Special Collections

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Winners

Description: The Jane Addams Childrens' Book Awards are given annually to those books of exceptional quality which promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races.

Showing 1 through 25 of 98 results
Year Category Award Title Author Date Added Action
2018 Younger Children Medal Winner Malala's Magic Pencil Kerascoet and Malala Yousafzai 05/15/2018
2018 Older Children Medal Winner The Enemy: Detroit, 1954 Sara Holbrook 05/15/2018
2018 Older Children Honors Book Midnight Without a Moon Linda Williams Jackson 05/15/2018
2018 Older Children Honors Book Piecing Me Together Renée Watson 05/15/2018
2017 Older Children Honors Book We Will Not Be Silent Russell Freedman 06/12/2017
2017 Older Children Honors Book Wolf Hollow Lauren Wolk 06/12/2017
2016 Younger Children Medal Winner New Shoes Susan Lynn Meyer and Eric Velasquez 05/15/2018
2016 Older Children Medal Winner Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom: My Story of the Selma Voting Rights March Susan Buckley and Lynda Blackmon Lowery and Elspeth Leacock and Pj Loughran 05/25/2017
2015 Younger Children Medal Winner Separate Is Never Equal Duncan Tonatiuh 05/25/2017
2015 Older Children Medal Winner The Girl From the Tar Paper School : Barbara Rose Johns and the advent of the Civil Rights Movement Teri Kanefield 05/25/2017
2014 Younger Children Medal Winner Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers' Strike of 1909 Michelle Markel 05/25/2017
2014 Older Children Medal Winner Sugar Jewell Parker Rhodes 05/25/2017
2013 Younger Children Medal Winner Each Kindness Jacqueline Woodson and E. B. Lewis 05/25/2017
2013 Older Children Medal Winner We've Got A Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children's March Cynthia Y. Levinson 05/25/2017
2012 Younger Children Medal Winner The Mangrove Tree: Planting Trees to Feed Families Susan L. Roth and Cindy Trumbore 05/25/2017
2012 Older Children Medal Winner Sylvia and Aki Winifred Conkling 05/25/2017
2011 Younger Children Medal Winner Emma's Poem: The Voice of the Statue of Liberty Linda Glaser 05/25/2017
2011 Older Children Medal Winner A Long Walk to Water: Based on a True Story Linda Sue Park 05/25/2017
2010 Younger Children Medal Winner Nasreen's Secret School: A True Story from Afghanistan Jeanette Winter 05/25/2017
2010 Older Children Medal Winner Marching For Freedom Elizabeth Partridge 05/25/2017
2009 Younger Children Medal Winner Planting the Trees of Kenya: The Story of Wangari Maathai Claire A. Nivola 05/25/2017
2009 Older Children Medal Winner The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom Margarita Engle 05/25/2017
2008 Younger Children Medal Winner The Escape of Oney Judge: Martha Washington's Slave Finds Freedom Emily Arnold Mccully 05/25/2017
2008 Older Children Medal Winner We Are One: the Story of Bayard Rustin Larry Dane Brimner 05/25/2017
2007 Younger Children Medal Winner A Place Where Sunflowers Grow Amy Lee-Tai 05/25/2017

Showing 1 through 25 of 98 results