Special Collections

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Winners

Description: The Jane Addams Childrens' Book Awards are given annually to those books of exceptional quality which promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races. #award #kids

Showing 1 through 25 of 98 results
Year Category Award Title Author Date Added Action
2018 Older Children Honors Book Midnight Without a Moon Linda Williams Jackson 05/15/2018
2018 Older Children Honors Book Piecing Me Together Renée Watson 05/15/2018
2017 Older Children Honors Book We Will Not Be Silent Russell Freedman 06/12/2017
2017 Older Children Honors Book Wolf Hollow Lauren Wolk 06/12/2017
2018 Younger Children Medal Winner Malala's Magic Pencil Kerascoet and Malala Yousafzai 05/15/2018
2018 Older Children Medal Winner The Enemy: Detroit, 1954 Sara Holbrook 05/15/2018
2016 Younger Children Medal Winner New Shoes Susan Lynn Meyer and Eric Velasquez 05/15/2018
1980 Medal Winner The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl David Kherdian 05/25/2017
1978 Medal Winner Child of the Owl Laurence Yep 05/25/2017
2006 Younger Children Medal Winner Delivering Justice: W. W. Law and the Fight for Civil Rights Jim Haskins 05/25/2017
1967 Medal Winner Queenie Peavy Robert Burch 05/25/2017
2005 Older Children Medal Winner With Courage and Cloth: Winning the Fight for a Woman's Right to Vote Ann Bausum 05/25/2017
2001 Picture Book Medal Winner The Composition Antonio Skármeta 05/25/2017
2003 Picture Book Medal Winner Patrol: An American Soldier In Vietnam Walter Dean Myers 05/25/2017
1986 Medal Winner Ain't Gonna Study War No More: The Story of America's Peace Seekers Milton Meltzer 05/25/2017
1968 Medal Winner The Little Fishes Erik Christian Haugaard 05/25/2017
2006 Older Children Medal Winner Let Me Play: The Story of Title IX, the Law That Changed the Future of Girls in America Karen Blumenthal 05/25/2017
1976 Medal Winner Paul Robeson (Crowell Biographies) Eloise Greenfield 05/25/2017
2008 Older Children Medal Winner We Are One: the Story of Bayard Rustin Larry Dane Brimner 05/25/2017
2008 Younger Children Medal Winner The Escape of Oney Judge: Martha Washington's Slave Finds Freedom Emily Arnold Mccully 05/25/2017
2009 Older Children Medal Winner The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom Margarita Engle 05/25/2017
2009 Younger Children Medal Winner Planting the Trees of Kenya: The Story of Wangari Maathai Claire A. Nivola 05/25/2017
1977 Medal Winner Never to Forget: The Jews of the Holocaust Milton Meltzer 05/25/2017
1993 Book for Older Children Medal Winner Taste of Salt: A Story of Modern Haiti Frances Temple 05/25/2017
1992 Medal Winner Journey of the Sparrows Fran Leeper Buss 05/25/2017

Showing 1 through 25 of 98 results