Browse Results What Format Should I Choose?

Showing 4,926 through 4,950 of 16,842 results

Amateur in Chancery

by George O. Smith

The creature from Venus didn't know right from left--and life and death hung in the balance!

Always a Qurono

by Jim Harmon

You too can be a Qurono. All you need do is geoplanct. All you need know is when to stop!

Accidental Flight

by F. L. Wallace

Outcasts of a society of physically perfect people, they couldn't stay and they couldn't go home again--yet there had to be some escape for them. Oddly enough, there was!

A Matter of Protocol

by Jack Sharkey

First Contact was always dangerous--but usually only to the man involved!

A Fall of Glass

by Stanley R. Lee

The weatherman was always right: Temperature, 59; humidity, 47%; occasional light showers--but of what?

With These Hands

by C. M. Kornbluth

No self-respecting artist can object to suffering for his art ... but not in a society where art is outdated by technology!

Jamieson

by Bill Doede

A Konv cylinder was the key to space--but there was one power it could not match!

Dream World

by R. A. Lafferty

It was the awfullest dream in the world, no doubt about it. In fact, it seemed to be the only dream there was!

Dawningsburgh

by Wallace West

A lean wind wails through the age-old avenues of Dawningsburgh. Mornings, it brings sand from surrounding hills and scrubs at fresh paint, neon signs endlessly proclaiming the city's synthetic name and street markers in seven languages. At sunrise it prepares the dunes for footprints of scurrying guided tourists. When icy night clamps down and the intruders scamper to their hotels, the wind howls as it flings after them a day's collection of paper cups, bottle caps and other picnic offal.

Conditionally Human

by Walter M. Miller

They were such cute synthetic creatures, it was impossible not to love them. Of course, that was precisely why they were dangerous!

Charity Case

by Jim Harmon

Certainly I see things that aren't there and don't say what my voice says--but how can I prove that I don't have my health?

Tolstoi for the Young

by Leo Tolstoy

Leo Tolstoy was a Russian writer who is generally regarded as one of the greatest authors of all time. The stories in this book have been adapted for children, making them the perfect introduction to Tolstoy for young readers.

The Master's Wife

by Jane Jackson

The sequel to The Consul's Daughter, RNA Novel of the Year Finalist 2016. Cornwall, 1882. Now owner of her late father's shipyard, Caseley has drifted apart from her husband, Captain Jago Barata. Following the loss and heartbreak they have recently suffered, and unable to express their true feelings to one another, their marriage is at risk of collapse. When Jago is commissioned to undertake a voyage to turbulent Egypt - a mission of the utmost importance - Caseley, convinced she is about to lose him for good, risks everything by deciding to go with him. Will their marriage survive the dangers they are sailing into - and will they ever make it back to England? The second in The Captain's Honour series by Jane Jackson, The Master's Wife is a powerful and impeccably crafted novel by one of the most popular historical novelists around.

The Hidden Legacy

by Julie Roberts

A painting, a thief, a debt repaid A female artist in a man's world, Meredith Sanders is making her own way in life. But when she receives a legacy from her deceased guardian, she finds herself drawn into his criminal past and into danger. At first, businessman Adam Fox suspects Meredith of involvement in an art fraud relating to a missing Turner painting. Despite her fear of betrayal, she sees he is the only man she can turn to and trust. Together they try to find the painting and return it to the Royal Academy before the opening of the Summer Exhibition, leading Meredith into even deeper trouble. And whatever her feelings for Adam, Meredith cannot reveal the secrets of her own humble past... For readers of Nicola Cornick, and Stephanie Laurens, an exciting new voice in Regency romance.

