on dry land, when the tiny mouse must find a way to rescue the great whale.

[This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts for grades 2-3 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

The Fire Cat

by Esther Averill

A young cat has big paws and wants to do big things with them. But since he lives in a barrel in a yard, the only thing he can find to do is chase smaller cats away. He is befriended by Mrs. Goodkind and eventually ends up at the firehouse, where he learns to help the firemen and other cats, finally doing something big.

[This text is listed as an example that meets Common Core Standards in English language arts for grades 2-3 at http://www.corestandards.org.]

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story

My Father's Dragon

by Ruth Stiles Gannett

A boy risks his life to free a flying dragon in this beloved children’s classic and Newbery Honor Book. Elmer Elevator has always wanted to fly, and when he takes in an old alley cat out of the rain, he gets his chance. The grateful cat tells him about a flying dragon that lives on the faraway Wild Island, where it has been tied up by a bunch of cruel animals and forced to work incessantly. Not being the kind of boy who stands for such things, Elmer packs his knapsack and sets off to free the downtrodden dragon. Stowing aboard a ship and braving many dangers, Elmer will let nothing stop him from reaching Wild Island. But if he’s going to save the dragon and finally fly, he’ll have to dig deep into his knapsack and outwit all sorts of tricky creatures inhabiting the isle.

Date Added: 04/09/2018


Category: Story


Showing 26 through 37 of 37 results