Special Collections

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Winners

Description: The Jane Addams Childrens' Book Awards are given annually to those books of exceptional quality which promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races.

Showing 1 through 25 of 93 results
Year Category Award Title Author Date Added Action
2017 Older Children Honors Book We Will Not Be Silent: The White Rose Student Resistance Movement That Defied Adolf Hitler Russell Freedman 06/12/2017
2017 Older Children Honors Book Wolf Hollow Lauren Wolk 06/12/2017
1980 Medal Winner The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl David Kherdian 05/25/2017
2006 Older Children Medal Winner Let Me Play: The Story of Title IX, the Law That Changed the Future of Girls in America Karen Blumenthal 05/25/2017
1967 Medal Winner Queenie Peavy Robert Burch 05/25/2017
1978 Special Commendation The Wheel of King Asoka Ashok Davar 05/25/2017
1976 Medal Winner Paul Robeson (Crowell Biographies) Eloise Greenfield 05/25/2017
1995 Picture Book Medal Winner Sitti's Secrets Naomi Shihab Nye 05/25/2017
1968 Medal Winner The Little Fishes Erik Christian Haugaard 05/25/2017
1986 Medal Winner Ain't Gonna Study War No More: The Story of America's Peace Seekers Milton Meltzer 05/25/2017
1977 Medal Winner Never to Forget: The Jews of the Holocaust Milton Meltzer 05/25/2017
2005 Older Children Medal Winner With Courage and Cloth: Winning the Fight for a Woman's Right to Vote Ann Bausum 05/25/2017
2001 Picture Book Medal Winner The Composition Antonio Skármeta 05/25/2017
2003 Picture Book Medal Winner Patrol: An American Soldier In Vietnam Walter Dean Myers 05/25/2017
2004 Picture Book Medal Winner Harvesting Hope: the Story of Cesar Chavaz Kathleen Krull 05/25/2017
1991 Medal Winner The Big Book for Peace Lloyd Alexander and Marilyn Sachs and Lois Lowry and Yoshiko Uchida and Katherine Paterson and Jean Fritz and Natalie Babbitt and Nancy Willard and Myra Cohn Livingston and Charlotte Zolotow and John Bierhorst and Thacher Hurd and Steven Kellogg and Milton Meltzer and Mildred Pitts Walter and Jean Craighead George 05/25/2017
1993 Book for Older Children Medal Winner Taste of Salt: A Story of Modern Haiti Frances Temple 05/25/2017
2004 Special Commendation The Breadwinner (Breadwinner #1) Deborah Ellis 05/25/2017
2008 Older Children Medal Winner We Are One: the Story of Bayard Rustin Larry Dane Brimner 05/25/2017
2008 Younger Children Medal Winner The Escape of Oney Judge: Martha Washington's Slave Finds Freedom Emily Arnold Mccully 05/25/2017
2009 Older Children Medal Winner The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom Margarita Engle 05/25/2017
2009 Younger Children Medal Winner Planting the Trees of Kenya: The Story of Wangari Maathai Claire A. Nivola 05/25/2017
1983 Special Commendation Children as Teachers of Peace Gerald G. Jampolsky 05/25/2017
1992 Medal Winner Journey of the Sparrows Fran Leeper Buss 05/25/2017
1995 Older Children Medal Winner Kids at Work: Lewis Hine and the Crusade Against Child Labor Russell Freedman 05/25/2017

Showing 1 through 25 of 93 results