Another Way Home

by Deborah Raney

"Grant and Audrey are adding grandchildren to their family left and right, but middle daughter, Danae, and her husband, Dallas Brooks, have been trying for years with no baby in sight. Though Danae is ready to consider adoption, Dallas will not even discuss it. Despairing of ever having a family of her own, Danae decides to pour her passion and energies into volunteer work with a newly opened women's shelter in town. Looking for a good cause to fill her lonely days, she never expects to give her heart to the hurting women she meets there. She's finally learning to live her life with gratitude, but then heart-wrenching events on Thanksgiving weekend threaten to pull the entire Whitman clan into turmoil--and leave them all forever changed."

Mothers, Fathers & Lovers

by Ruby Soames

Wonder what it is like to date an actor who hits the big time? Resentment, jealousy and that's just from your best friends.

The Secret Mother

by Victoria Dalerfield

Mai Ling is chasing the Chinese dream. She's escaping to the city, seeking a new life, running away from the old customs of arranged marriage and domestic drudgery.

What Lies in the Dark

by Cm Thompson

One murder can make a town nervous. Two brings fear. Add three, four and more, and watch neighbour turn on suspicious neighbour.

Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day

by Yvonne Barlow

Childbirth during the war and after years - homes had no phones, few cars and little heating. Many women begin their story with, "I've never told anyone this."

Rethink it!: Practical Ways to rid yourself of anger, depression, jealousy and other common problems

by Michael Cohen

Do you tell yourself, "I'm not good enough," or "Things are far too difficult, why should I even try?"

The Power of Accepting Yourself: How to feel better about who you are

by Michae Cohen

Do you always think you can't - whether it is passing an exam, finding a new job, maintaining a healthy weight or tackling any of life's problems? Michael Cohen can help you lose negative attitudes so that you can fully accept yourself, plan for the future and start to move forward in your life.

A Matter of Honour: The Story of England's Last Fatal Duel

by Martyn Beardsely

New details on this story of honour - was Isabella Seton blameless or did she draw the rich Seton into a fatal romance?

Once Upon a Time in the Sixties: London, Chelsea and the King's Road

by Peter Maddick

The King's Road, Chelsea; the trendy models and hip photographers; the ad men; the road to St. Tropez; the hippy trail from Kathmandu. And let's not forget what the sixties is really famous for - free love! Read to refresh your own memory or just learn about this amazing time in pop history.

Twelve Day Trips from London: For those who want to see more than the capital

by Dee Maldon

Venture out of London by train or bus and be back in your hotel room by evening. Visit Cambridge, Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon as well as small towns such as Ely or Winchester.

The Half-Slave

by Trevor Bloom

The Roman Empire is disintegrating and Germanic tribes are rising. One young man is sent to find out where trouble will rise. Ascha is a hostage of the Franks and struggles to survive. But when the Overlord offers to make him a free man if he will spy on his own people, he must summon all his courage to discover where his loyalties lie.

Showing 4,926 through 4,950 of 16,842 results

Help

Select your format based upon: 1) how you want to read your book, and 2) compatibility with your reading tool. To learn more about using Bookshare with your device, visit the Help Center.

Here is an overview of the specialized formats that Bookshare offers its members with links that go to the Help Center for more information.

  • Bookshare Web Reader - a customized reading tool for Bookshare members offering all the features of DAISY with a single click of the "Read Now" link.
  • DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) - a digital book file format. DAISY books from Bookshare are DAISY 3.0 text files that work with just about every type of access technology that reads text. Books that contain images will have the download option of ‘DAISY Text with Images’.
  • BRF (Braille Refreshable Format) - digital Braille for use with refreshable Braille devices and Braille embossers.
  • MP3 (Mpeg audio layer 3) - Provides audio only with no text. These books are created with a text-to-speech engine and spoken by Kendra, a high quality synthetic voice from Ivona. Any device that supports MP3 playback is compatible.
  • DAISY Audio - Similar to the Daisy 3.0 option above; however, this option uses MP3 files created with our text-to-speech engine that utilizes Ivonas Kendra voice. This format will work with Daisy Audio compatible players such as Victor Reader Stream and Read2Go.