Special Collections

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Winners

Description: The Jane Addams Childrens' Book Awards are given annually to those books of exceptional quality which promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races.

Showing 1 through 25 of 93 results
Year Category Award Title Author Date Added Action
1986 Medal Winner Ain't Gonna Study War No More: The Story of America's Peace Seekers Milton Meltzer 05/25/2017
1983 Special Commendation All The Colors Of The Race Arnold Adoff and John L. Steptoe 05/25/2017
1978 Special Commendation Amifika Lucille Clifton and Thomas Digrazia 05/25/2017
1989 Medal Winner Anthony Burns: The Defeat and Triumph of a Fugitive Slave Virginia Hamilton 05/25/2017
1993 Picture Book Medal Winner Aunt Harriet's Underground Railroad In The Sky Faith Ringgold 05/25/2017
1999 Older Children Medal Winner Bat 6 Virginia Euwer Wolff 05/25/2017
1966 Medal Winner Berries Goodman Emily Cheney Neville 05/25/2017
1991 Medal Winner The Big Book for Peace Lloyd Alexander and Marilyn Sachs and Lois Lowry and Yoshiko Uchida and Katherine Paterson and Jean Fritz and Natalie Babbitt and Nancy Willard and Myra Cohn Livingston and Charlotte Zolotow and John Bierhorst and Thacher Hurd and Steven Kellogg and Milton Meltzer and Mildred Pitts Walter and Jean Craighead George 05/25/2017
1957 Medal Winner Blue Mystery Margot Benary-Isbert 05/25/2017
2014 Younger Children Medal Winner Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers' Strike of 1909 Michelle Markel 05/25/2017
2004 Special Commendation The Breadwinner (Breadwinner #1) Deborah Ellis 05/25/2017
1970 Medal Winner The Cay Theodore Taylor 05/25/2017
1978 Medal Winner Child of the Owl Laurence Yep 05/25/2017
1983 Special Commendation Children as Teachers of Peace Gerald G. Jampolsky 05/25/2017
2001 Picture Book Medal Winner The Composition Antonio Skármeta 05/25/2017
2006 Younger Children Medal Winner Delivering Justice: W. W. Law and the Fight for Civil Rights Jim Haskins 05/25/2017
2013 Younger Children Medal Winner Each Kindness Jacqueline Woodson and E. B. Lewis 05/25/2017
2011 Younger Children Medal Winner Emma's Poem: The Voice of the Statue of Liberty Linda Glaser 05/25/2017
1969 Medal Winner The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia Esther Hautzig 05/25/2017
2008 Younger Children Medal Winner The Escape of Oney Judge: Martha Washington's Slave Finds Freedom Emily Arnold Mccully 05/25/2017
2001 Older Children Medal Winner Esperanza Rising Pam Muñoz Ryan 05/25/2017
1981 Medal Winner First Woman In Congress: Jeannette Rankin Florence Meiman White 05/25/2017
1994 Older Children Medal Winner Freedom's Children: Young Civil Rights Activists Tell Their Own Stories Ellen S. Levine 05/25/2017
2015 Older Children Medal Winner The Girl From the Tar Paper School : Barbara Rose Johns and the advent of the Civil Rights Movement Teri Kanefield 05/25/2017
1997 Older Children Medal Winner Growing Up in Coal Country Susan Campbell Bartoletti 05/25/2017

Showing 1 through 25 of 93 results